$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankvoice
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2013

Terrific hotel, terrific location

My wife and I stayed three nights. Everything about the place was perfect. Service was amazing. The location allowed a quick walk to supermarkets and drugstores and many, many restaurants. Just had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel will provide a list of nearby restaurants. The ones that served real Puerto Rican food were especially good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie24
Business
Staten Island, New York
Jul 21, 2013

Awesome Vacation!

Loved everything about this hotel. It was conveniently located just minutes from the airport. We landed and within an hour we were at the beach which was fantastic. The swim up bar at the pool was great and Bryan the bartender made the best drinks. The lobby lounge presented live Latin music by some great bands all weekend long so bring your dancing shoes. We loved eating at Sirena with it's beautiful view. Definitely try the Paella you'll love it. Also a must is the Tapas bar for some wonderful drinks and food. All the staff was wonderful from the guys at the beach, pool and concierge who answered all our questions and setup our tour of the Rain Forest. Thank you to Jesus our tour guide who was great in taking us through the forest. We also enjoyed some gambling at the Casino. When you book make sure you get an ocean front room as the view is magnificent. The whole experience was wonderful as such we are already planning our next trip back very soon. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoDawgs
Business
Coastal South Carolina
Jul 14, 2013

Location, location

This hotel is on a lovely beach which is right outside the back door. There are hammocks, couches, and chairs set up beach-side which we enjoyed in the evenings. We were within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants. Food can be expensive so be prepared for that. We rented a car and could drive easily to other beaches and restaurants. Our last night there, an 11 piece band set up in one of the hotel's restaurants which opened into the lobby. It was a magnificent experience. We did a rainforest tour and a zip line adventure. For both, we phoned the company and asked to be picked up at our hotel. There was no extra charge (we did tip the driver) and we were picked up at the front door - so easy. We drove into old San Juan twice - one afternoon and a Friday evening. It really came to life in the evening and the food was deliciously memorable. We also found, with the help of a local, a road-side food stand in Piñones. You should ask the hotel concierge to point out one of these to you for another great palate experience. Keep in mind that your bags will be checked by the USDA as you leave Puerto Rico so check to be sure you are bringing back nothing illegal. The coffee there is great and can be brought back. I have heard complaints about the heat and humidity during the summer months but we felt the temperatures were pleasant and the humidity far less than what we experience in coastal SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheap and delicious food can be found at roadside stands but make sure you get a recommendation for which to try. Not so cheap but incredible food can be found in old San Juan. Try a coffee shop while there. Puerto Rico is know for it's great coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yoli73
Business
New Jersey
Jul 13, 2013

Decent but Pricey

Hotel was ok. If you stay, get the oceanfront view It's worth it!! Since no All Inclusive, you will spend Alot of money on food & drinks. Staff was very Friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near hotel is a Denny's & a bakery to eat cheap for Breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Ortiz
Business
Reading
Jul 11, 2013

Honeymoon

Very friendly, relaxing loved it. clean walking distance for shopping. it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hesley love to travel
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 7, 2013

Had a blast....

Sometimes you just have to experience things for yourself... Staff was great from check in to check out. Previous comments stated that you have a lot of fees, that's not true at all.... I visited much of the island and its a give and take. For me location, location, location... Imagine eating dinner or breakfast once done you walk out and you're on the beach!!!! If you love to dance which I do, Wednesday - Friday a band played salsa. I danced the night away with my lady.... I rented a car, so it $15 a day to park the car in the hotel which is expected... You need a car to go to old San Juan which is beautiful and you must see Moro.... Anyway I'm realistic in my expectation and I rate the whole trip a 5 out 5....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Real nice mall was Plaza las Americas.... Also shopping in Old San Juan.. If you're not a stuffy person drive to the none tourist area mingle with the locals have a couple of drinks and enjoy the real Puerto Rico... "Just be careful and use better judgement as to location"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GROUP TRAVELLER
Business
ATLANTA, GA
Jun 18, 2013

AVERAGE HOTEL

WANTED TWO QUEEN BED, GOT ONE QUEEN AND A PULL OUT BED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SJFamily
Business
New York
Jun 5, 2013

Nice hotel, Great beach

We had a great time at the Courtyard. The grounds are very nice and the beach is beautiful. Chairs and umbrellas are easy to get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the beach 10 min to find alternative places to eat - it is worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffs3
Business
Colorado
Jun 3, 2013

Puerto Rico

Loved the Mariott Courtyard at Isla Verda. I love having the pool right off the beach. You can set up recliners at the beach and pool for the day and then go in between. Great water. Isla Verde businesses a bit dated with only a few non-chain restaurants to choose from. Cab fare to Old San Juan expensive for a 15 minute ride $25 one way. Otherwise great.. They need a reliable bus system

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hgt2
Business
Baton Royge
May 26, 2013

Comment

Bathrooms are much in need of an upgrade. While beach and lobby areas are very nice, garage and rooms need work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top