$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernie A
Business
Miami Fl
Sep 13, 2012

Marriott Courtyard in Isla Verde

Great hotel, beautiful scenery, very well maintained. The only thing i didn't like was the additional $55.68 resort fees i was charged with that i wasn't aware of when i booked the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain forest in El Yunque is beautiful. Florescent lagoon is amazing at night.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLDOTL
Business
New jersey
Apr 18, 2014

Great couples getaway

We stayed at the marriott isla verde for 5 nights. The hotel staff was very accommodating and spoke English well. The area is Very safe and we left the hotel numerous times to walk to the local restauants. Old San Juan is just a quick cab ride away and so is the airport ( you do hear the planes taking off). The only downside we found was that the restauants at the hotel were very expensive. It cost upwards of $50 just for lunch. We ate at the local spots the hotel staff suggested. Overall, will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a plane to the island of Culebra. You will not be disappointed

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Durango Silver
Business
Durango, Colorado USA
Apr 20, 2014

Very Nice Resort

Everything was very good and we had a lot of fun. Everyone was extra friendly. A little far away from other restaurants for variety

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Metropol down the street, great food and drinks - very reasonable. We loved the smoked Chicken plate

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark 1962
Business
Burke, VA, USA
Apr 20, 2014

Easter week vacation

Hotel is in a nice beach location, with fine sand beach, good for swimming. Is close to Airport runway so can be noisy at times. Overall was clean, but it is still an average hotel brand, so amenities are simple. Beach service was excellent with umbrellas and chairs provided, but remember you will be paying a resort fee, after two people, so you have paid for it. Excellent restaurants with in walking distance for breakfast, lunch and dinner, if you tire of the onsite facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 101
Business
Kent United Kingdom
Feb 17, 2011

Brilliant holiday..great value for money

I had a great holiday in San Juan. It was made even better by the fact that I was at this courtyard Marriott that can stand up to any of its equivalent Marriotts in the world. I had a partial Ocean View room on the 6th floor which in my opinion could almost be classed as an ocean view room. Key point is that I could see the ocean from my bed.lol! The rooms were cleaned promptly every day, receptionists were polite friendly and helpful. It was great to have the live bands each night and insight into local night life. I was particularly fascinated by all the salsa dancing by local families of all ages. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast especially the fresh omelettes that are made as you wait. But best of all the view and ambience by the beach as you have breakfast was brilliant. I had the opportunity to visit someone who was staying at the Ritz Carlton on the same beach. I am very happy to report that Courtyard beach area & sand is much better and the environment is better. Even my room in terms of value for money was easily comparable if not better than the Ritz Carlton. There were plumbing issues on my last night when I got back to the hotel at around 2am. I called reception and immediately a plumber came and resolved the issue and cleaner came and mopped up. So even though there was a slight problem it was resolved very quickly, what more can you ask for? Seems a pity that the Bar in the pool & the pool area seem underutilized and closes early! I guess it is because of lack of use but the fact that it closes early might be why it is under utilized Previous reviewers have complained about plane noise. Personally it was not a problem at all. You cannot hear it in the rooms. Even when you are on the beach, the planes taking off or landing at infrequent time-frames are not much louder than the waves. If/when I go back to San Juan, I shall stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two sides to the Isla verde beach. Go to the side where Waldof hotel is. Walk right towards the end of the beach when the Embassy Suite beach chairs are. There is a row of local restaurants - Nothing much to look at but great local food. I can't remember the names of the restaurants.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dotti
Business
mass.
Aug 16, 2011

had a great time ther with my daughter..

the staff was very accomadating and pleasant. the casino was abit small though... food was good too. ocean was beautiful .. i did'nt realize that the locals go to the casinos did make that very uncomfortable for us cause they did not make us feel comfortable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let
Business
Cabo Rojo, 00622, Puerto Rico
Oct 17, 2011

SUPER!!!!

Great,,,perfect...SUPER...great pool for kids and adults...pool bar!!!...The beach is perfect!!...I will be here soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oberpongo
Business
Seattle
Nov 21, 2011

Close to Airport and nice Beach

Its conveniently located near the airport and does have its direct beach access. Of course you will also hear the airplanes all day. I thought the price was a little high for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the old town. Its a 20 min Taxi ride

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sssuzib
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Quick overnite trip

Good location - right on the beach and very close to airport. I was upgraded to a Jr. Suite that faced the ocean. The room was huge and very nice. Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to enjoy much of the hotel, as I arrived at 8pm and had to leave at 9am, but the pool looked nice and there are a few restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RETIRED GRANDPARENTS
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Dec 15, 2011

SUNNY WARM RESORT RETREAT

A VERY SHORT DRIVE FROM THE AIRPORT. THE STAFF WAS VERY COURTEOUS AND ALWAYS GAVE GOOD SERVICE. THE BEACH WAS PATROLLED BY POLICE...AND WERE OFTEN WALKING AROUND OR SITTING IN THE LOBBY..VERY SAFE HOTEL. THE RESORT AREA AND THE BEACH WAS CLEANED BY STAFF. SALSA MUSIC WITH LIVE BANDS AND DANCING FRIDAY, SAT AND SUN EVENINGS WERE FUN. SHORT WALK OR DRIVE TO MANY AMERICAN FAST FOOD CHAINS. RENTING CAR? PARKING IS NOT FREE..$15 DAY AND THE AUTOMATIC ENTRANCE AND EXIT GATE FOR PARKING WAS UNRELIABLE..VALET WOULD OPEN GATE..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Healthcare Prof
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Mar 9, 2012

Hate to be a Negative Nancy

This resort was awesome. The amenities were amazing, drinks were delicious, view was beautiful, and all in all the service was good. However, there was one issue we ran into. When we checked into the hotel we were charged with numerous fees. Of course, some of these fees were expected but one of the fees was an "extra person fee" for our room. When we booked the room we booked the room for 4 people and were charged accordingly based off of our itemized receipt from this website. However, the hotel and this website must not communicate all that well because there were almost $400 worth of extra fees added upon check-in. Also, numerous random fees were charged to our credit card after check-in. When we asked the hotel staff about the charges they would have no clue as to what was going on. They would in turn agree to refund the money however, it takes several days for the refund. Lastly, there were several occasions where we were charged for items at the bar or restaurant when we had already paid for the items in cash before leaving the bar/restaurant. I hate to be so negative about the resort because it really is a fantastic place and we had a great time. The staff was easy to get along with and very understanding however, there are some internal processes that need to be revised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top