$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Apr 13, 2011

Wonderful experience. Great View!!!!!!

Unfortunately our flight was very late getting in. We were updated to a suite with a wonderful balcony with view of the ocean. We went down and listened to the band for an hour. We loved the music and atmosphere. This is the second time in San Juan and the best visit we have ever had there. Thanks for being so wonderful and helpful during our stay away from home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yauco PR
Apr 10, 2011

Fantastic for honeymooners

Spectacular !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yet another traveller
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 7, 2011

Good chance you will be happy with it

Been there several times on business. The price and amenities are right. Hotel is near the airport and depending on your room you might hear the loud roar of jet engines in the mornings.Atmosphere is nice and you can have good food in its restaurant. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iguanagirl
Business
York, PA
Mar 28, 2011

Good value on a pretty beach

This hotel is in a location very convenient to the airport on a very pretty beach. Keep in mind that this is a downtown location, so there will be traffic and noise. You can expect to hear jets taking off during the night. Although the noise is kind of a downside, the upside is that this location is within a short drive of many restaurants and also old San Juan. The hotel itself is clean but not luxurious. It is appropriate to what you would expect in a Courtyard by Marriott. It is good value for the money. The beach and pool area is very pretty. The staff in the beach area will take a beach chair and umbrella out to the beach and set it up for you. I did happen to notice that a short distance down the beach the customers at another hotel were provided with beach chairs, but not umbrellas as we were. Our room was relatively spacious. A VERY small refrigerator was also provided. So if you are looking for relatively economical lodging near downtown San Juan, you will probably be pleased with this lodging. I would probably choose to stay here for a few nights, but would select a quieter location for an entire weeks stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found several dining options within walking distance from this hotel, including Lupi's Mexican Grill (good food, drinks perhaps a bit expensive) and Piu Bello (a great place to pick up some after-dinner gelato).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Puerto Rico
Business
Burnsville, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Good Value for the price.

Visited the hotel casino, beach, pool, hot tub, 2 of the restaurants. Restaurants food average in taste and price, drinks a bit spendy. Pool, hot tub and beach area clean and spacious. Free lounge chairs, umbrellas and hammocks on beach were a nice feature. Staff was pleasant and accomodating. A dress and a shirt came up missing during our stay. Reported to front desk manager and was provided with an incident report, however no contact regarding resolution as of yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel was a ways away from beach front activities such as parasailing, surfing and jet skiing. We walked had to walk to this particular area of the beach or pay for a cab. It would have been nice to be able to take advantage of these activities right on the beach outside our hotel. We were able to take public transportation (bus) to Old San Juan for 75 cents per person each way. Hotel staff was very helpful with identifying the bus routes and fare information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Mar 12, 2011

last minute trip

I planned this trip for my mother and myself with very little notice. We just decided to get away and decided puerto rico would be an easy trip. I think we overpaid for the hotel considering how ordinary the rooms were. The hotel restaurants were expensive and uninteresting. And while it was nice that they provided complimentary coffee in the morning, the coffee was pretty bad. Disappointing considering that even cheap coffee in puerto rico is usually amazing. The hotel is located on the beach which is nice. And the staff were very friendly and helpful. The female concierge however was overly pushy trying to sell us tours and seemed irritated when we asked for details about the trips. We did the half day tour to el yunque rainforest which was pricey and not well done. Overall I think there are probably better hotels in the area. The best thing about this hotel is that it is located on a nice part of isla verde beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 24 hour grocery store within walking distance from the hotel. Its a good place to buy inexpensive snacks, cereal, milk...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
british columbia canada
Mar 6, 2011

awesome

very pleasant at reception , we were given an upgrade room at no charge i would recommend this hotel any time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sad to be back in Wisconsin
Business
Lake Geneva Wi
Feb 25, 2011

Amazing Vacation

Everything was great, pool, beach, service, casino - we didn't eat anything but breakfast from the banana cafe...everything else was very expensive for food and drinks and it was such a short walk downtown that it was worth venturing out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely venture out to the downtown area and if your up for a longer walk go to Loiza...amazing food and super cheap! The chicken on the stick was huge and was only $2...we couldn't get enough :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilumin
Business
New York, NY
Feb 25, 2011

Isla Verde Marriott good family location

This is about the 5th time I've stayed there. I use it because my mother lives nearby. Yes there are better (and more expensive hotels nearby) but the hotel is a great bargain if you are looking for rest and relaxation in a safe environment. Casino is nothing to speak of but the food is very good. You can walk or taxi if you want better night life but that is not why I stay here. The beach is great and the weather for PERFECT 6 days in a row. A good amount of middle aged locals at the bar and mini-casino. Local food buffet Friday and weekends but pricy at $24 but it was all you can eat. Staff is friendly and courteous. Loved the free Wi-fi, got to see Black Swan On Demand before Oscar night, so that was cool. Hotel provides a quiet beach next to public one. Beach chairs free but tip you setup guy. Airport is 5 minutes away but noise was tolerable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza de Colon in Old San Juan had a nice selection of local artists crafts. The trolly can drive you around for free to tourist destination from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 101
Business
Kent United Kingdom
Feb 17, 2011

Brilliant holiday..great value for money

I had a great holiday in San Juan. It was made even better by the fact that I was at this courtyard Marriott that can stand up to any of its equivalent Marriotts in the world. I had a partial Ocean View room on the 6th floor which in my opinion could almost be classed as an ocean view room. Key point is that I could see the ocean from my bed.lol! The rooms were cleaned promptly every day, receptionists were polite friendly and helpful. It was great to have the live bands each night and insight into local night life. I was particularly fascinated by all the salsa dancing by local families of all ages. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast especially the fresh omelettes that are made as you wait. But best of all the view and ambience by the beach as you have breakfast was brilliant. I had the opportunity to visit someone who was staying at the Ritz Carlton on the same beach. I am very happy to report that Courtyard beach area & sand is much better and the environment is better. Even my room in terms of value for money was easily comparable if not better than the Ritz Carlton. There were plumbing issues on my last night when I got back to the hotel at around 2am. I called reception and immediately a plumber came and resolved the issue and cleaner came and mopped up. So even though there was a slight problem it was resolved very quickly, what more can you ask for? Seems a pity that the Bar in the pool & the pool area seem underutilized and closes early! I guess it is because of lack of use but the fact that it closes early might be why it is under utilized Previous reviewers have complained about plane noise. Personally it was not a problem at all. You cannot hear it in the rooms. Even when you are on the beach, the planes taking off or landing at infrequent time-frames are not much louder than the waves. If/when I go back to San Juan, I shall stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two sides to the Isla verde beach. Go to the side where Waldof hotel is. Walk right towards the end of the beach when the Embassy Suite beach chairs are. There is a row of local restaurants - Nothing much to look at but great local food. I can't remember the names of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top