$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernie A
Business
Miami Fl
Sep 13, 2012

Marriott Courtyard in Isla Verde

Great hotel, beautiful scenery, very well maintained. The only thing i didn't like was the additional $55.68 resort fees i was charged with that i wasn't aware of when i booked the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain forest in El Yunque is beautiful. Florescent lagoon is amazing at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CLB2
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 30, 2013

Great Value

This was my honeymoon trip. It was excellent, staff was friendly, room was clean. I don' t know what was expected but the hotel was more than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tristan Kirkudbright
Business
Vermont
Apr 30, 2013

Resort amenities terrific, room was so-so

The staff are fantastic -- plenty of them and all very friendly and helpful and native English speakers. The pool, beach, and restaurant facilities were terrific and felt more luxurious than the price would suggest (e.g. getting drinks and snacks delivered to the beach, having beach chairs and umbrellas available at no cost and strong staff to pull them out to the sand). They even had inflatable float toys and boogie boards for a modest daily fee so the kids were thrilled. We had lots of fun and were able to fully relax. The room was pretty typical configuration (2 queen-size beds, at our request) and a bit on the shabby side, but we really didn't spend much time there. The only down side was that there was a fire from a malfunctioning A/C unit on the roof in the middle of the night, which caused a wholesale evacuation. The staff were nice, passing out bottles of water, but I think it would have been appropriate for the hotel to give us some sort of compensation the following day -- even a free smoothie or boogie board rental would have been adequate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant called "Made in Puerto Rico" is about 10 min walk away and was very authentic food as well as some spontaneous live music and quirky waitress outfits (housecoats and curlers?!?).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DDM Diva
Business
Freehold
Apr 29, 2013

Awesome Staff

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were met by their wonderful staff. From the baggage people at the front door , the check in staff, the restaurant wait staff, the beach staff, maid, room service... etc.. They are warm and gentile people. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fran49
Business
Southbury,CT
Apr 19, 2013

Excellent locale

This hotel is in need of serious upgrades. The bathrooms were old and very unappealing. The maid service was nonexistent. We had to ask for cleaning services and towels. At 3:00 pm room was not touched. This also applied to my daughter's adjoining room. This was the first time in 30 years that I have not left a gratuity to the maid for services. On the plus side, all other staff were fantastic. We were treated well, and they could not do enough to accommodate our needs. The restraunts and amenities were very good. Had the rooms been at the level of the rest of the services I would have rated this experience at 4 to 5 stars. I would not reccommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol Guerra
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 17, 2013

Good Location & Price

Hotel was on a very nice stretch of beach. Beach front. Very nice upscale outdoor dining area with great food. Jet skis were available outside our hotel on beach area. Very convenient. Beds were comfortable. Pool area was nice and clean. Sala band was nice bonus on Fri, Sat, Sun. at hotel. Drink service & snacks available for purchase off the beach & pool area. Pool has swim up bar. Not walking distance to San Juan but bus route takes you to San Juan a few blocks from hotel. Most tours offer transportation from this hotel. Defintely go to Old San Juan & Rainforest! 5 min from Airport and a short taxi ride of $12 + $1 per luggage per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens nearby for snacks and drinks walking distance. Cheaper option so you can keep in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James c Williams
Business
Tampa Florida
Apr 15, 2013

Honeymoon at the beach

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott at Isla Verde,which was a great hotel with an excellent location. Being the last hotel on the beach, it was less crowded than the other areas, the water was clear and free of sea weed all of which contributed to a pleasurable experience on the beach. The hotel amenities exceeded its 3 star rating. The only glitch was at checkout when they added the resort fee and Government tax that was $130 which was already taken care of in the package . However, when asked the concierge readily remedied the problem. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel anyone who is looking for an excellent beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining options on the strip. As expected there are some better than the other, 101 bar adjacent to the Ritz is a low key bar with friendly people and reasonably priced drinks. Metropol opposite the Ritz Carlton shady from the outside but an entirely different ambiance inside, serving authentic puerto rican and cuban cuisine. Slightly overpriced but a must go. Avoid Lupi's at all costs! It is an overpriced joint, serving pathetic "Mexican" food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M AGS
Business
Westchester, NY
Apr 12, 2013

Honeymoon in Puerto Rico

This is not the best Courtyard Marriott that we stayed at, but it was still very nice. The room had a partial view of the beach...but we were on the third floor, so we mainly saw (and heard) the A/C units on the roof of the casino. The beach was beautiful (right on Isla Verde Beach). The tappas bar and lounge was wonderful, with great views of the beach and a tasty menu. If I could ask for anything, it would have been faster service. The servers (especially at Banana's) were understaffed or just slow. The Concierge was very helpful. They said that every bio-bay tour was booked through the weekend, but called me as soon as one opened up. Probably the greatest natural phenomenon that we have ever seen. (Definite must-do!) We made a day trip to Old San Juan, just 20 minutes away. We had a great time checking out the old city and Spanish forts. One last thing, unrelated to the resort...it probably wasn't the best time to go. Many of the sights were closed on Good Friday and Easter. We were confined to our room because of that and rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Soleil Beach Club Great Mofongo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Bridge
Business
Utah
Apr 8, 2013

Great location, superb service!!

The staff service is second to none, great location, the bars and restaurant on site have everything that you need. The vibe is good, can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 6, 2013

Excellent family holidays

Great hotel for a family Spring brake. Excellent beach, close enough from Old San Juan to spend a couple of good evenings in this historical and nice city. Best points, hotel location and all the staff, incredibly friendly. Worst point, the food at the hotel. Expensive and just fast food average quality. Nevertheless, there are some good options in a walking distance if you dont want to take a cab to the city. Anyway, San Juan is something you dont want to missed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Barrachina at Od San Juan, where the first Pina Colada was created

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rojas rosas
Business
indiana
Apr 6, 2013

awesome family getaway

I loved everything about it especially the staff we needed something and there was no hesitation we got what we needed also the clerks at front desk we great never met such a nice staff we went on many trips with hotels stay and so far this hotel had the best staff on board if we go on another trip this would be the hotel we would prefer love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you would prefer to go in the summer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top