$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
350 reviews
Fantastic couple getaway

Excellent service, nice location, great good. Most of all the prices are affordable. See full review

  • Hubby1969
  • Sep 15, 2014
couples getaway

This hotel is very nice and have wonderful friendly staff, the room and bathroom are clean and... See full review

  • kishaun
  • Aug 19, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cj88
Business
Puerto rico
Apr 25, 2012

Getaway

It was nice. I had a lot of fun and I would love to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elidia
Business
New York, New York
Apr 24, 2012

A Family Adventure

Tours, Oceanfront view, Pools, Casino and Entertainment. Can't ask for anything more. A wonderful getaway experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at Don Jose's and Platos Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
natbenlolu
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Airport Hotel

Great hotel right at the beach with palm trees and a stunning pool area. Five restaurants, a casino, friendly staff, 5 minute drive to the airport - everything was perfect. Ironically, the airport, which was our main reason for booking here, is the one drawback of the hotel because of the noise. Double windows and doors do help, though. This was the perfect way to spend the last night in Puerto Rico without worrying about getting to the flight on time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

With five restaurants your are bound to find the perfect meal for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOE THE PRO
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

GREAT GETAWAY AT A REASONABLE PRICE

FOR A $1000 A PERSON, WE FLEW NON STOP TO AND FROM PHILADELPHIA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT.THIS INCLUDED THE HOTELS PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW AND AIRFARE.THIS HOTEL SITS ON THE ATLANTIC OCEAN'S BEACH.WE WALKED BACK AND FORTH FROM THE POOL TO THE BEACH BECAUSE MY 8 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER LIKES THE POOL BETTER.LOL.THE HOTEL RESTAURANTS WERE A LITTLE PRICY BUT THE FOOD WAS GOOD....EXAMPLE BREAKFAST BUFFET,...$17 A PERSON THE PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS GIVE YOU A GREAT VIEW AND ALMOST JUST AS GOOD OF A VIEW AS THE FULL OCEAN VIEW SO WE WERE HAPPY THAT WE DID NOT UPGRADE OUR ROOM. I WOULD GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ravic
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Great relaxing getaway

A great place to have fun with family. The hotel provided all types of activities to cater various needs of our family such as clean beach, 2 pools (deep and shallow), 4 restaurants, beach view rooms, game room and casino. Only temporary issue (may be a good thing :) ) was casino under renovation, we couldn't loose any money because of that :). One thing you need to watch for is the price of items at the restaurants, it varied depending on where you sat and had the same food. Also it was better paying $2 to get a bottle of water from the vending machine rather than paying $3.50 at the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walgreens and Publo(super mart) are in a 15 minute walking distance. Got most of the breakfast items and milk for kids to cover 3 days of stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vaca2012
Business
Princeton Township, NJ, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Perfect Location for Fun and the Sun!

The perfect location for my 3 day, 4 night stay in Puerto Rico. Close to Old San Juan, the airport, Condado, and obviously the beach! Be sure to wear bug spray available at the front desk to protect yourself from no see um bites! I was so bitten up that on the second day of my vacation, I opted to stay near the pool and away from annoying critters at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dnp21
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Mar 10, 2012

excellent

the hotel was a great choice. couldn't have asked for better service and comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Healthcare Prof
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Mar 9, 2012

Hate to be a Negative Nancy

This resort was awesome. The amenities were amazing, drinks were delicious, view was beautiful, and all in all the service was good. However, there was one issue we ran into. When we checked into the hotel we were charged with numerous fees. Of course, some of these fees were expected but one of the fees was an "extra person fee" for our room. When we booked the room we booked the room for 4 people and were charged accordingly based off of our itemized receipt from this website. However, the hotel and this website must not communicate all that well because there were almost $400 worth of extra fees added upon check-in. Also, numerous random fees were charged to our credit card after check-in. When we asked the hotel staff about the charges they would have no clue as to what was going on. They would in turn agree to refund the money however, it takes several days for the refund. Lastly, there were several occasions where we were charged for items at the bar or restaurant when we had already paid for the items in cash before leaving the bar/restaurant. I hate to be so negative about the resort because it really is a fantastic place and we had a great time. The staff was easy to get along with and very understanding however, there are some internal processes that need to be revised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BluestarOnTheMove
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Gem on the beach!

Fabulous location right on the beach! More privacy/quiet and less crowded than the big, ritzy next door Ritz Carlton. Nicer blend of people, too-- we expected less, but received more in every aspect!--friendly/willing hotel employees, comfort, laid-back easy-going atmosphere, good food & a fun little casino to boot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madame Alexander
Business
Miame, Florida
Feb 7, 2012

My Opinion

At check-in we were not told what was happening that night at the hotel. We were not told that after 7 days (we were there for 10 days) our room key would no longer work. The buffet was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving around the island is terrible if you don't use interstates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top