$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
361 reviews
Best Family Trip

Beautiful!!! Would stay again... Only issue I had was when I booked online, I entered all of my... See full review

  • The Motta Family
  • Jan 7, 2015
Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I... See full review

  • Ms. Puerto Rico
  • Dec 29, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (361)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
361 out of 361
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashlee P.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Great trip

My best friend & I went on vacation to P.R. We had a blast. The hotel was very nice and cozy. The food (excluding the breakfast) was not though. All the staff was very friendly but ran pretty slow in the outside area. The beach was great! We spent a lot of time there. The pool was very warm but didn't get much sun due to all of the Palm trees surrounding it. We got exceptional tans on the beach. Drinks were over-priced along with the food. We ate and drank off the resort mostly. The airplanes were pretty loud,only while we were on our balcony though. All In all our trip was great and we would go again. Weather was perfect and that was our main objective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a bunch of small restaurants about a mile to the left of the hotel. The food down there was delicious. Mostly fried but all authentic Puerto Rican food. I highly recommend checking it out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katherine J.
Business
MECHANICSVILLE
Jan 17, 2015

Great R&R

This trip was very relaxing except they were doing construction on the upper floors of the Resort and it made it hard to take a nap the one day I wanted one. Overall nice place and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aniket N.
Business
Sunnyvale
Jan 8, 2015

Interior subpar, great beach hammocks though

We were at the hotel for 6 nights. Overall, it was an mixed bag. The hotel room was sub-par and the bed was uncomfortable. On one of the nights, we were woken up by a fire alarm at 1 am followed by an announcement, that it was a mistake. A couple of days in,we had almost made up our mind to move to a different hotel, however, we liked the beach adjoining the hotel with the hammocks and lounge setup and ended up staying the entire duration. All-together the rooms are not too good, however the beach right outside with the relaxing hammocks and the lounge/outdoor restaurant sort made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Motta Family
Business
Rowlett
Jan 7, 2015

Best Family Trip

Beautiful!!! Would stay again... Only issue I had was when I booked online, I entered all of my kids ages. And when we checked out of the hotel, they gave us a bill for my 13 year old and 17 year old. I was told they are considered adults and had to be charged in the room as adults. I informed them this is something they should consider putting in the description of their hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorraine G.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

great beach vacation

The hotel was a good value. Clean, attractive, staff was very friendly. Pool was very nice and you walked right out the back to the beach. My only complaint was very slow service. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived at 4 pm. We went to sit on the deck and have a drink. It took 30 minutes to get served. The entire weekend was like that. We waited 20 minutes to be seated for our meal on New Year's Eve with a reservation. If you can be patient, the rest of your stay will be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Puerto Rico
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I didn't have to ask for anything, they anticipated my every need. I was a bit apprehensive at first about even staying in Puerto Rico let alone isla verde courtyard Marriott because I thought it would be a language barrier. But almost everyone was well versed in English and those who weren't ,still went above and beyond by gesturing or finding someone to help.I never felt like I was bothering or interrupting. Very clean hotel and warm caring staff kudos guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you like to party,there is a great club called Club Brava.The cover charge is only $20.00. The drinks are affordable and the crowd was grown and sexy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rahul R.
Business
Bethesda
Dec 23, 2014

Great location and Beach!

I loved that the hotel was right on the beach. Great location, and great bar :) Our wifi did not work for the entire stay (8 nights), and they never fixed it, despite the complaints. Overall decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Puerto Rico
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I didn't have to ask for anything, they anticipated my every need. I was a bit apprehensive at first about even staying in Puerto Rico let alone isla verde courtyard Marriott because I thought it would be a language barrier. But almost everyone was well versed in English and those who weren't ,still went above and beyond by gesturing or finding someone to help.I never felt like I was bothering or interrupting. Very clean hotel and warm caring staff kudos guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you like to party,there is a great club called Club Brava.The cover charge is only $20.00. The drinks are affordable and the crowd was grown and sexy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rahul R.
Business
Bethesda
Dec 22, 2014

Great location and Beach!

I loved that the hotel was right on the beach. Great location, and great bar :) Our wifi did not work for the entire stay (8 nights), and they never fixed it, despite the complaints. Overall decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asworsky
Business
san juan
Dec 1, 2014

Upgrade was decent

This hotel isn't near much. Few restaurant and it is on the beach which was the draw for us but if you want to go anywhere it is a $20 taxi from the hotel one way. That added a extra $40 onto any day excursion or dinner we went too. We originally were in a regular room with a king bed and it was not a place I wanted to sleep in for a week. We ended up talking to the staff who were extremely nice and did find a suite we could upgrade too. Because the other room was so musty and cramped and it was our honeymoon we paid the extra $60 a night onto what we already paid for the upgraded room that had a little more space and a balcony. It was on the remodeled part so it was new BUT the construction going on was heard first thing in the morning and went all day. We took noise over dirty. The food was over priced and at best decent, the room we ended with was wonderful but we very much paid for it and had construction noise. The staff was wonderful and the beach was very nice. The few restaurants in walking distance were ok, Platos was a amazing restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top