$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
347 reviews
Fantastic couple getaway

Excellent service, nice location, great good. Most of all the prices are affordable. See full review

  • Hubby1969
  • Sep 15, 2014
couples getaway

This hotel is very nice and have wonderful friendly staff, the room and bathroom are clean and... See full review

  • kishaun
  • Aug 19, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yet another traveller
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 7, 2011

Good chance you will be happy with it

Been there several times on business. The price and amenities are right. Hotel is near the airport and depending on your room you might hear the loud roar of jet engines in the mornings.Atmosphere is nice and you can have good food in its restaurant. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iguanagirl
York, PA
Mar 28, 2011

Good value on a pretty beach

This hotel is in a location very convenient to the airport on a very pretty beach. Keep in mind that this is a downtown location, so there will be traffic and noise. You can expect to hear jets taking off during the night. Although the noise is kind of a downside, the upside is that this location is within a short drive of many restaurants and also old San Juan. The hotel itself is clean but not luxurious. It is appropriate to what you would expect in a Courtyard by Marriott. It is good value for the money. The beach and pool area is very pretty. The staff in the beach area will take a beach chair and umbrella out to the beach and set it up for you. I did happen to notice that a short distance down the beach the customers at another hotel were provided with beach chairs, but not umbrellas as we were. Our room was relatively spacious. A VERY small refrigerator was also provided. So if you are looking for relatively economical lodging near downtown San Juan, you will probably be pleased with this lodging. I would probably choose to stay here for a few nights, but would select a quieter location for an entire weeks stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found several dining options within walking distance from this hotel, including Lupi's Mexican Grill (good food, drinks perhaps a bit expensive) and Piu Bello (a great place to pick up some after-dinner gelato).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Puerto Rico
Burnsville, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Good Value for the price.

Visited the hotel casino, beach, pool, hot tub, 2 of the restaurants. Restaurants food average in taste and price, drinks a bit spendy. Pool, hot tub and beach area clean and spacious. Free lounge chairs, umbrellas and hammocks on beach were a nice feature. Staff was pleasant and accomodating. A dress and a shirt came up missing during our stay. Reported to front desk manager and was provided with an incident report, however no contact regarding resolution as of yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel was a ways away from beach front activities such as parasailing, surfing and jet skiing. We walked had to walk to this particular area of the beach or pay for a cab. It would have been nice to be able to take advantage of these activities right on the beach outside our hotel. We were able to take public transportation (bus) to Old San Juan for 75 cents per person each way. Hotel staff was very helpful with identifying the bus routes and fare information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Mar 12, 2011

last minute trip

I planned this trip for my mother and myself with very little notice. We just decided to get away and decided puerto rico would be an easy trip. I think we overpaid for the hotel considering how ordinary the rooms were. The hotel restaurants were expensive and uninteresting. And while it was nice that they provided complimentary coffee in the morning, the coffee was pretty bad. Disappointing considering that even cheap coffee in puerto rico is usually amazing. The hotel is located on the beach which is nice. And the staff were very friendly and helpful. The female concierge however was overly pushy trying to sell us tours and seemed irritated when we asked for details about the trips. We did the half day tour to el yunque rainforest which was pricey and not well done. Overall I think there are probably better hotels in the area. The best thing about this hotel is that it is located on a nice part of isla verde beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 24 hour grocery store within walking distance from the hotel. Its a good place to buy inexpensive snacks, cereal, milk...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
british columbia canada
Mar 6, 2011

awesome

very pleasant at reception , we were given an upgrade room at no charge i would recommend this hotel any time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sad to be back in Wisconsin
Lake Geneva Wi
Feb 25, 2011

Amazing Vacation

Everything was great, pool, beach, service, casino - we didn't eat anything but breakfast from the banana cafe...everything else was very expensive for food and drinks and it was such a short walk downtown that it was worth venturing out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely venture out to the downtown area and if your up for a longer walk go to Loiza...amazing food and super cheap! The chicken on the stick was huge and was only $2...we couldn't get enough :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilumin
New York, NY
Feb 25, 2011

Isla Verde Marriott good family location

This is about the 5th time I've stayed there. I use it because my mother lives nearby. Yes there are better (and more expensive hotels nearby) but the hotel is a great bargain if you are looking for rest and relaxation in a safe environment. Casino is nothing to speak of but the food is very good. You can walk or taxi if you want better night life but that is not why I stay here. The beach is great and the weather for PERFECT 6 days in a row. A good amount of middle aged locals at the bar and mini-casino. Local food buffet Friday and weekends but pricy at $24 but it was all you can eat. Staff is friendly and courteous. Loved the free Wi-fi, got to see Black Swan On Demand before Oscar night, so that was cool. Hotel provides a quiet beach next to public one. Beach chairs free but tip you setup guy. Airport is 5 minutes away but noise was tolerable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza de Colon in Old San Juan had a nice selection of local artists crafts. The trolly can drive you around for free to tourist destination from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 101
Kent United Kingdom
Feb 17, 2011

Brilliant holiday..great value for money

I had a great holiday in San Juan. It was made even better by the fact that I was at this courtyard Marriott that can stand up to any of its equivalent Marriotts in the world. I had a partial Ocean View room on the 6th floor which in my opinion could almost be classed as an ocean view room. Key point is that I could see the ocean from my bed.lol! The rooms were cleaned promptly every day, receptionists were polite friendly and helpful. It was great to have the live bands each night and insight into local night life. I was particularly fascinated by all the salsa dancing by local families of all ages. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast especially the fresh omelettes that are made as you wait. But best of all the view and ambience by the beach as you have breakfast was brilliant. I had the opportunity to visit someone who was staying at the Ritz Carlton on the same beach. I am very happy to report that Courtyard beach area & sand is much better and the environment is better. Even my room in terms of value for money was easily comparable if not better than the Ritz Carlton. There were plumbing issues on my last night when I got back to the hotel at around 2am. I called reception and immediately a plumber came and resolved the issue and cleaner came and mopped up. So even though there was a slight problem it was resolved very quickly, what more can you ask for? Seems a pity that the Bar in the pool & the pool area seem underutilized and closes early! I guess it is because of lack of use but the fact that it closes early might be why it is under utilized Previous reviewers have complained about plane noise. Personally it was not a problem at all. You cannot hear it in the rooms. Even when you are on the beach, the planes taking off or landing at infrequent time-frames are not much louder than the waves. If/when I go back to San Juan, I shall stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two sides to the Isla verde beach. Go to the side where Waldof hotel is. Walk right towards the end of the beach when the Embassy Suite beach chairs are. There is a row of local restaurants - Nothing much to look at but great local food. I can't remember the names of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia PA
Feb 16, 2011

Family Vacation get away!!!

One of the best vacations ever!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jan 20, 2011

Comfy and Not too large

This hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are very easy to get to as the elevators are very near the beach access area. The only downside was that it it the closest hotel to the airport and the sounds from the planes taking off are very noticeable. The beach is a little rough for inexperienced swimmers but our family loved swimming and playing in the constant waves. The hotel offers complimentary fresh coffee and oj till 11:00am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you just want to hang out at the beach you better rent a car as there is really not much to do nearby other than visit restaurants about a 10 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search