$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rojas rosas
Family
indiana
Apr 6, 2013

awesome family getaway

I loved everything about it especially the staff we needed something and there was no hesitation we got what we needed also the clerks at front desk we great never met such a nice staff we went on many trips with hotels stay and so far this hotel had the best staff on board if we go on another trip this would be the hotel we would prefer love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you would prefer to go in the summer.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amygitt
Family
New York, NU
Apr 3, 2013

Courtyard Marriott San Juan

Was very pleasantly suprised by this hotel. I booked it becauase the reviews of the hotel surpassed those of some of the 4 star hotels in San Juan (they were the same cost at the time of my trip), and I was not disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The beach is lovely - much nicer than the beaches or "coves" way further down the strip. The restaurants all have good if not better than good food. The gym was sufficient. It is very close to the aiport, and it was never a factor. A few times we heard planes taking off, but it was by no means a distraction. And the rooms are quiet - I couldn't really hear planes with the double paned windows. The only slightly negative things I would say is that the bathrooms are a little dated and need renovating, the rooms could be painted a lighter color (they appear a little dingy) and slightly more plush towels at the pool/beach would be nice. I would also recommend asking for a room facing the pool - they have two sides of the hotel, both with "partial ocean" views. One side faces the pool and out towards the ocean, and the other side has ocean views but looks over an old apartment building. There are full ocean view rooms, as well, at a higher rate. It's great for families - not if you want major activities, but if you want a nice, quiet time with the family hanging out by the pool or beach. The guests were all pleasant - not a lot of raucous drinking and ruining it for others. There are good restaurants within walking distance (both fancy retaurants at the Ritz and more authentic Puerto Rican restaurants). And there is a Walgreen's within walking distance in case you forget anything or want to keep stuff in the mini-fridge. I never once entered the casino, so I can't comment on it. I do recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two restaurants, one is called Metropol and the other is Made in Puerto Rico (I think). Both are good. There is also a restaurant in Old San Juan called Raices that was recommended by almost everyone we asked. The two closer to the hotel are better.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diva and Don
Couples
Bklyn, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Much needed vacation!

I was greeted by a friendly representative...went straight to the bar, and Daisy was the best! Every morning had a wonderful buffet breakfast by the beach. After breakfast, walked 3 ft to the beach where the beach boy set us up with chairs and an umbrella. As we laid out for hours soaking up the sun, Bryan served fabulous coladas. As a pre-evening delight, we took a dip in the pool and had more dranks at the swim-up bar. :) The room had a fabulous view from the balcony. Although there was Salsa on the weekend, it speaks to a more mature crowd. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main strip, and as a resort can use more entertainment to keep your attention. Especially on those rainy days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Stress
Family
NYC
Mar 10, 2013

Mother/Daughter Trip

Step 1: Wake up, have a cup of delicious coffee on your balcony overlooking the ocean. Step 2: Hit the gym for and hour Step 3: Head to the beach where the chairs, umbrella, and side table are waiting. Step 4: Lunch and a cocktail Step 5: Beach and dip in the pool Step 6: Happy hour (yes they have happy hour specials!) Step 7: Dinner at Sirena or a nearby restaurant Step 8: Craps, Blackjack, Roulette Step 9: Head to bed and dream about doing it all over again. I was a girl who was always bored at the beach after 10 minutes. That was before I had someone to carry my chair, set up my umbrella, and deliver me a cocktail. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Playita was a great spot close by as was the Ritz Carlton for lunch - best Black Bean and Corn burger that exists in this world. Grilled cheese with avocado and goodies was sooo good too. Sirena at the Courtyard had a great tapas menu as well!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aphroditephnx
Couples
West Harrison, NY
Feb 28, 2013

Amazing last minute getaway

The staff was unbelieveably helpful, nice & welcoming. The room was so clean, smelled fresh and the view was outstanding. Overall this stay was the best experience I've ever had at a hotel this far. I will definitely be staying Marriott again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan your activities a day in advance. There were a few activities we would've loved to do but found out too late (our fault) that the tour had already left for the day or that it wasn't offered on a specific date.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crsguy
Couples
New Brighton, MN
Feb 27, 2013

overnight

I was stayed there last November after the curise trip. I was pleasure to stay there for two days. there was really nice a place for the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SRJR
Family
Orlando , FL
Feb 19, 2013

Boca de Cangrejos

The bathroom is in desperate need of renewal . Maximum occupancy is for 4 people ; however , there aren't enough hooks for all bath towels and there isn't enough closet space , nor is there enough drawer space. The carpet was dirty . Parking spaces were meant for go karts . On a positive note : the location was good , the hotel had nice swimming pools , direct beach access and the hammocks were fantastic .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelyfish
Family
Glen Allen, VA
Feb 6, 2013

Great

The staff was very helpfull and took care of any issues promptly. Friendly atmosphere! The only thing that could of made a better was a cleaner shower. Ibought my own bottle of Tylex! The view from my room was perfect... Yes i would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos was the first restaurant we ate at, whic was very good and every place we ate after that was great!!!!!!! Can't wait to go back.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just another retired guy
Couples
Cape Cod, MA
Feb 2, 2013

Perfect relaxation vacation

Location was great -- last hotel on the beach, making it always uncrowded. More than enough beach chairs, umbrellas and tables. Wonderful swimming at the beach -- so much fun that we didn't even use the pool! Staff was great -- helpful, friendly, accomodating. Easy walk to the restaurants and shops of Isla Verde -- and to the bus stop for a 75 cent ride into old San Juan. The restaurants at the hotel were NOT expensive for hotel restaurants and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many Puerto Rican and Cuban restaurants within a short walk of the hotel -- and there are the usual chain outlets also.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JULIE F
Couples
IOWA
Jan 31, 2013

VACATION

HOTEL IS WAY OVER PRICED FOR THE VALUE, FRONT DESK STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL, THE SO CALL BALCONY ROOMS WERE A JOKE!!! ITS TOO FAR FROM EVERYTHING AND NO RESTAURANTS CLOSE SO RENTED A CAR, I WOULD LOOK FOR A NOTHER HOTEL BEFORE STAYING THERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

EVERYTHING IS A LONG WAYS FROM HOTEL THATS WHY THEY HAVE U, CAUSE U HAVE TO RENT A CAR OR TAKE A TAXI AND THERE AT THE HOTEL THE FOOD WAS NOT WORTH THE EXPENSIVE PRICES THEY CHARGE!!! HOTEL IS WAY OVER PRICED FOR THE MONEY!!!

Back to menu Return to top