$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2015 Check-out: Feb 23, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
361 reviews
Best Family Trip

Beautiful!!! Would stay again... Only issue I had was when I booked online, I entered all of my... See full review

  • The Motta Family
  • Jan 7, 2015
Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I... See full review

  • Ms. Puerto Rico
  • Dec 29, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (361)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
361 out of 361
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JULIE F
Business
IOWA
Jan 31, 2013

VACATION

HOTEL IS WAY OVER PRICED FOR THE VALUE, FRONT DESK STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL, THE SO CALL BALCONY ROOMS WERE A JOKE!!! ITS TOO FAR FROM EVERYTHING AND NO RESTAURANTS CLOSE SO RENTED A CAR, I WOULD LOOK FOR A NOTHER HOTEL BEFORE STAYING THERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

EVERYTHING IS A LONG WAYS FROM HOTEL THATS WHY THEY HAVE U, CAUSE U HAVE TO RENT A CAR OR TAKE A TAXI AND THERE AT THE HOTEL THE FOOD WAS NOT WORTH THE EXPENSIVE PRICES THEY CHARGE!!! HOTEL IS WAY OVER PRICED FOR THE MONEY!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sacco
Business
san juan puerto roco
Jan 25, 2013

gorgeous beach

i love this hotel. it has so many amenities. i love the restaurant on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Champagne taste
Business
New Jersey
Jan 23, 2013

Couple getaway

Very clean and comfortable. Drinks were expensive at the hotel. Overall we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I was told about "Mi Casita", restaurant along the strip great place to go for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The prices were very affordable. A word of advice be prepared to wait, enjoy and I hope it was helpful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.I.
Business
Delaware
Jan 13, 2013

Pre-cruise stay.

We've stayed here several times pre and post cruise since they opened in 2003. Enjoyed the convinence, value and location....not to mention "on the beach"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heriberto from Ponce
Business
Ponce, PR
Jan 12, 2013

Airport hop

A very nice experience that can be enjoyed until the very last minute. Although a little in the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MA to PR
Business
Massachusetts
Dec 30, 2012

Great location but facilities a bit worn

Pool area and beach are great but the rooms and common areas are a bit worn. Bed was quite uncomfortable. But, our trip was such fun - there is lots to do in PR - that we spent very little time in the room, anyway. Staff at the hotel were very nice, knowledgeable and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Garden Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saijan
Business
San Antonio Texas
Dec 27, 2012

Excellent retreat

The atmosphere was great, the view of the ocean undiscribable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Dancing Salsa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charles Cardon
Business
New York
Dec 22, 2012

Good!

Nice!! Room was good and big. Price and food cost are a little expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJRN
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 29, 2012

Post honeymoon stay

We arrived at the hotel at 10am after our cruise and check-in wasn't until 3pm, but they had our room ready by 11, which is great. In the meantime, they told us we could put our stuff in lockers and start enjoying the pool and grounds. I'm giving them a 4 star because everything was soo over-priced that I was pretty disgusted. The cost of the room was fine but I went to purchase sunscreen at the shop and a 6oz bottle was $21.00. A plate of simple nachos was over $15, the cheapest beer was $6. We ended up ordering a pizza from pizza hut down the street and had it delivered to our hotel. We had spent a few days in Puerto Rico at another hotel and stuff was nowhere near this. I know prices at resorts tend to be inflated but we travel a lot and this was just completely absurd. Otherwise the hotel was quite nice, spacious and clean room, friendly staff, etc. I would recommend this hotel if you don't need to eat, drink, or purchase any simple items while on your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top