$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
340 reviews
Tropical Paradise

Our stay was totally awesome! The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was... See full review

  • Mama 757
  • Jul 29, 2014
Puerto Rico trip

Awesome hotel, poolside bar, steps to the beach, casino and lots of nightlife See full review

  • Lorrain
  • Jul 16, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (340)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernie A
Business
Miami Fl
Sep 13, 2012

Marriott Courtyard in Isla Verde

Great hotel, beautiful scenery, very well maintained. The only thing i didn't like was the additional $55.68 resort fees i was charged with that i wasn't aware of when i booked the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain forest in El Yunque is beautiful. Florescent lagoon is amazing at night.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammmmm
Phila
Mar 13, 2014

First time

The location is great didn't mind hearing the planes food not all that great could of got that food anywhere house keeping wanted to clean my room at 500 I was trying to get ready to go out and then they never came back lucky it was just me so my room wasn't bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MomCT
Bridgeport, ct
Mar 28, 2014

Toddler/Family getaway

Hotel was clean, accommodating and a great place to bring a child if they are easily entertained by pool and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. Puerto Rico
San Juan, San Juan
Apr 5, 2014

rooms need renovation

I had visited this hotel several times in the past but on this visit the bathrooms were deteriorated and carpets need to go. There is a condominium building to the left of the hotel that needs to be knocked down. it is an eye sore for anyone staying at the Marriott who is renting a room facing that building. Pool area and lounge is nice and updated. They only have live band on Fridays, Sat, and Sun. I think that they should have dancing everyday throughout the week even if its not live. And tell guest that the hotel stay does not include the parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MauriceJ
Rhode Island
Apr 30, 2014

Great beach

Great beach ! The rug in the room was old and nasty. Sunday brunch was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chazz
Round Rock, TX
May 9, 2009

Enjoyable

Not quite what we were expecting - but nice. Room descriptions online don't match actual room types with regard to "ocean view" - all the rooms look out over the beach at a 45-degree angle instead of straight-on, and there were some very run-down condo units next door that were somewhat of a view-spoiler. Lobby area was fairly noisy when live music was playing in the adjacent restaurant area. The food was very expensive - $12 for a 1/2 pound burger. Overall it was OK, but we expected more from a Marriott property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Rican food in the resort area is both expensive and not what you'd expect. It wasn't bad by any means, just not tasty to our palates, especially wen compared to food in Mexico and other caribbean locales.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just married couple
New York
Aug 24, 2009

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel. However, we arrived & no one was there to offer to carry the bags to the rooms. I had asked for a romantic package of wine and fruits to be deliveried to my room prior my arrival and breakfast in the morning to surprise my husband. This was our honeymoon trip and there was nothing waiting for us when we arrived and no breakfast in the morning was deliveried either. The manager sent it later in the afternoon as courtesy but I didnt want it anymore. Beside this incident, the hotel has a very nice environment for adults including the life salsa bands playing all night. Great beach and pool but food is tooooo expensive. We ate out of the hotel must of the days we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The nightlife at the Hotel San Juan is great. It has a very nice disco and the lounge is great for mid 30s. The nightlife at this Courtyard hotel is more for 50+ age people.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VERY DISAPPOINTED!
NEW YORK CITY
Sep 3, 2009

DISAPPOINTED

2nd time there and was disappointed this time.Called hotel night before to confirm my stay (3persons 1room), when I got there they claimed my child(13yo) was not included and was railroaded to upgrade which was cheaper then to pay for the extra person, a child. I was also sitting at a table having drinks and food at the Picante and embarrassed in the middle of my drinks that we had to be moved because the Casino manager (Sam) wanted the table for his guess which was not occupied at all during the time i remained at Picante(2hrs).Lack of imenities for 3 persons, garbage was left at our room for 2 days and we removed ourselves. Soda machine was not filled and had to go to another floor to buy sodas. I will not come back even though I must say that the one thing I loved about it that made me return was the service by the pool and beach side. But I think it's time to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Did love walking to the supermarket everyday and easy access to Condado and Old San Juan.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MRIVERA
WASHINGTON, D.C.
Dec 27, 2011

I LIKE TO SAY IT WAS EXCELLENT BUT SOMETHINGS FELT TROUGH THE CRACKS.

CONSTRCTION NEXT TO THE ROOM, ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN ONE DAY, COLD CHICKEN SOUP ONE DAY, OVER CHARGED ME TWICE FOR THE RESORT FEE AND GOVERNMENT TAX. APPEARED THAT EMPLOYEES LACK COMMUNICATION ABOUT THEMSELF WHEN THERE IS A GUEST PROBLEM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

THE MUSIC WAS GOOD AND THE ATMOSPHERE EXCELLENT.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdDal
Ontario
Jan 4, 2012

Nice stay

Very nice beach location. We where a little dissapointed that our room was not ready at 12pm. but we decided to upgrade to a suite for another $60 plus $17 ( tax etc.)since this was ready and we had luggage to store after a cruise. While checking out we noticed that we where charged tax and resort charges that we had already paid with the booking , but the desk corrected that with no problem,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madame Alexander
Miame, Florida
Feb 7, 2012

My Opinion

At check-in we were not told what was happening that night at the hotel. We were not told that after 7 days (we were there for 10 days) our room key would no longer work. The buffet was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving around the island is terrible if you don't use interstates.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search