$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
316 reviews
Birthday celebration at puerto rico Marriot Courtyard Isla Verde

The hotel is best, 10mins from airport right on the beach. 15mins away from the main mall. Security... See full review

  • rominick
  • Mar 14, 2014
My first trip ever.

For this being my first vacation that I have ever taken, it definitely set the standards of... See full review

  • Daniel Degraw
  • Mar 14, 2014
San Juan hotel on Isla Verde Beach with four restaurants, casino
The marble and granite lobby with white pillars and a splash of fresh, exotic flowers sets the tone for the hotel's blend of chic with Caribbean flair. Comfortably elegant rooms feature private balconies at the Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort. Out back, guests splash in a huge pool and relax in a hot tub on the palm tree-enclosed patio of this resort on beautiful Isla Verde Beach. Spend the night in the casino or have a meal at one of the hotel's four restaurants.
Highlights
  • Faces mile-long Isla Verde Beach
  • Private balconies in every room
  • Free salsa and merengue dance lessons
  • Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Rooms

These rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott are clad in mellow yellow and coral tones, with comfy chairs and plush bedding. All 260 guest rooms have private balconies. Most rooms have an ocean view or are oceanfront. Both wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in every room.

Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night) will be collected directly by the hotel upon check-out. See message prior to booking about incidental charges.

Features

Kids have their own pools and playground at this Courtyard by Marriott, as well as a video arcade and an ice cream parlor. Self parking and valet parking are available.

Dining

There are several on-site dining options including Sirena Restaurant, where Carribean fusion cuisine is served in a candlelit atmosphere with ocean views. Papaya Oceanfront Grill has a swim-up bar and offers sandwiches, salads and a children's menu. Salsa Restaurant, open for breakfast and dinner, is a casual spot for traditional Puerto Rican fare.

Entertainment

The Casino del Sol offers a variety of slots and game tables. In the Picante Lobby Lounge, where there's daily live music, guests dance salsa and meringue with free dance lessons on Thursday nights.

 

Recreation

In addition to the beach and pool, there are also volleyball and bike rentals on-site. Jet skiing, kayaking, surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving and deep-sea fishing are nearby. The fitness center is open 24 hours and is free of charge to hotel guests.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (.5 mi/TK km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (8.7 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Messenger service
  • 3,600 square feet of meeting space
  • Four meeting rooms
  • Catering available
Policies & fees

Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night) will be collected directly by the hotel upon check-out. See message prior to booking about incidental charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (316)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
316 out of 316
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Tampa Fl
Jun 30, 2010

It was outstanding!!!

Had a wonderful stay would definitly come with the family all other hotels and resturants are at walking distance. If you need to rent a car it will cost you a daily charge to keep it at the hotel ,,,take the taxi it's a flat fee. Visit old san Juan lots to do there. Overall do your homework and follow the four P's you will have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 29, 2010

Great Trip!!! - June 2010

My trip to San Juan was awesome! The beach was beautiful and offered entertainment from swimming, volleyball, bars and dining. The people were friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. The sports bars were filled with good times and excitement related to the World Cup Soccer Games. Transportation was convenient and affordable. The tours to Old San Juan was good for taking in culture through dining, art, and music. The Bacardi tour was enlightening and fun. I enjoyed the hours in Casino Del Sol despite not winning any money. I really enjoyed my stay in P.R., and I plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus will take you to Old San Juan for 75cents. Touring, shopping, and dining are available there on your own. You can catch a ferry for 50cents to the Bacardi tour to learn and enjoy the perfection of Rum. A $3 cab fee will get you from the ferry to the Bacardi Estaste, an the tour and tasting are FREE.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
6 girls having a great time
Fredericksburg, Va...
Jun 24, 2010

Courtyard Marriot

The hotel staff was wonderful,everything was clean, enjoyed the pool and the beach...If your room is facing the street it is noisy because you can hear the planes from the airport but it never kept me up at night...The food was good,ice cream bar was nice for a late night treat and both the inside bar and outside bar was fun..Casino was right there in the hotel so that was nice for when we came back from dinner...Everyone there was very helpful about places to go and see...I really enjoyed my stay there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You really have to go to Old San Juan to shop, but it is well worth the cab ride over...Lots to look at, great shopping and great places to eat...

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
black barbie
Milwaukee, Wi
Jun 22, 2010

Loved everything about it!!!

Do not pass up on this hotel, great value, location and ammenities. Did I mention the pool area is open 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The front lobby becomes a party at night with a live band playing salsa, and you also have a few other nightlife options just a short taxi drive away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Katy Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Best bang for the buck!

Private beach welcomes you to relax in huge hammocks that are next to the beautiful pool with a swim up bar. Best value for a hotel with such ample amenities Staff friendly and knowledgeable We took public tranportation to Old San Juan a bargain at 75 cents! Take the trolly to El Morro and spend the rest of the day walking around Rent a car from Rafi at U Save for 21 bucks a day go to Ponce Salsa dancing is a must and on Thursday hour class We drove around the island and enjoyed it much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban restaurant "metropol" excellent and a short walk from the hotel La Triana in old San Juan has authentic Spanish food and flamenco show on the weekend

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Zulma great time
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 14, 2010

Family getaway

Our experience at the hotel was good. We visited ponce, Yaco, Juana Diaz. We also went to see El Morro and the Rain Forest. I would of liked to visit the Zoo and the water park, but was to far. The only thing missing from this area were the hotel was located was more activity and more sightseeing...But overall my family had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Arlington, VA
May 18, 2010

2nd time here!!

my third trip to Isla Verde, I stayed at the Courtyard first trip, Ritz Carlton the second, and third back to the Courtyard... I will always be staying at the Courtyard, the staff, amenities are above and beyond compared to anywhere else, I highly recommend for couples, parties, or even families, there's something for everyone there from the live salsa music, wonderful buffet, great location ; minutes walking to just about everything, and the amazing views of the beach! can't wait to book my 4th trip back to Courtyard Marriott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend authentic Puerto Rican food walking distance from the hotel at two places. Metropol and Don Jose. Both have excellent pepper steak with rice and beans and tostones, shrimp monfongo and steak milenesa!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2010

Convenient location and courteous staff

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is great - 15 minute cab ride from Old San Juan and 5 minutes taxi ride from the airport. Most tours will pick up from the hotel lobby, so there is no need to rent a car. I took excursions to the rain forest and Bioluminescent Bay and was picked up and dropped off right in front of the hotel. The hotel is also right on the beach, has a great pool, casino, and spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Latin Roots in Old San Juan for a live band and great salsa music.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Jacksonville, Fl
Apr 8, 2010

Courtyard

The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating, we couldn't have asked for a better set of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Lone Grove, OK
Apr 7, 2010

Great experience

We stayed 3 nights prior to cruise. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed. I wanted to be on the beach and this fit the bill for me. We could see the ocean but also a large roof below us. If that would bother you make sure to ask for a room that does not overlook the roof. But that is direction of the pool and beach that we used. The airport noise did not bother us at all. The staff was very helpful with information on going to the Rain forest, Barcardi rum factory and old San Juan. They did not pressure us to buy their tours and told us how to get around on the bus and ferry. The last day we checked out and went to Old San Juan and they informed us of a place to leave our luggage ($20), so we were able to enjoy the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top