$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
483 reviews
Great Honeymoon Stay

This hotel was perfect for our honeymoon. Great staff, and the beach is beautiful. See full review

  • Ty Abiff
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great!

Will recomend this hotel, everything was as expected... See full review

  • Jorge Fontanez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (483)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crsguy
New Brighton, MN
Feb 27, 2013

overnight

I was stayed there last November after the curise trip. I was pleasure to stay there for two days. there was really nice a place for the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yauco PR
Apr 10, 2011

Fantastic for honeymooners

Spectacular !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yauco PR
Apr 10, 2011

Fantastic for honeymooners

Spectacular !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yet another traveller
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 7, 2011

Good chance you will be happy with it

Been there several times on business. The price and amenities are right. Hotel is near the airport and depending on your room you might hear the loud roar of jet engines in the mornings.Atmosphere is nice and you can have good food in its restaurant. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yet another traveller
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 7, 2011

Good chance you will be happy with it

Been there several times on business. The price and amenities are right. Hotel is near the airport and depending on your room you might hear the loud roar of jet engines in the mornings.Atmosphere is nice and you can have good food in its restaurant. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iguanagirl
York, PA
Mar 28, 2011

Good value on a pretty beach

This hotel is in a location very convenient to the airport on a very pretty beach. Keep in mind that this is a downtown location, so there will be traffic and noise. You can expect to hear jets taking off during the night. Although the noise is kind of a downside, the upside is that this location is within a short drive of many restaurants and also old San Juan. The hotel itself is clean but not luxurious. It is appropriate to what you would expect in a Courtyard by Marriott. It is good value for the money. The beach and pool area is very pretty. The staff in the beach area will take a beach chair and umbrella out to the beach and set it up for you. I did happen to notice that a short distance down the beach the customers at another hotel were provided with beach chairs, but not umbrellas as we were. Our room was relatively spacious. A VERY small refrigerator was also provided. So if you are looking for relatively economical lodging near downtown San Juan, you will probably be pleased with this lodging. I would probably choose to stay here for a few nights, but would select a quieter location for an entire weeks stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found several dining options within walking distance from this hotel, including Lupi's Mexican Grill (good food, drinks perhaps a bit expensive) and Piu Bello (a great place to pick up some after-dinner gelato).

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iguanagirl
York, PA
Mar 28, 2011

Good value on a pretty beach

This hotel is in a location very convenient to the airport on a very pretty beach. Keep in mind that this is a downtown location, so there will be traffic and noise. You can expect to hear jets taking off during the night. Although the noise is kind of a downside, the upside is that this location is within a short drive of many restaurants and also old San Juan. The hotel itself is clean but not luxurious. It is appropriate to what you would expect in a Courtyard by Marriott. It is good value for the money. The beach and pool area is very pretty. The staff in the beach area will take a beach chair and umbrella out to the beach and set it up for you. I did happen to notice that a short distance down the beach the customers at another hotel were provided with beach chairs, but not umbrellas as we were. Our room was relatively spacious. A VERY small refrigerator was also provided. So if you are looking for relatively economical lodging near downtown San Juan, you will probably be pleased with this lodging. I would probably choose to stay here for a few nights, but would select a quieter location for an entire weeks stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found several dining options within walking distance from this hotel, including Lupi's Mexican Grill (good food, drinks perhaps a bit expensive) and Piu Bello (a great place to pick up some after-dinner gelato).

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Puerto Rico
Burnsville, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Good Value for the price.

Visited the hotel casino, beach, pool, hot tub, 2 of the restaurants. Restaurants food average in taste and price, drinks a bit spendy. Pool, hot tub and beach area clean and spacious. Free lounge chairs, umbrellas and hammocks on beach were a nice feature. Staff was pleasant and accomodating. A dress and a shirt came up missing during our stay. Reported to front desk manager and was provided with an incident report, however no contact regarding resolution as of yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel was a ways away from beach front activities such as parasailing, surfing and jet skiing. We walked had to walk to this particular area of the beach or pay for a cab. It would have been nice to be able to take advantage of these activities right on the beach outside our hotel. We were able to take public transportation (bus) to Old San Juan for 75 cents per person each way. Hotel staff was very helpful with identifying the bus routes and fare information.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Puerto Rico
Burnsville, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Good Value for the price.

Visited the hotel casino, beach, pool, hot tub, 2 of the restaurants. Restaurants food average in taste and price, drinks a bit spendy. Pool, hot tub and beach area clean and spacious. Free lounge chairs, umbrellas and hammocks on beach were a nice feature. Staff was pleasant and accomodating. A dress and a shirt came up missing during our stay. Reported to front desk manager and was provided with an incident report, however no contact regarding resolution as of yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel was a ways away from beach front activities such as parasailing, surfing and jet skiing. We walked had to walk to this particular area of the beach or pay for a cab. It would have been nice to be able to take advantage of these activities right on the beach outside our hotel. We were able to take public transportation (bus) to Old San Juan for 75 cents per person each way. Hotel staff was very helpful with identifying the bus routes and fare information.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Mar 12, 2011

last minute trip

I planned this trip for my mother and myself with very little notice. We just decided to get away and decided puerto rico would be an easy trip. I think we overpaid for the hotel considering how ordinary the rooms were. The hotel restaurants were expensive and uninteresting. And while it was nice that they provided complimentary coffee in the morning, the coffee was pretty bad. Disappointing considering that even cheap coffee in puerto rico is usually amazing. The hotel is located on the beach which is nice. And the staff were very friendly and helpful. The female concierge however was overly pushy trying to sell us tours and seemed irritated when we asked for details about the trips. We did the half day tour to el yunque rainforest which was pricey and not well done. Overall I think there are probably better hotels in the area. The best thing about this hotel is that it is located on a nice part of isla verde beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 24 hour grocery store within walking distance from the hotel. Its a good place to buy inexpensive snacks, cereal, milk...

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Mar 12, 2011

last minute trip

I planned this trip for my mother and myself with very little notice. We just decided to get away and decided puerto rico would be an easy trip. I think we overpaid for the hotel considering how ordinary the rooms were. The hotel restaurants were expensive and uninteresting. And while it was nice that they provided complimentary coffee in the morning, the coffee was pretty bad. Disappointing considering that even cheap coffee in puerto rico is usually amazing. The hotel is located on the beach which is nice. And the staff were very friendly and helpful. The female concierge however was overly pushy trying to sell us tours and seemed irritated when we asked for details about the trips. We did the half day tour to el yunque rainforest which was pricey and not well done. Overall I think there are probably better hotels in the area. The best thing about this hotel is that it is located on a nice part of isla verde beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 24 hour grocery store within walking distance from the hotel. Its a good place to buy inexpensive snacks, cereal, milk...

Back to menu Return to top