$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
342 reviews
Tropical Paradise

Our stay was totally awesome! The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was... See full review

  • Mama 757
  • Jul 29, 2014
Puerto Rico trip

Awesome hotel, poolside bar, steps to the beach, casino and lots of nightlife See full review

  • Lorrain
  • Jul 16, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (342)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDWitbeck
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 28, 2012

Beautiful Beach

The resort is adjacent to a gorgeous beach with beautiful blue water. It is close to the airport so you can hear jets screaming by, but it is not noticeable when within your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelface
dominica
Aug 25, 2012

Decent overnight

This was a nice place to stay one night between flights, not sure if I would want to spend a whole vacation there though. Room wasn't the cleanest room ever but it wasn't out-right dirty. Id stay here again for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Chocolate milkshake downstairs

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lore y jan
Puerto rico
Aug 12, 2012

good, very clean, nice staff

Only stayed for one night, good staff, very clean,nice gym, nice beach, felt very welcome unlike at the San Juan resort and casino. Would return again.The rooms are a little crowded,a lot of stuff not so big space but still comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe and Lynn
Iowa
Aug 1, 2012

beautiful room and beach in nice area

The room, beach and pool were big, clean and roomy. The jr suite had a big ocean view balcony, 2 nice beds, fridge, micro, and desk with lots of room for parents and 2 teens. Parking is a hassle, food in the 3 restuarantes was very expensive, and it cost to use anything ($10/hour for body board, kayaks, rackets, etc.) It had an ok casino and live music/dance even on a Sunday night. Overall nice for a night or 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a few blocks around the corner on Isla Verde Ave for some great restuarantes, bars and shops at good prices.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wapsie
St. Croix
Jul 31, 2012

Nice Place

It was very nice, but too close to the airport. The planes taking off made alot of noise, especially at 6:00 a.m. We went to Old San Juan, Plaza, and Fajardo. The location was good in that you could walk to other restaurant. The person who checked us in did not explain how we were to deal with the parking of our rental car correctly, but they fixed it. The outside area bar, pool, and furniture was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old San Juan and walk around.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA79
CT USA
Jul 25, 2012

weekend getaway

hotel is in a good location about a 15min walk to el san juan Hotel & Casino Club Brava is also in there Great club.The hotel is average pools ok beach is nice resturants in the hotel are pretty good Only thing Watch OUT FOR the occupanies charges If you have 3 or 4 adults in 1 room you will be charged $50 a night plus tax BLANK never let me know I got a bill on the last day for $200 so watch out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

club bRAVA

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zedsky
Buffalo, New York
Jul 9, 2012

P.R. trip on the 4th of July

Over all nice, but TV signal was a problem especially on the rainy days. Housekeeping missed the soaps, water and tea 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tampa guy
Tampa
Jul 6, 2012

Not great, not bad. Hotel is fine. Staff needs some work.

The hotel itself is ok. Nothing to write home about about on par with a typical motel 6. Some of the staff members were great. But others fell far short. Waiting 4 hours for a room after we arrived. Even after paying for an upgrade. Being told things about tours that were simply not true. The maid staff missed cleaning our room 5 times during the week. This may have been some what because we were in and out but still no excuse. Other members in the food service department were great. The big draw for this hotel was the beach. But after going to two other hotels in the area for dinner we realized what a let down our hotel was. I did not price those hotels so I cant say if they were a better value. The last drawback to the hotel is the cost of food. Every meal for four people was 80 to 120 bucks. This is way two much. The problem with leaving the hotel to get diner somewhere else is it cost 20 bucks each way in a cab. So you cant win either way. Would I stay here again. NO. Was it that bad. NO. I would give it a 5 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont go on the half day rainforest tour it is a waste of time and money. BORING>>>ZZZZZZZZ Do the canopy zip line tour. Very nice people. Had a great time.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austins mom
Baltimore, MD
Jul 6, 2012

Nice

Was very shocked at the $8.75 Pina Coladas! Very expensive pool bar. Byob...lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own alcohol

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imfaster
Omaha, NE
Jul 5, 2012

Not to shabby

The staff was all nice and helpfull. A couple of them would rather talk with thier friends though. This was set up as a get away, not only for out of towners, but also for the locals. There was salsa dancing and a local style buffet 5 nights a week which brought in people from around the city. The rooms were clean and of discent size. It was close to the airport and the interstate, but a 10 minute drive to most of the attractions... Dont try walking to them. It is further than you would think. We did and spent about 4 hours walking 1 way. Most of the food in the area is Americanised and the Hotel food is pricey but good. There are a few authentic places with in walking distance though. The hotel has a great view and a well kept beach and pools. Our overall experience was a good one. Food hints: Bebo's is the best food on the island for the price. You can feed a whole family for $12.00 and it is delicious. The chicken is the best, although the sausage (longinisa) is also good. (3 miles away) Piu Bella is our seccond favorite... We went there 4 times in a week. The food is great and at about $10 per person, it is a good value. Good breakfast but better lunch/brunch items. They also have the best gelato and sorbet on the island. This is what origionally what brought us in and kept bringing us back. (1 mile away) Metropol was a nice sit down style resturaunt. The menu was large and had something for everyone. The meals were about $15-$20 each and well worth every penny. The outside of the building makes it look like a bar atmosphere, but it is a nice, clean and well cared for place on the inside. I would highly recommend the pulled beef, beans and rice... WOW, is all i can say. I have had it at other places, but nothing like this. (1 mile away).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not wait for the bus going to Old San Juan. We waited for 3 hours and it never showed. Once on the bus, I was told it takes about an hour to go 10 miles. It is much better to rent a car or to take a cab.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search