$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
484 reviews
Great Honeymoon Stay

This hotel was perfect for our honeymoon. Great staff, and the beach is beautiful. See full review

  • Ty Abiff
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great!

Will recomend this hotel, everything was as expected... See full review

  • Jorge Fontanez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (484)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bugsythebulldog
Los Angeles
Nov 26, 2012

Great place

Great beach property, warn waters,great service,great price on drinks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alemu16
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 4, 2014

Girls weekend

The hotel was fantastic, and the staff were nice and helpful. I 100% recommend this hotel for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tdaniels
Montgomery, NY
Mar 2, 2014

Family Getaway from Winter in New York

This hotel was great. Friendly staff, great food and fantastic location. I highly recommend and would come back again. I loved eating breakfast and dinner outside on the deck and loved walking out of the hotel onto the beach. Staff was friendly and made me and my family feel very welcomed. The casino was fun too, even won some money. Already planning my next trip!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nellam
fort Lauderdale
Feb 25, 2014

son and me

I just returned from my trip from this location. Overall it was very warm and relaxing for my son and I. Very kids friendly, because my first visit to PR I stayed at the Ritz Carlton and it wasn't too kid friendly. Beside the airplane noise, and me being taxed for ordering children movies it was a great time.I would tereturn, but I will eat out more the hotel food all taste the same (awful) and expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
28 Yr Old Spanish Teacher
Boston
Feb 22, 2014

Great Stay

My friend and I stayed from Monday to Friday and had a great time at the hotel. They have a beach, various restaurants and bars, pool, hot tub, and casino at the hotel. The staff was very nice and gave us welcome drinks and vouchers for the casino as we got there. The room was comfortable and clean and we had a great partial view of the beach. They gave us two bottles of water and coffee/tea each day. The only problems were that the directions that they gave to us were not always easy to follow and the hotel is about 15-20 minutes from Old San Juan (so car rental is the best bet!). You have to pay $15 a day for parking, but it's worth it. Cabs from the hotel are around $20 each day. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely stay there again. A little pricey for two young teachers, but for the resort that it is, it was worth it. Beach, pool, and hot tub are all great and open 24 hours. I would definitely recommend, especially people who don't want to be caught up in the hoards of American tourists and partiers in the Condado area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Avenida Ashford for dinner at Casa Lola. Best food and service we had all vacation!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sal RN
chicago illinois
Feb 17, 2014

great location on the beach

Staff were very friendly and accomodating. 3 different resturants providing a variety of options to eat. Pool and beach are right off the patio door. Hotel is close to PR 26 and a very short trip to Old San Juan and other towns. The bar has live salsa music on the weekend and casino is on the grounds. Only downside is the hotels close proximatey to the airport but flights do not leave after 11pm. This is the second vacation stay at this hotel and it was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TamSLP
Chicago, IL
Feb 14, 2014

Nice hotel on great beach and convenient to airport

I would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I am in San Juan. The beach (the most important aspect for me) was beautiful. Clear, warm water and gentle waves. There was some seaweed as the tide came in but if you get to the beach in the morning the water is perfect! The pool and swim up bar were great as well. Hotel staff was nice and rooms were average. Airport is a 5 minute cab ride away so you can get as much time at the beach as possible before leaving paradise. I guess the only negative is if you are looking to hang out in Old San Juan alot it is about a $20-25 cab ride each way. There are some restaurants nearby the hotel, however it's mostly just a strip of hotels. No comment on the casino since we don't gamble. Overall, a great stay and I would recommend if you are looking for a good beach in San Juan. Also only a 30 minute drive to Luquillo Beach which is beautiful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kold Katie
Ohio
Feb 11, 2014

Great time on beach

We arrived and it was beautiful. Right on the beach is what we wanted. The pool was perfect even though the airport was next door. Just pretend it's a roaring ocean. The room was large and comfortable.Clean and a bit dated tho. It's not the ritz but we didn't pay for that. All restaurants were good. We mixed it up going out and hitting the buffet. Always a different crowd. Fun time. Everyone was nice and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations for a Saturday night at a good restaurant. Try jaquita Baya or Casita Miramar. Mmmm. True Puerto rican food

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BWBWBW
Long Island NY
Feb 10, 2014

Good value at the Courtyard Marriot

The best aspects of this hotel are the first rate beach, nice pool and decent restaurant adjacent to the beach. The rooms are a little shabby but the TV is good and the beds are comfortable. Concierge was helpful in booking trips and recommending restaurants in town. The location is nice for the beach, but you're a 15 minute, $21 tax ride to Old San Juan. You hear some jet noise being close to the airport, but they have double pane windows to deaden the sound. The restaurant is pretty good but with limited variety. Its very reasonably priced for a hotel restuarant. The beach is shared with the Ritz Carlton, making this hotel a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crystel
Danbury, Connecticut
Feb 10, 2014

Great

We had an amazing vacation here! The staff was especially helpful from the cleaning crew to the concierge to the valet staff. We had an issue with our rental car and they took care if it. Nelson from the valet staff was extremely helpful in getting everyhing back on order for us. We are definitely coming here in the near future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I definitely recommend renting a car that way u can get to old San Juan and new San Juan and don't have to keep paying for cabs. It ends up being cheaper

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missjari
texas
Jan 28, 2014

weekend getaway

Enjoyed the beach and amenities that were offered staff were friendly and it helped that there was a casino and live salsa band

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top