$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol Guerra
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 17, 2013

Good Location & Price

Hotel was on a very nice stretch of beach. Beach front. Very nice upscale outdoor dining area with great food. Jet skis were available outside our hotel on beach area. Very convenient. Beds were comfortable. Pool area was nice and clean. Sala band was nice bonus on Fri, Sat, Sun. at hotel. Drink service & snacks available for purchase off the beach & pool area. Pool has swim up bar. Not walking distance to San Juan but bus route takes you to San Juan a few blocks from hotel. Most tours offer transportation from this hotel. Defintely go to Old San Juan & Rainforest! 5 min from Airport and a short taxi ride of $12 + $1 per luggage per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens nearby for snacks and drinks walking distance. Cheaper option so you can keep in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James c Williams
Business
Tampa Florida
Apr 15, 2013

Honeymoon at the beach

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott at Isla Verde,which was a great hotel with an excellent location. Being the last hotel on the beach, it was less crowded than the other areas, the water was clear and free of sea weed all of which contributed to a pleasurable experience on the beach. The hotel amenities exceeded its 3 star rating. The only glitch was at checkout when they added the resort fee and Government tax that was $130 which was already taken care of in the package . However, when asked the concierge readily remedied the problem. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel anyone who is looking for an excellent beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining options on the strip. As expected there are some better than the other, 101 bar adjacent to the Ritz is a low key bar with friendly people and reasonably priced drinks. Metropol opposite the Ritz Carlton shady from the outside but an entirely different ambiance inside, serving authentic puerto rican and cuban cuisine. Slightly overpriced but a must go. Avoid Lupi's at all costs! It is an overpriced joint, serving pathetic "Mexican" food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M AGS
Business
Westchester, NY
Apr 12, 2013

Honeymoon in Puerto Rico

This is not the best Courtyard Marriott that we stayed at, but it was still very nice. The room had a partial view of the beach...but we were on the third floor, so we mainly saw (and heard) the A/C units on the roof of the casino. The beach was beautiful (right on Isla Verde Beach). The tappas bar and lounge was wonderful, with great views of the beach and a tasty menu. If I could ask for anything, it would have been faster service. The servers (especially at Banana's) were understaffed or just slow. The Concierge was very helpful. They said that every bio-bay tour was booked through the weekend, but called me as soon as one opened up. Probably the greatest natural phenomenon that we have ever seen. (Definite must-do!) We made a day trip to Old San Juan, just 20 minutes away. We had a great time checking out the old city and Spanish forts. One last thing, unrelated to the resort...it probably wasn't the best time to go. Many of the sights were closed on Good Friday and Easter. We were confined to our room because of that and rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Soleil Beach Club Great Mofongo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Bridge
Business
Utah
Apr 8, 2013

Great location, superb service!!

The staff service is second to none, great location, the bars and restaurant on site have everything that you need. The vibe is good, can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 6, 2013

Excellent family holidays

Great hotel for a family Spring brake. Excellent beach, close enough from Old San Juan to spend a couple of good evenings in this historical and nice city. Best points, hotel location and all the staff, incredibly friendly. Worst point, the food at the hotel. Expensive and just fast food average quality. Nevertheless, there are some good options in a walking distance if you dont want to take a cab to the city. Anyway, San Juan is something you dont want to missed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Barrachina at Od San Juan, where the first Pina Colada was created

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rojas rosas
Business
indiana
Apr 6, 2013

awesome family getaway

I loved everything about it especially the staff we needed something and there was no hesitation we got what we needed also the clerks at front desk we great never met such a nice staff we went on many trips with hotels stay and so far this hotel had the best staff on board if we go on another trip this would be the hotel we would prefer love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you would prefer to go in the summer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amygitt
Business
New York, NU
Apr 3, 2013

Courtyard Marriott San Juan

Was very pleasantly suprised by this hotel. I booked it becauase the reviews of the hotel surpassed those of some of the 4 star hotels in San Juan (they were the same cost at the time of my trip), and I was not disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The beach is lovely - much nicer than the beaches or "coves" way further down the strip. The restaurants all have good if not better than good food. The gym was sufficient. It is very close to the aiport, and it was never a factor. A few times we heard planes taking off, but it was by no means a distraction. And the rooms are quiet - I couldn't really hear planes with the double paned windows. The only slightly negative things I would say is that the bathrooms are a little dated and need renovating, the rooms could be painted a lighter color (they appear a little dingy) and slightly more plush towels at the pool/beach would be nice. I would also recommend asking for a room facing the pool - they have two sides of the hotel, both with "partial ocean" views. One side faces the pool and out towards the ocean, and the other side has ocean views but looks over an old apartment building. There are full ocean view rooms, as well, at a higher rate. It's great for families - not if you want major activities, but if you want a nice, quiet time with the family hanging out by the pool or beach. The guests were all pleasant - not a lot of raucous drinking and ruining it for others. There are good restaurants within walking distance (both fancy retaurants at the Ritz and more authentic Puerto Rican restaurants). And there is a Walgreen's within walking distance in case you forget anything or want to keep stuff in the mini-fridge. I never once entered the casino, so I can't comment on it. I do recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two restaurants, one is called Metropol and the other is Made in Puerto Rico (I think). Both are good. There is also a restaurant in Old San Juan called Raices that was recommended by almost everyone we asked. The two closer to the hotel are better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diva and Don
Business
Bklyn, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Much needed vacation!

I was greeted by a friendly representative...went straight to the bar, and Daisy was the best! Every morning had a wonderful buffet breakfast by the beach. After breakfast, walked 3 ft to the beach where the beach boy set us up with chairs and an umbrella. As we laid out for hours soaking up the sun, Bryan served fabulous coladas. As a pre-evening delight, we took a dip in the pool and had more dranks at the swim-up bar. :) The room had a fabulous view from the balcony. Although there was Salsa on the weekend, it speaks to a more mature crowd. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main strip, and as a resort can use more entertainment to keep your attention. Especially on those rainy days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Stress
Business
NYC
Mar 10, 2013

Mother/Daughter Trip

Step 1: Wake up, have a cup of delicious coffee on your balcony overlooking the ocean. Step 2: Hit the gym for and hour Step 3: Head to the beach where the chairs, umbrella, and side table are waiting. Step 4: Lunch and a cocktail Step 5: Beach and dip in the pool Step 6: Happy hour (yes they have happy hour specials!) Step 7: Dinner at Sirena or a nearby restaurant Step 8: Craps, Blackjack, Roulette Step 9: Head to bed and dream about doing it all over again. I was a girl who was always bored at the beach after 10 minutes. That was before I had someone to carry my chair, set up my umbrella, and deliver me a cocktail. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Playita was a great spot close by as was the Ritz Carlton for lunch - best Black Bean and Corn burger that exists in this world. Grilled cheese with avocado and goodies was sooo good too. Sirena at the Courtyard had a great tapas menu as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aphroditephnx
Business
West Harrison, NY
Feb 28, 2013

Amazing last minute getaway

The staff was unbelieveably helpful, nice & welcoming. The room was so clean, smelled fresh and the view was outstanding. Overall this stay was the best experience I've ever had at a hotel this far. I will definitely be staying Marriott again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan your activities a day in advance. There were a few activities we would've loved to do but found out too late (our fault) that the tour had already left for the day or that it wasn't offered on a specific date.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top