Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
339 reviews
Girls Vacation

Everything About This Hotel Was Amazing From The Location To The Views To The Onsite Restaurants !!! See full review

  • Ashley S.
  • Aug 27, 2015
Enjoyable stay!

My family and I enjoyed this hotel very much. The beach and pool area were very clean. It was nice... See full review

  • Lory
  • Jul 25, 2015
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.
General
Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Location
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Dining
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Rooms
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Highlights

The hotel is located less than one mile from the San Juan Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (SJU). Local attractions include the Old San Juan Historical District, Plaza Las Americas Shopping Center and Jose Miguel Agrelot Coliseum.

Guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines ranging from American to international at several restaurants including Cafe Tropical, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Bananas Ice Cream Parlor, and Sirena Bar & Tapas Restaurant.

Daily live music is offered at Picante Lounge. Weekly salsa dancing is provided in the hotel's lobby, creating an authentic Puerto Rican vacation experience.

The resort is popular among families who wish to take in the historic sites of Old San Juan as well as business travelers who are yearning to relax on the beach in between meetings.

Fees
  • Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple/quad room occupancy per person per night will be collected by the hotel upon check-out. Please see message prior to booking about incidental charges. 

Policies
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 101
Single
Kent United Kingdom
Feb 17, 2011

Brilliant holiday..great value for money

I had a great holiday in San Juan. It was made even better by the fact that I was at this courtyard Marriott that can stand up to any of its equivalent Marriotts in the world. I had a partial Ocean View room on the 6th floor which in my opinion could almost be classed as an ocean view room. Key point is that I could see the ocean from my bed.lol! The rooms were cleaned promptly every day, receptionists were polite friendly and helpful. It was great to have the live bands each night and insight into local night life. I was particularly fascinated by all the salsa dancing by local families of all ages. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast especially the fresh omelettes that are made as you wait. But best of all the view and ambience by the beach as you have breakfast was brilliant. I had the opportunity to visit someone who was staying at the Ritz Carlton on the same beach. I am very happy to report that Courtyard beach area & sand is much better and the environment is better. Even my room in terms of value for money was easily comparable if not better than the Ritz Carlton. There were plumbing issues on my last night when I got back to the hotel at around 2am. I called reception and immediately a plumber came and resolved the issue and cleaner came and mopped up. So even though there was a slight problem it was resolved very quickly, what more can you ask for? Seems a pity that the Bar in the pool & the pool area seem underutilized and closes early! I guess it is because of lack of use but the fact that it closes early might be why it is under utilized Previous reviewers have complained about plane noise. Personally it was not a problem at all. You cannot hear it in the rooms. Even when you are on the beach, the planes taking off or landing at infrequent time-frames are not much louder than the waves. If/when I go back to San Juan, I shall stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two sides to the Isla verde beach. Go to the side where Waldof hotel is. Walk right towards the end of the beach when the Embassy Suite beach chairs are. There is a row of local restaurants - Nothing much to look at but great local food. I can't remember the names of the restaurants.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 101
Single
Kent United Kingdom
Feb 17, 2011

Brilliant holiday..great value for money

I had a great holiday in San Juan. It was made even better by the fact that I was at this courtyard Marriott that can stand up to any of its equivalent Marriotts in the world. I had a partial Ocean View room on the 6th floor which in my opinion could almost be classed as an ocean view room. Key point is that I could see the ocean from my bed.lol! The rooms were cleaned promptly every day, receptionists were polite friendly and helpful. It was great to have the live bands each night and insight into local night life. I was particularly fascinated by all the salsa dancing by local families of all ages. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast especially the fresh omelettes that are made as you wait. But best of all the view and ambience by the beach as you have breakfast was brilliant. I had the opportunity to visit someone who was staying at the Ritz Carlton on the same beach. I am very happy to report that Courtyard beach area & sand is much better and the environment is better. Even my room in terms of value for money was easily comparable if not better than the Ritz Carlton. There were plumbing issues on my last night when I got back to the hotel at around 2am. I called reception and immediately a plumber came and resolved the issue and cleaner came and mopped up. So even though there was a slight problem it was resolved very quickly, what more can you ask for? Seems a pity that the Bar in the pool & the pool area seem underutilized and closes early! I guess it is because of lack of use but the fact that it closes early might be why it is under utilized Previous reviewers have complained about plane noise. Personally it was not a problem at all. You cannot hear it in the rooms. Even when you are on the beach, the planes taking off or landing at infrequent time-frames are not much louder than the waves. If/when I go back to San Juan, I shall stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two sides to the Isla verde beach. Go to the side where Waldof hotel is. Walk right towards the end of the beach when the Embassy Suite beach chairs are. There is a row of local restaurants - Nothing much to look at but great local food. I can't remember the names of the restaurants.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadelphia PA
Feb 16, 2011

Family Vacation get away!!!

One of the best vacations ever!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Buffalo, NY
Jan 20, 2011

Comfy and Not too large

This hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are very easy to get to as the elevators are very near the beach access area. The only downside was that it it the closest hotel to the airport and the sounds from the planes taking off are very noticeable. The beach is a little rough for inexperienced swimmers but our family loved swimming and playing in the constant waves. The hotel offers complimentary fresh coffee and oj till 11:00am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you just want to hang out at the beach you better rent a car as there is really not much to do nearby other than visit restaurants about a 10 minute walk away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NEW YORK
Dec 28, 2010

GOOD CLEAN

THE HOTEL IS OLD AND OUTDATED THE PRICE AT AL REST. IS HIGH FOOD IS POOR. BEST EAT OUT . WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alvingone
Family
Cayey Puerto Rico
Dec 27, 2010

Courtyard Marriot Isla Verde Puerto Rico

Hotel room was excellent. Clean and neat. Hotel have a restaurant inside. A casino and a beach for you. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel for a honeymoon or a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Metropol Restaurant for a short escape to formality. Hotel is 1 mile away from airport and have an airport shuttle.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Dec 7, 2010

Decent Hotel

It's a decent hotel for the price. The room is nice but the quality of the food at the restaurant is poor. I recommend you dine out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens and Denny's are just 10 minutes away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arecibo PR
Dec 6, 2010

Is good for business

Was a good experience, but if you like a good beach view dont stay in the second floor. Is good for business. The employee make me feel so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is great in the hotel and in the restaurant close the hotel too.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Moon
Family
winder Ga
Nov 29, 2010

San Jaun vacation

I had stay at the accomadations before so I knew what to expect. It was a very relaxing vacation. We laid out by the beach and spent time eating the native food from the local food vendors.There was nothing missing we had everything we needed and then some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crabe
Family
Orlando , Florida
Nov 20, 2010

Puerto Rico Wedding Trip

Hotel was very nice, lots of restaurant choices in house, casino was pretty good. Really good atmosphere at night with the live band playing nightly. Pool was nice and the hammocks on the beach were our favorite spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top