$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
351 reviews
Fantastic couple getaway

Excellent service, nice location, great good. Most of all the prices are affordable. See full review

  • Hubby1969
  • Sep 15, 2014
couples getaway

This hotel is very nice and have wonderful friendly staff, the room and bathroom are clean and... See full review

  • kishaun
  • Aug 19, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rojas rosas
Business
indiana
Apr 6, 2013

awesome family getaway

I loved everything about it especially the staff we needed something and there was no hesitation we got what we needed also the clerks at front desk we great never met such a nice staff we went on many trips with hotels stay and so far this hotel had the best staff on board if we go on another trip this would be the hotel we would prefer love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you would prefer to go in the summer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amygitt
Business
New York, NU
Apr 3, 2013

Courtyard Marriott San Juan

Was very pleasantly suprised by this hotel. I booked it becauase the reviews of the hotel surpassed those of some of the 4 star hotels in San Juan (they were the same cost at the time of my trip), and I was not disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The beach is lovely - much nicer than the beaches or "coves" way further down the strip. The restaurants all have good if not better than good food. The gym was sufficient. It is very close to the aiport, and it was never a factor. A few times we heard planes taking off, but it was by no means a distraction. And the rooms are quiet - I couldn't really hear planes with the double paned windows. The only slightly negative things I would say is that the bathrooms are a little dated and need renovating, the rooms could be painted a lighter color (they appear a little dingy) and slightly more plush towels at the pool/beach would be nice. I would also recommend asking for a room facing the pool - they have two sides of the hotel, both with "partial ocean" views. One side faces the pool and out towards the ocean, and the other side has ocean views but looks over an old apartment building. There are full ocean view rooms, as well, at a higher rate. It's great for families - not if you want major activities, but if you want a nice, quiet time with the family hanging out by the pool or beach. The guests were all pleasant - not a lot of raucous drinking and ruining it for others. There are good restaurants within walking distance (both fancy retaurants at the Ritz and more authentic Puerto Rican restaurants). And there is a Walgreen's within walking distance in case you forget anything or want to keep stuff in the mini-fridge. I never once entered the casino, so I can't comment on it. I do recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two restaurants, one is called Metropol and the other is Made in Puerto Rico (I think). Both are good. There is also a restaurant in Old San Juan called Raices that was recommended by almost everyone we asked. The two closer to the hotel are better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diva and Don
Business
Bklyn, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Much needed vacation!

I was greeted by a friendly representative...went straight to the bar, and Daisy was the best! Every morning had a wonderful buffet breakfast by the beach. After breakfast, walked 3 ft to the beach where the beach boy set us up with chairs and an umbrella. As we laid out for hours soaking up the sun, Bryan served fabulous coladas. As a pre-evening delight, we took a dip in the pool and had more dranks at the swim-up bar. :) The room had a fabulous view from the balcony. Although there was Salsa on the weekend, it speaks to a more mature crowd. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main strip, and as a resort can use more entertainment to keep your attention. Especially on those rainy days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Stress
Business
NYC
Mar 10, 2013

Mother/Daughter Trip

Step 1: Wake up, have a cup of delicious coffee on your balcony overlooking the ocean. Step 2: Hit the gym for and hour Step 3: Head to the beach where the chairs, umbrella, and side table are waiting. Step 4: Lunch and a cocktail Step 5: Beach and dip in the pool Step 6: Happy hour (yes they have happy hour specials!) Step 7: Dinner at Sirena or a nearby restaurant Step 8: Craps, Blackjack, Roulette Step 9: Head to bed and dream about doing it all over again. I was a girl who was always bored at the beach after 10 minutes. That was before I had someone to carry my chair, set up my umbrella, and deliver me a cocktail. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Playita was a great spot close by as was the Ritz Carlton for lunch - best Black Bean and Corn burger that exists in this world. Grilled cheese with avocado and goodies was sooo good too. Sirena at the Courtyard had a great tapas menu as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aphroditephnx
Business
West Harrison, NY
Feb 28, 2013

Amazing last minute getaway

The staff was unbelieveably helpful, nice & welcoming. The room was so clean, smelled fresh and the view was outstanding. Overall this stay was the best experience I've ever had at a hotel this far. I will definitely be staying Marriott again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan your activities a day in advance. There were a few activities we would've loved to do but found out too late (our fault) that the tour had already left for the day or that it wasn't offered on a specific date.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crsguy
Business
New Brighton, MN
Feb 27, 2013

overnight

I was stayed there last November after the curise trip. I was pleasure to stay there for two days. there was really nice a place for the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SRJR
Business
Orlando , FL
Feb 19, 2013

Boca de Cangrejos

The bathroom is in desperate need of renewal . Maximum occupancy is for 4 people ; however , there aren't enough hooks for all bath towels and there isn't enough closet space , nor is there enough drawer space. The carpet was dirty . Parking spaces were meant for go karts . On a positive note : the location was good , the hotel had nice swimming pools , direct beach access and the hammocks were fantastic .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelyfish
Business
Glen Allen, VA
Feb 6, 2013

Great

The staff was very helpfull and took care of any issues promptly. Friendly atmosphere! The only thing that could of made a better was a cleaner shower. Ibought my own bottle of Tylex! The view from my room was perfect... Yes i would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos was the first restaurant we ate at, whic was very good and every place we ate after that was great!!!!!!! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just another retired guy
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Feb 2, 2013

Perfect relaxation vacation

Location was great -- last hotel on the beach, making it always uncrowded. More than enough beach chairs, umbrellas and tables. Wonderful swimming at the beach -- so much fun that we didn't even use the pool! Staff was great -- helpful, friendly, accomodating. Easy walk to the restaurants and shops of Isla Verde -- and to the bus stop for a 75 cent ride into old San Juan. The restaurants at the hotel were NOT expensive for hotel restaurants and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many Puerto Rican and Cuban restaurants within a short walk of the hotel -- and there are the usual chain outlets also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top