$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
355 reviews
Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I... See full review

  • Ms. Puerto Rico
  • Dec 22, 2014
Fantastic couple getaway

Excellent service, nice location, great good. Most of all the prices are affordable. See full review

  • Hubby1969
  • Sep 15, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (355)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria R
Business
Puerto Rico
May 21, 2013

Satisfied

The Hotel is nice, but I was disappointed with the Parking charges and rooms with doors to the other room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

beaches, supermarkers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Ten 44
Business
San Juan, PR
May 13, 2013

Good Choice

It was a very good choice for a relaxing weekend,I recomend for weekend pleasure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moria
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 6, 2013

Not the best experience

Bombarded with $400 in extra room charges upon check in. Our reservation clearly stated 4 guests for 4 nights. Apparently, there is tiny print somewhere (which we never found) that states prices are based on only 2 guests per room. Reservation also states $10 resort credit per day, the staff and manager all stated they had no idea what that was and would not honor it. The suite we had wasn't any nicer than a Motel 6 and it smells terribly of mold. We had to ask every day for 4 towels and 4 wash cloths. The beach area is beautiful and the buffet breakfast was good (not $16/pp good). No one in our group would return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
xlizzyx
Business
San Jose, California
May 4, 2013

mini get away

It was good. Was not aware of all the extra charges that come with the hotel fees. Did not say anywhere when we booked our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cinderella 53
Business
isla verde san juan, puerto rico
May 3, 2013

mother & daughter getaway

our trip was everything we had hoped for. everyone was very nice and helpful. the grounds were beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CLB2
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 30, 2013

Great Value

This was my honeymoon trip. It was excellent, staff was friendly, room was clean. I don' t know what was expected but the hotel was more than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tristan Kirkudbright
Business
Vermont
Apr 30, 2013

Resort amenities terrific, room was so-so

The staff are fantastic -- plenty of them and all very friendly and helpful and native English speakers. The pool, beach, and restaurant facilities were terrific and felt more luxurious than the price would suggest (e.g. getting drinks and snacks delivered to the beach, having beach chairs and umbrellas available at no cost and strong staff to pull them out to the sand). They even had inflatable float toys and boogie boards for a modest daily fee so the kids were thrilled. We had lots of fun and were able to fully relax. The room was pretty typical configuration (2 queen-size beds, at our request) and a bit on the shabby side, but we really didn't spend much time there. The only down side was that there was a fire from a malfunctioning A/C unit on the roof in the middle of the night, which caused a wholesale evacuation. The staff were nice, passing out bottles of water, but I think it would have been appropriate for the hotel to give us some sort of compensation the following day -- even a free smoothie or boogie board rental would have been adequate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant called "Made in Puerto Rico" is about 10 min walk away and was very authentic food as well as some spontaneous live music and quirky waitress outfits (housecoats and curlers?!?).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DDM Diva
Business
Freehold
Apr 29, 2013

Awesome Staff

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were met by their wonderful staff. From the baggage people at the front door , the check in staff, the restaurant wait staff, the beach staff, maid, room service... etc.. They are warm and gentile people. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fran49
Business
Southbury,CT
Apr 19, 2013

Excellent locale

This hotel is in need of serious upgrades. The bathrooms were old and very unappealing. The maid service was nonexistent. We had to ask for cleaning services and towels. At 3:00 pm room was not touched. This also applied to my daughter's adjoining room. This was the first time in 30 years that I have not left a gratuity to the maid for services. On the plus side, all other staff were fantastic. We were treated well, and they could not do enough to accommodate our needs. The restraunts and amenities were very good. Had the rooms been at the level of the rest of the services I would have rated this experience at 4 to 5 stars. I would not reccommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol Guerra
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 17, 2013

Good Location & Price

Hotel was on a very nice stretch of beach. Beach front. Very nice upscale outdoor dining area with great food. Jet skis were available outside our hotel on beach area. Very convenient. Beds were comfortable. Pool area was nice and clean. Sala band was nice bonus on Fri, Sat, Sun. at hotel. Drink service & snacks available for purchase off the beach & pool area. Pool has swim up bar. Not walking distance to San Juan but bus route takes you to San Juan a few blocks from hotel. Most tours offer transportation from this hotel. Defintely go to Old San Juan & Rainforest! 5 min from Airport and a short taxi ride of $12 + $1 per luggage per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens nearby for snacks and drinks walking distance. Cheaper option so you can keep in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top