$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
28 Yr Old Spanish Teacher
Business
Boston
Feb 22, 2014

Great Stay

My friend and I stayed from Monday to Friday and had a great time at the hotel. They have a beach, various restaurants and bars, pool, hot tub, and casino at the hotel. The staff was very nice and gave us welcome drinks and vouchers for the casino as we got there. The room was comfortable and clean and we had a great partial view of the beach. They gave us two bottles of water and coffee/tea each day. The only problems were that the directions that they gave to us were not always easy to follow and the hotel is about 15-20 minutes from Old San Juan (so car rental is the best bet!). You have to pay $15 a day for parking, but it's worth it. Cabs from the hotel are around $20 each day. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely stay there again. A little pricey for two young teachers, but for the resort that it is, it was worth it. Beach, pool, and hot tub are all great and open 24 hours. I would definitely recommend, especially people who don't want to be caught up in the hoards of American tourists and partiers in the Condado area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Avenida Ashford for dinner at Casa Lola. Best food and service we had all vacation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sal RN
Business
chicago illinois
Feb 17, 2014

great location on the beach

Staff were very friendly and accomodating. 3 different resturants providing a variety of options to eat. Pool and beach are right off the patio door. Hotel is close to PR 26 and a very short trip to Old San Juan and other towns. The bar has live salsa music on the weekend and casino is on the grounds. Only downside is the hotels close proximatey to the airport but flights do not leave after 11pm. This is the second vacation stay at this hotel and it was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TamSLP
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 14, 2014

Nice hotel on great beach and convenient to airport

I would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I am in San Juan. The beach (the most important aspect for me) was beautiful. Clear, warm water and gentle waves. There was some seaweed as the tide came in but if you get to the beach in the morning the water is perfect! The pool and swim up bar were great as well. Hotel staff was nice and rooms were average. Airport is a 5 minute cab ride away so you can get as much time at the beach as possible before leaving paradise. I guess the only negative is if you are looking to hang out in Old San Juan alot it is about a $20-25 cab ride each way. There are some restaurants nearby the hotel, however it's mostly just a strip of hotels. No comment on the casino since we don't gamble. Overall, a great stay and I would recommend if you are looking for a good beach in San Juan. Also only a 30 minute drive to Luquillo Beach which is beautiful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kold Katie
Business
Ohio
Feb 11, 2014

Great time on beach

We arrived and it was beautiful. Right on the beach is what we wanted. The pool was perfect even though the airport was next door. Just pretend it's a roaring ocean. The room was large and comfortable.Clean and a bit dated tho. It's not the ritz but we didn't pay for that. All restaurants were good. We mixed it up going out and hitting the buffet. Always a different crowd. Fun time. Everyone was nice and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations for a Saturday night at a good restaurant. Try jaquita Baya or Casita Miramar. Mmmm. True Puerto rican food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crystel
Business
Danbury, Connecticut
Feb 10, 2014

Great

We had an amazing vacation here! The staff was especially helpful from the cleaning crew to the concierge to the valet staff. We had an issue with our rental car and they took care if it. Nelson from the valet staff was extremely helpful in getting everyhing back on order for us. We are definitely coming here in the near future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I definitely recommend renting a car that way u can get to old San Juan and new San Juan and don't have to keep paying for cabs. It ends up being cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BWBWBW
Business
Long Island NY
Feb 10, 2014

Good value at the Courtyard Marriot

The best aspects of this hotel are the first rate beach, nice pool and decent restaurant adjacent to the beach. The rooms are a little shabby but the TV is good and the beds are comfortable. Concierge was helpful in booking trips and recommending restaurants in town. The location is nice for the beach, but you're a 15 minute, $21 tax ride to Old San Juan. You hear some jet noise being close to the airport, but they have double pane windows to deaden the sound. The restaurant is pretty good but with limited variety. Its very reasonably priced for a hotel restuarant. The beach is shared with the Ritz Carlton, making this hotel a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missjari
Business
texas
Jan 28, 2014

weekend getaway

Enjoyed the beach and amenities that were offered staff were friendly and it helped that there was a casino and live salsa band

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al Baz
Business
Revere, Mass.
Jan 26, 2014

`one week in puerto Rico

The hotel staff were very professional, courteous, really seemed to enjoy thier work, they were very friendly and the beach staff went beyond helpful. I enjoy the concept of the individual unbrella. it saves a lot of aggravation trying to find a hut early in the morning. The water was warm and inviting, but we had a lot of wave action. The room was dated and I missed my own bed but Andrea was great and she kept the room in tip top shape. even though she spoke no english and I didn't speak any spanish we seemed to get the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Isla Verde Blvd has several hotels that enjoy some great restaurants. and the walk is good to work off the meal so you can enjoy sitting in the casinos. lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cheerag
Business
canton, mi
Jan 26, 2014

Good location!

This motel needs to spend money on beds, bathroom and carpet. If you are planning to staying there please ask room not facing at apartment building but other side. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lormar
Business
Princeton Jct, NJ
Jan 22, 2014

weekend getaway

while the hotel staff was friendly, they were not very caring. I got extremely ill and needed a hospital visit and they could have cared less. very disappointed. i will go back to Puerto Rico, but will not stay at this hotel. the buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent. i would highly recommend going to their buffet for either or both meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top