$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Coqui Inn

1 star
36 Calle Mar Mediterraneo, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
44 reviews
Economical Funkiness!

I've stayed many times over the years and find myself loving the ambiance and relaxed atmosphere... See full review

  • Papi1
  • Oct 18, 2014
EXCELLENTE!!!

Just Wonderful from the Staff, location etc!! I love this hotel its like comfort food warm,... See full review

  • Aduke
  • Jan 24, 2012
No-frills, budget Carolina hotel with three pools near Isla Verde

The independently owned Coqui Inn has three large pools and is located on a busy tourist stretch in Isla Verde. That means the beach, world-famous shops, restaurants and casinos are a short walk away. The Coqui Inn is named for the song of Puerto Rico's most famous frog. The no-frills, budget hotel advertises its personality with huge, bright murals of the island's natural world on its exterior walls. A maze of paths links the hotel's three pools. There are cozy outdoor lounges in the courtyards and deck chairs surround the pools.

Highlights
  • Short walk to picturesque Isla Verde Beach, shopping and restaurants
  • Three large swimming pools
  • Two on-site restaurants
  • Family-friendly and budget-conscious
Rooms

The rooms at Coqui Inn are accessible via exterior corridors and offer either pool or street views. They all have either twin or double beds, air conditioning, private bathrooms with showers and free high-speed Wi-Fi access. Each room strays from the generic with features such as wrought iron and wood, teal-tiled headboards and tasteful touches of Caribbean-themed artwork. All of the rooms are non-smoking.

Features

On-site parking is complimentary. There is a game room located near the lobby. There are public computers with Internet access available. This hotel allows pets for an additional charge (call for details).

Dining

The Coqui Inn has two restaurants, a coffee shop and a poolside bar and lounge that is known for its garlic-style chicken mofongo, a local dish. Nikko Bar and Sushi offers a pan-Asian menu.

Recreation

There are three large pools for frolicking. Take a short walk over a pedestrian bridge to Isla Verde Beach.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (2.5 mi/4.3 km)
  • Condado District (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6 mi/9.7 km)
Business
  • Space available for small  business meetings
  • High-speed Internet access in all public areas

Hotel Map

18.4433 -66.0293
Area served
Villamar - Isla Verde.
Nearby airports
San Juan Airport.
Area description
Coqui Inn is just a few minutes by taxi from San Juan's airport - we're right across from Isla Verde Avenue which has resort hotels, restaurants, boutiques, 24-hour convenience stores, nightlife, casinos and Isla Verde's world-famous 'blue flag' beach. Everything you need is just a few blocks away.)We're across the highway from Isla Verde Avenue & Isla Verde's fantastic beach - instead of right on the beach like the more expensive neighbors. To get to the beach and resort area, you have to use the pedestrian bridge just in front of our hotel. It's just a short walk - but in exchange, you'll save money on every night of your stay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coqui Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Coqui Inn Rooms

Standard
One of the best budget hotel values in San Juan! Standard rooms are on the first or second floor. Please advise the hotel at the time of booking if you prefer a room on the first floor. Standard rooms have two double beds, private bath with shower, mini-fridge, color cable TV, air conditioning, daily maid service, free wi-fi. 3 pools on property, 2 restaurants and bar opening soon, and a short walk to Isla Verde Beach - a Blue Flag certified beach - a favorite for tourists and residents alike - just two blocks from Coqui Inn.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Room service
Services
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 5.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 5.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48 mi

Dining

Nikko Sushi Bar and Pan Asian Restaurant
Nikko is located on the main road behind Coqui Inn, but has a direct entrance from the west section of Coqui Inn - near the west pool and Laundromat. You can even order from your room and have them deliver! Lunch Combos (11am - 3pm). Also featuring Pan-Asian specialties - Sushi Bar, Appetizers, Soup, Dishes From the Land, Chef's Specialties, Seafood, Rice & Noodles. Open Daily from 11am-11pm (closed 3pm - 5pm Monday - Friday).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Coqui Inn

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
3
Value:
2.6

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aduke
Business
Cambridge, MA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

EXCELLENTE!!!

Just Wonderful from the Staff, location etc!! I love this hotel its like comfort food warm, friendly, affordable i will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mercurio
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Average and comfy for the money.

Good one night stay if traveling and going to airport. Could be a tiny bit cleaner. No towel mat! Close to airport. Be careful of cab drivers they like to jack up their price. Should be 10-12 dollars hotel to airport!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naomi886
Business
Gainesville, FL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Don't stay here

The room is nasty and the light is too dim. The internet never worked and the water pressure was not stable. There is no closet, frig, coffee maker, and table in the room and no shampoo in the bathroom. They didn't clean the room during the entire stay. The pillows had smell and the sheet was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DreamCat
Business
Kaneohe, HI, USA
Dec 8, 2011

It was all that we needed

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit run down, but they were clean and we felt safe. Our family only gets a hotel for a place to shower, sleep and feel safe, we don't need anything fancy, so it was perfect for what we were looking for. It is fairly close to the airport, so the taxi was very cheap. It is also within walking distance to a grocery store where we bought our breakfast, a beach where we ate our breakfast, many restaurants where we ate our lunches and dinner and at least 2 car rental places. We loved the outdoor atmosphere of the hotel and listening to the coqui frogs as well fell asleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan
Jul 10, 2011

Very cozy, close to everything, safe

i enjoyed everthing the arcade two pools everything, short walk to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a place in the hotel with fried icecream it is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 9, 2011

Quick Stay Between Flights

One of the lower end hotels I've stayed in, even back in college. The room was actually clean, but the sheets on one bed were ink stained and torn. There were mosquitoes in the room, but no evidence of other pests. The hotel does have a run down and well used feel to it, but it did appear clean. The air conditioning was loud and the only adjustment was on/off. The staff was friendly and helpful, but again, it is not a high end hotel. It was an "experience" for my young boys. I would only stay there again for the same reason we stayed: a short night, close to the airport between connecting flights. For this purpose it was satisfactory. We felt safe, close to the airport, close to "food" and were able to get a hot shower before jumping back on a plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger King just over pedestrian bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Putnam Valley, NY
Mar 12, 2011

A Highly Recommended Inn

My trip to the island was in order to see my wife and daughter both of whom now live in Puerto Rico. Ordinarily, I stay with my wife (!) but on this trip, they stayed with me! My four year old loved the pool and the hotel amenities, though slight were more than adequate since restaurants, beaches and all of the other diversions the island is famous for are within walking distance of the inn. Villamar is a lovely neighborhood and the proximity to the airport made the transfers quick and inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Resposteria Espana" serves up a great breakfast each morning and the stroll down Avenida Isla Verde is beautiful anytime of the day or evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach,SC
Feb 12, 2011

Never Again

[...] The room was disgustingly small and had mold on the ceiling. Very noisy AC. Did not get any sleep. one small dbl bed and 2 small bath towels. Should have slept in the car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grandma113
Business
Tobyhanna, PA
Nov 17, 2010

Reasonable budget getaway

The Coqui Inn was a reasonable getaway, however, the Inn needs some room remodeling. They should have phones in the room and staff to help out with the luggage. The laundry area should be bigger and room service should be done automatically without it being requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car to move around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coqui Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
May 1, 2010

customers satisfaction

when we arrived at Coqui Inn we thought hold on here is this it. we registered and got our room. The staff showed us the room and we couldnt believe it the room was small and the sink was falling off the shower was dirty and the door only had one regular lock on the first floor outside, the stove also was to close to the bed. So we decided to call [...] to ask to be changed to another hotel but had to wait till morning, so we went to the front desk and ask for our room to be changed. Before we got settled we changed our room two more times the last time was better, things worked the remote had batteries the shower worked also. Overall the trip was nice. We will be going back to PR but maybe we will try another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check all rooms before welcoming guess make sure all appliances work. picures of this hotel isnt correct

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top