$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
484 reviews
Great Honeymoon Stay

This hotel was perfect for our honeymoon. Great staff, and the beach is beautiful. See full review

  • Ty Abiff
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great!

Will recomend this hotel, everything was as expected... See full review

  • Jorge Fontanez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (484)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Christmas
Westerville, OH (Columbus)
Dec 29, 2009

Puerto Rican Christmas 2009

Hotel, location and staff were great! The beach is beautiful. The staff are wonderful. One problem - [...] price did not include the $50 extra person/day charge for children over 12. The extra $250 charge was not expected. Reservations were made by phone and we were not told.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreen's close by for snacks/beverages in your room.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aguada, PR
Jul 10, 2008

Nice hotel

The Courtyard by Marriott was comfortable, the room was comfortable and clean. There was a balcony with a round table and two chairs overlooking the ocean and pool area. The air conditioner worked great. The location is not that great. it is very far to walk if you want to go other hotels, restaurants or night clubs. You have to take your own car or a taxi. Also, when you check out they do not tell you about the taxes and other charges charged to you when you check out. They do give you two free alcholic drinks and $25.00 to play at the casino tables. The pool was great. (warm and clean) They have a situp bar at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

La Salso Restaurant in the hotel serves delicious Puertoriquen food

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MedStudentColl
Chicago, IL
Jun 26, 2012

Weekend Away

The hotel staff was not very helpful when it came to trying to change our rooms. Despite the fact that we had confirmation of booking 3 adults in 1 room, they were adamant that we only had booked 2 adults in one room, because of this we were unable to get 2 double beds. Instead we put into a room with a king bed and a sleeper sofa. There are also hidden 25 dollar a day fees for this so called extra guest despite the fact our reservation had 3 guests on it. The hotel pool and bar staff were very friendly, but there front desk staff could have been friendlier and more understanding to our situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Raice's had the best puerto rican food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Tia
Chicago
Aug 22, 2009

Great family resort

The hotel had everything I needed all in one place, the kids had a great time as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 7, 2011

Good buy for the money! Great beach.

Had a wonderful time.Fantastic beach and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
6 girls having a great time
Fredericksburg, Va...
Jun 24, 2010

Courtyard Marriot

The hotel staff was wonderful,everything was clean, enjoyed the pool and the beach...If your room is facing the street it is noisy because you can hear the planes from the airport but it never kept me up at night...The food was good,ice cream bar was nice for a late night treat and both the inside bar and outside bar was fun..Casino was right there in the hotel so that was nice for when we came back from dinner...Everyone there was very helpful about places to go and see...I really enjoyed my stay there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You really have to go to Old San Juan to shop, but it is well worth the cab ride over...Lots to look at, great shopping and great places to eat...

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJRN
New Orleans, LA
Nov 29, 2012

Post honeymoon stay

We arrived at the hotel at 10am after our cruise and check-in wasn't until 3pm, but they had our room ready by 11, which is great. In the meantime, they told us we could put our stuff in lockers and start enjoying the pool and grounds. I'm giving them a 4 star because everything was soo over-priced that I was pretty disgusted. The cost of the room was fine but I went to purchase sunscreen at the shop and a 6oz bottle was $21.00. A plate of simple nachos was over $15, the cheapest beer was $6. We ended up ordering a pizza from pizza hut down the street and had it delivered to our hotel. We had spent a few days in Puerto Rico at another hotel and stuff was nowhere near this. I know prices at resorts tend to be inflated but we travel a lot and this was just completely absurd. Otherwise the hotel was quite nice, spacious and clean room, friendly staff, etc. I would recommend this hotel if you don't need to eat, drink, or purchase any simple items while on your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great staff!
Det, MI
Sep 28, 2009

Awesome!

Great staff!!!! The hotel was located near the airport so its great for arriving and departing. But not so great for going to Old San Juan and other travel places since it's located far from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Milwaukee, Wi
Jun 22, 2010

Loved everything about it!!!

Do not pass up on this hotel, great value, location and ammenities. Did I mention the pool area is open 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The front lobby becomes a party at night with a live band playing salsa, and you also have a few other nightlife options just a short taxi drive away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"pittsburgh to puerto rico"
pittsburgh pa.
Oct 13, 2009

great time!

we stayed 4 great nights at courtyard marriott in isla verde. the staff was super, the beds were so comfortable and the beach was great! we got a great deal on the fall special to puerto rico, pay for 2 days and get 2 free,and buy one get one free breakfast buffet at salsa. breakfast was great everyday.food and drinks were expensive but its always that way at resorts. we have no complaints :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top