$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SanJuanita L.
Business
Porter
Feb 4, 2015

personal getaway vacation

Beautiful entrance....i was on the third floor ,room was nice and very clean..i had partial view but was near the noisy ac units on my balcony. The hotel itself made up for that.. Resort was great....walking to the beach was excellent...hotel restroom where clean.Hammocks... Where awsome!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
devalicious1
Business
Winston Salem
Jan 27, 2015

Excellent Birthday-cation

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport. The rooms have partial ocean views and there are several on site restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashlee P.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Great trip

My best friend & I went on vacation to P.R. We had a blast. The hotel was very nice and cozy. The food (excluding the breakfast) was not though. All the staff was very friendly but ran pretty slow in the outside area. The beach was great! We spent a lot of time there. The pool was very warm but didn't get much sun due to all of the Palm trees surrounding it. We got exceptional tans on the beach. Drinks were over-priced along with the food. We ate and drank off the resort mostly. The airplanes were pretty loud,only while we were on our balcony though. All In all our trip was great and we would go again. Weather was perfect and that was our main objective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a bunch of small restaurants about a mile to the left of the hotel. The food down there was delicious. Mostly fried but all authentic Puerto Rican food. I highly recommend checking it out

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katherine J.
Business
MECHANICSVILLE
Jan 17, 2015

Great R&R

This trip was very relaxing except they were doing construction on the upper floors of the Resort and it made it hard to take a nap the one day I wanted one. Overall nice place and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aniket N.
Business
Sunnyvale
Jan 8, 2015

Interior subpar, great beach hammocks though

We were at the hotel for 6 nights. Overall, it was an mixed bag. The hotel room was sub-par and the bed was uncomfortable. On one of the nights, we were woken up by a fire alarm at 1 am followed by an announcement, that it was a mistake. A couple of days in,we had almost made up our mind to move to a different hotel, however, we liked the beach adjoining the hotel with the hammocks and lounge setup and ended up staying the entire duration. All-together the rooms are not too good, however the beach right outside with the relaxing hammocks and the lounge/outdoor restaurant sort made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Motta Family
Business
Rowlett
Jan 7, 2015

Best Family Trip

Beautiful!!! Would stay again... Only issue I had was when I booked online, I entered all of my kids ages. And when we checked out of the hotel, they gave us a bill for my 13 year old and 17 year old. I was told they are considered adults and had to be charged in the room as adults. I informed them this is something they should consider putting in the description of their hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorraine G.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

great beach vacation

The hotel was a good value. Clean, attractive, staff was very friendly. Pool was very nice and you walked right out the back to the beach. My only complaint was very slow service. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived at 4 pm. We went to sit on the deck and have a drink. It took 30 minutes to get served. The entire weekend was like that. We waited 20 minutes to be seated for our meal on New Year's Eve with a reservation. If you can be patient, the rest of your stay will be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Puerto Rico
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I didn't have to ask for anything, they anticipated my every need. I was a bit apprehensive at first about even staying in Puerto Rico let alone isla verde courtyard Marriott because I thought it would be a language barrier. But almost everyone was well versed in English and those who weren't ,still went above and beyond by gesturing or finding someone to help.I never felt like I was bothering or interrupting. Very clean hotel and warm caring staff kudos guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you like to party,there is a great club called Club Brava.The cover charge is only $20.00. The drinks are affordable and the crowd was grown and sexy!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rahul R.
Business
Bethesda
Dec 23, 2014

Great location and Beach!

I loved that the hotel was right on the beach. Great location, and great bar :) Our wifi did not work for the entire stay (8 nights), and they never fixed it, despite the complaints. Overall decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Puerto Rico
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I didn't have to ask for anything, they anticipated my every need. I was a bit apprehensive at first about even staying in Puerto Rico let alone isla verde courtyard Marriott because I thought it would be a language barrier. But almost everyone was well versed in English and those who weren't ,still went above and beyond by gesturing or finding someone to help.I never felt like I was bothering or interrupting. Very clean hotel and warm caring staff kudos guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you like to party,there is a great club called Club Brava.The cover charge is only $20.00. The drinks are affordable and the crowd was grown and sexy!

Back to menu Return to top