Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
355 reviews
Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I... See full review

  • Ms. Puerto Rico
  • Dec 22, 2014
Fantastic couple getaway

Excellent service, nice location, great good. Most of all the prices are affordable. See full review

  • Hubby1969
  • Sep 15, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (355)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just married couple
Business
New York
Aug 24, 2009

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel. However, we arrived & no one was there to offer to carry the bags to the rooms. I had asked for a romantic package of wine and fruits to be deliveried to my room prior my arrival and breakfast in the morning to surprise my husband. This was our honeymoon trip and there was nothing waiting for us when we arrived and no breakfast in the morning was deliveried either. The manager sent it later in the afternoon as courtesy but I didnt want it anymore. Beside this incident, the hotel has a very nice environment for adults including the life salsa bands playing all night. Great beach and pool but food is tooooo expensive. We ate out of the hotel must of the days we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The nightlife at the Hotel San Juan is great. It has a very nice disco and the lounge is great for mid 30s. The nightlife at this Courtyard hotel is more for 50+ age people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Sep 3, 2009

DISAPPOINTED

2nd time there and was disappointed this time.Called hotel night before to confirm my stay (3persons 1room), when I got there they claimed my child(13yo) was not included and was railroaded to upgrade which was cheaper then to pay for the extra person, a child. I was also sitting at a table having drinks and food at the Picante and embarrassed in the middle of my drinks that we had to be moved because the Casino manager (Sam) wanted the table for his guess which was not occupied at all during the time i remained at Picante(2hrs).Lack of imenities for 3 persons, garbage was left at our room for 2 days and we removed ourselves. Soda machine was not filled and had to go to another floor to buy sodas. I will not come back even though I must say that the one thing I loved about it that made me return was the service by the pool and beach side. But I think it's time to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Did love walking to the supermarket everyday and easy access to Condado and Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MRIVERA
Business
WASHINGTON, D.C.
Dec 27, 2011

I LIKE TO SAY IT WAS EXCELLENT BUT SOMETHINGS FELT TROUGH THE CRACKS.

CONSTRCTION NEXT TO THE ROOM, ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN ONE DAY, COLD CHICKEN SOUP ONE DAY, OVER CHARGED ME TWICE FOR THE RESORT FEE AND GOVERNMENT TAX. APPEARED THAT EMPLOYEES LACK COMMUNICATION ABOUT THEMSELF WHEN THERE IS A GUEST PROBLEM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

THE MUSIC WAS GOOD AND THE ATMOSPHERE EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdDal
Business
Ontario
Jan 4, 2012

Nice stay

Very nice beach location. We where a little dissapointed that our room was not ready at 12pm. but we decided to upgrade to a suite for another $60 plus $17 ( tax etc.)since this was ready and we had luggage to store after a cruise. While checking out we noticed that we where charged tax and resort charges that we had already paid with the booking , but the desk corrected that with no problem,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madame Alexander
Business
Miame, Florida
Feb 7, 2012

My Opinion

At check-in we were not told what was happening that night at the hotel. We were not told that after 7 days (we were there for 10 days) our room key would no longer work. The buffet was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving around the island is terrible if you don't use interstates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ITMI LCC
Business
New Jersey
Apr 30, 2012

Expected Better Service

For the price (which is on the high end) I did expect better attention to be provided for service. Amenities and activities (good nightlife on weekends) were very good but the service was slow (even when the bar was not full) and I had to resort to taken car of my own service when on the beach. In some cases the hotel did not have sufficient staff. I would recommend this hotel to friends but would preface by letting them know that they might need to be a little assertive in getting service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a public beach nearby and a walkway with a designated bike path that is well cared for and good for walks/exercising.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alaskamusher
Business
Alaska
May 21, 2012

Mid May 2012

Room was excellent and staff was mostly helpful. Some wait staff were not interested in us. Food very expensive for value. Drinks very expensive. Nice beach and pool but beach attractions expensive and hard to access. Beach bar/restaurant was seldom open.Would stay again but will try adjacent hotels first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus - $3 both ways for 2. Cab cots $40 + tip to old town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MerSi
Business
istanbul,Turquia
Jun 2, 2012

Fantastic beach.

Hotel has perfect beach in whole isla verde area. Having breakfast through fantastic ocean view was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Salsa nights, live music in hotel lobby at night was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tampa guy
Business
Tampa
Jul 6, 2012

Not great, not bad. Hotel is fine. Staff needs some work.

The hotel itself is ok. Nothing to write home about about on par with a typical motel 6. Some of the staff members were great. But others fell far short. Waiting 4 hours for a room after we arrived. Even after paying for an upgrade. Being told things about tours that were simply not true. The maid staff missed cleaning our room 5 times during the week. This may have been some what because we were in and out but still no excuse. Other members in the food service department were great. The big draw for this hotel was the beach. But after going to two other hotels in the area for dinner we realized what a let down our hotel was. I did not price those hotels so I cant say if they were a better value. The last drawback to the hotel is the cost of food. Every meal for four people was 80 to 120 bucks. This is way two much. The problem with leaving the hotel to get diner somewhere else is it cost 20 bucks each way in a cab. So you cant win either way. Would I stay here again. NO. Was it that bad. NO. I would give it a 5 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont go on the half day rainforest tour it is a waste of time and money. BORING>>>ZZZZZZZZ Do the canopy zip line tour. Very nice people. Had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zedsky
Business
Buffalo, New York
Jul 9, 2012

P.R. trip on the 4th of July

Over all nice, but TV signal was a problem especially on the rainy days. Housekeeping missed the soaps, water and tea 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top