Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
344 reviews
couples getaway

This hotel is very nice and have wonderful friendly staff, the room and bathroom are clean and... See full review

  • kishaun
  • Aug 19, 2014
Tropical Paradise

Our stay was totally awesome! The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was... See full review

  • Mama 757
  • Jul 29, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (344)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
344 out of 344
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austins mom
Baltimore, MD
Jul 6, 2012

Nice

Was very shocked at the $8.75 Pina Coladas! Very expensive pool bar. Byob...lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own alcohol

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tampa guy
Tampa
Jul 6, 2012

Not great, not bad. Hotel is fine. Staff needs some work.

The hotel itself is ok. Nothing to write home about about on par with a typical motel 6. Some of the staff members were great. But others fell far short. Waiting 4 hours for a room after we arrived. Even after paying for an upgrade. Being told things about tours that were simply not true. The maid staff missed cleaning our room 5 times during the week. This may have been some what because we were in and out but still no excuse. Other members in the food service department were great. The big draw for this hotel was the beach. But after going to two other hotels in the area for dinner we realized what a let down our hotel was. I did not price those hotels so I cant say if they were a better value. The last drawback to the hotel is the cost of food. Every meal for four people was 80 to 120 bucks. This is way two much. The problem with leaving the hotel to get diner somewhere else is it cost 20 bucks each way in a cab. So you cant win either way. Would I stay here again. NO. Was it that bad. NO. I would give it a 5 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont go on the half day rainforest tour it is a waste of time and money. BORING>>>ZZZZZZZZ Do the canopy zip line tour. Very nice people. Had a great time.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imfaster
Omaha, NE
Jul 5, 2012

Not to shabby

The staff was all nice and helpfull. A couple of them would rather talk with thier friends though. This was set up as a get away, not only for out of towners, but also for the locals. There was salsa dancing and a local style buffet 5 nights a week which brought in people from around the city. The rooms were clean and of discent size. It was close to the airport and the interstate, but a 10 minute drive to most of the attractions... Dont try walking to them. It is further than you would think. We did and spent about 4 hours walking 1 way. Most of the food in the area is Americanised and the Hotel food is pricey but good. There are a few authentic places with in walking distance though. The hotel has a great view and a well kept beach and pools. Our overall experience was a good one. Food hints: Bebo's is the best food on the island for the price. You can feed a whole family for $12.00 and it is delicious. The chicken is the best, although the sausage (longinisa) is also good. (3 miles away) Piu Bella is our seccond favorite... We went there 4 times in a week. The food is great and at about $10 per person, it is a good value. Good breakfast but better lunch/brunch items. They also have the best gelato and sorbet on the island. This is what origionally what brought us in and kept bringing us back. (1 mile away) Metropol was a nice sit down style resturaunt. The menu was large and had something for everyone. The meals were about $15-$20 each and well worth every penny. The outside of the building makes it look like a bar atmosphere, but it is a nice, clean and well cared for place on the inside. I would highly recommend the pulled beef, beans and rice... WOW, is all i can say. I have had it at other places, but nothing like this. (1 mile away).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not wait for the bus going to Old San Juan. We waited for 3 hours and it never showed. Once on the bus, I was told it takes about an hour to go 10 miles. It is much better to rent a car or to take a cab.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MedStudentColl
Chicago, IL
Jun 26, 2012

Weekend Away

The hotel staff was not very helpful when it came to trying to change our rooms. Despite the fact that we had confirmation of booking 3 adults in 1 room, they were adamant that we only had booked 2 adults in one room, because of this we were unable to get 2 double beds. Instead we put into a room with a king bed and a sleeper sofa. There are also hidden 25 dollar a day fees for this so called extra guest despite the fact our reservation had 3 guests on it. The hotel pool and bar staff were very friendly, but there front desk staff could have been friendlier and more understanding to our situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Raice's had the best puerto rican food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Bob Bama
Tuscumbia,Al.
Jun 23, 2012

Great Hotel

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J New Yorker
Isla Verde
Jun 21, 2012

An ok place to stay

The pictures gave us a different impression than it actually was. Most of the hotel staff is very friendly though and we liked that the pool and beach were so close. The hotel food is not that great and very over priced. The location of the hotel is also very far from the main stores. The area is very safe though. I personally would stay at a different hotel the next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaunaM
MT
Jun 19, 2012

Great, but could use some work.

Hotel was very nice, but we were shown to a room already occupied when we first checked in. Our room was very nice, but when looking at the details you could tell that the work was poorly done, especially the baseboards in the bathroom. The shower water was pretty cold most of the time and we did have to call and complain about the noisy children in the room next door on our last night. We also witnessed one of the hammocks outside collapse on a couple and knock the woman unconscious...Other than that, the beach and pool was nice. I would not recommend eating at the buffet at the Salsa "restaurant" they have there. Waaay to expensive and not worth it. Staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at the Salsa restaurant in the hotel. Waay too expensive and not worth it! Don't take a taxi to Old San Juan. Take the bus! Only .75 cents a ride and you can take the T5 or the C53. Also, the Pueblo market is only a 15 walk and you can get groceries to cut down the cost of food while on your vacay. We bought milk and cereal and fruit so we didn't have to buy breakfast at all. Saved a lot! Just google where it is before you go as the roads are a little misleading.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
syracuse ny
Jun 14, 2012

clean, friendly peaceful

Great location, beautiful views on the beach at the end of the strip. The staff could not have been any better. This trip was our 29th wedding anniversary, got into a beautiful clean room with a view. Met a peaceful relaxing experience. Able to bond with my queen and explore this beautiful tropical paradise together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The city of san juan was as close as a person can get to a true tropical expierience? The fort tours and walking the city streets thru the shops, outstanding history!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tier
Charleston, West Virginia
Jun 11, 2012

Fabulous for couples

All the hotel restaurants were delicious! I loved the convenience of the hotel in regards to ocean & pool amenities. The swim-up bar was a bit pricy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

don't get carried away at the swim-up bar! a bit expensive!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MerSi
istanbul,Turquia
Jun 2, 2012

Fantastic beach.

Hotel has perfect beach in whole isla verde area. Having breakfast through fantastic ocean view was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Salsa nights, live music in hotel lobby at night was good.

Back to menu Return to top