$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
340 reviews
Tropical Paradise

Our stay was totally awesome! The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was... See full review

  • Mama 757
  • Jul 29, 2014
Puerto Rico trip

Awesome hotel, poolside bar, steps to the beach, casino and lots of nightlife See full review

  • Lorrain
  • Jul 16, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (340)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia PA
Feb 16, 2011

Family Vacation get away!!!

One of the best vacations ever!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jan 20, 2011

Comfy and Not too large

This hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are very easy to get to as the elevators are very near the beach access area. The only downside was that it it the closest hotel to the airport and the sounds from the planes taking off are very noticeable. The beach is a little rough for inexperienced swimmers but our family loved swimming and playing in the constant waves. The hotel offers complimentary fresh coffee and oj till 11:00am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you just want to hang out at the beach you better rent a car as there is really not much to do nearby other than visit restaurants about a 10 minute walk away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Dec 28, 2010

GOOD CLEAN

THE HOTEL IS OLD AND OUTDATED THE PRICE AT AL REST. IS HIGH FOOD IS POOR. BEST EAT OUT . WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alvingone
Cayey Puerto Rico
Dec 27, 2010

Courtyard Marriot Isla Verde Puerto Rico

Hotel room was excellent. Clean and neat. Hotel have a restaurant inside. A casino and a beach for you. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel for a honeymoon or a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Metropol Restaurant for a short escape to formality. Hotel is 1 mile away from airport and have an airport shuttle.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 7, 2010

Decent Hotel

It's a decent hotel for the price. The room is nice but the quality of the food at the restaurant is poor. I recommend you dine out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens and Denny's are just 10 minutes away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arecibo PR
Dec 6, 2010

Is good for business

Was a good experience, but if you like a good beach view dont stay in the second floor. Is good for business. The employee make me feel so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is great in the hotel and in the restaurant close the hotel too.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Moon
winder Ga
Nov 29, 2010

San Jaun vacation

I had stay at the accomadations before so I knew what to expect. It was a very relaxing vacation. We laid out by the beach and spent time eating the native food from the local food vendors.There was nothing missing we had everything we needed and then some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crabe
Orlando , Florida
Nov 20, 2010

Puerto Rico Wedding Trip

Hotel was very nice, lots of restaurant choices in house, casino was pretty good. Really good atmosphere at night with the live band playing nightly. Pool was nice and the hammocks on the beach were our favorite spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tri guy
Salt Lake City Utah
Oct 23, 2010

Really Nice Place

Nice hotel. Rooms were nice. Pool is beautiful and the beach is right there so at any time you can see the beach/ocean. You can also walk out to the beach right from the pool, which is very nice. Restaurants are over priced, as all restaurants in San Juan hotels, but there are more affordable options nearby. Over all great place to stay if you only have a few days in San Juan. Very close to the airport as well. The only draw back is the parking. It's actually very affordable (15 a day for self parking) but the front desk doesn't say anything upon check in about how to validate your parking ticket. In the elevator that takes you up from the parking garage there is a sign that says to validate your parking ticket at the machine located near the casino. So, we followed what the sign said and the machine charged us $35 dollars. The front desk validated our tickets and we did not have to double pay, so everything worked out fine in the end. Just be sure to have the front desk validate your ticket from the get go, and do not use the machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flash718
brooklyn
Sep 7, 2010

official

Well the first things my wife and I did was eat and taste, mi sason Borinqueno we love Criolla food.the room was very nice, my wife loved it that the most important thing on this special trip it was her birthday weekend and our universarry. of 15 years i had that time of my life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

thanks to [...]that made one of my dreams come truth looking forward to travel in the future.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search