$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Ortiz
Couples
Reading
Jul 11, 2013

Honeymoon

Very friendly, relaxing loved it. clean walking distance for shopping. it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoDawgs
Family
Coastal South Carolina
Jul 14, 2013

Location, location

This hotel is on a lovely beach which is right outside the back door. There are hammocks, couches, and chairs set up beach-side which we enjoyed in the evenings. We were within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants. Food can be expensive so be prepared for that. We rented a car and could drive easily to other beaches and restaurants. Our last night there, an 11 piece band set up in one of the hotel's restaurants which opened into the lobby. It was a magnificent experience. We did a rainforest tour and a zip line adventure. For both, we phoned the company and asked to be picked up at our hotel. There was no extra charge (we did tip the driver) and we were picked up at the front door - so easy. We drove into old San Juan twice - one afternoon and a Friday evening. It really came to life in the evening and the food was deliciously memorable. We also found, with the help of a local, a road-side food stand in Piñones. You should ask the hotel concierge to point out one of these to you for another great palate experience. Keep in mind that your bags will be checked by the USDA as you leave Puerto Rico so check to be sure you are bringing back nothing illegal. The coffee there is great and can be brought back. I have heard complaints about the heat and humidity during the summer months but we felt the temperatures were pleasant and the humidity far less than what we experience in coastal SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheap and delicious food can be found at roadside stands but make sure you get a recommendation for which to try. Not so cheap but incredible food can be found in old San Juan. Try a coffee shop while there. Puerto Rico is know for it's great coffee.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SJFamily
Family
New York
Jun 5, 2013

Nice hotel, Great beach

We had a great time at the Courtyard. The grounds are very nice and the beach is beautiful. Chairs and umbrellas are easy to get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the beach 10 min to find alternative places to eat - it is worth it

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doyonski
Friends
Tampa, FL
Oct 8, 2013

Great girls getaway

Great location, food was pretty good. Loved the beach and all of the staff was very nice. We were upgraded to a ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There were lots of places go to to enjoy the night life. Some as close as a 3 min drive up to about 15 minutes.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn and Al
Couples
Newark, New Jersey
Oct 11, 2013

Surprise Birthday Getaway for my Fiance

The Courtyard by Marriott is a very nice hotel. We had an early flight in and once we arrived at the hotel they checked us in immediately. Our room was very nice and clean but the building located on the right side of the hotel was a complete eyesore. The next morning I spoke to the hotel manager and he immediately without hesitation moved and upgraded us from a partial ocean view regular room to a full suite with a full ocean view. The room service, food and staff was EXCELLENT. We will definitely be visiting the Courtyard by Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

It was a little expensive but well worth it......Also if your going to go sight seeing it is definitely cheaper to rent a car. The cab rides are very expensive there.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of 7
Family
hackensack, NJ
Oct 17, 2013

Awesome Vacation

From the moment we got out of our taxi we were greeted with smiles & kindness. Everyone at Courtyard Marriott was pleasant, kind & friendly. We were in PR for a family wedding that took place in another hotel but it turned out that several of the guest stayed at the CM. I would not think twice about staying with them again. The rooms were clean and the beds were soooo comfy. The service on the beach & pool side were also good. Overall our family had an awesome time. Thanks CM. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the short drive it Old San Juan to La Vaca Loca. The food was amazing.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CORVETTEMAN
Family
SAN JUAN
Nov 15, 2013

GREAT FUN

THE HOTEL WAS GREAT AND THE STAFF IS THE BEST, CAN'T DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND HAVING A CASINO ON THE PROPERTY WAS A PLEASURE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International has a great Italian restaurant.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyCouple 2013
Couples
Houston, TX
Dec 1, 2013

Fantastic Staff

The manager (Jose) went out of his way to take care of us when we asked for vegetarian food. He provided us great service. The bartenders are very friendly and knowledgeable. Sally is an excellent and creative bartender; she created some great drinks for us. The front desk was also very accommodating to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

El San Juan Hotel has good night clubs.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EME KY
Family
Kentucky
Dec 22, 2013

Convenient location, great beach access

The best reasons to choose this hotel are: 1) Beach front location - you can literally wall 100' from the pool area and sit on a beach chair just steps from the ocean 2) Location - the airport is a 5 minute drive from the hotel (though that does mean you hear the planes taking off), plus there are numerous restaurants within a 10 minute walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Future Mrs S
Couples
Livingston, LA
May 31, 2014

Honeymoon

Showers could be better but besides that it was a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top