$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

4 stars
View map of 752 Fernandez Juncos Ave., San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truly unruly
Business
NYC, NY
Apr 7, 2013

I'm coming back and I'm sending others to stay @ Ciqala!

I would recommend this hotel to ALL of my friends and even my enemies. Lol. Ciqala is awesome; from the staff, to the room to the amenities, to my special request upon arrival. Let me start off by praising how helpful everyone was before I even arrive to the hotel (Lola!) from directions,helpful tips regarding a cab verses a rental and even great locations/ sites to check out during my visit to PR. We took a red eye to PR and had no issues checking in late. Upon arrival I was greeted by the friendly, Daniel at front desk. He had assured me that my special request were fulfilled for my romantic surprise in my suite. To my amazement, the pictures didnt do enough JUSTICE to how awesome Ciqala is. Complimentary Breakfast was amazingly prepared and felt like love was made with it. Long story short, Lola is amazing!<~All the best with the new baby!Thanks for the warm welcome, Daniel and the rest of the staff was just overall terrific. IM COMING BACK!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Señor Frog! AND LA Playeta!! <~Beach bar Ask the front desk for just about any tips to great locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hipdeep in snow from Wis.
Business
Menomonie, WI
Apr 4, 2013

Excellent Value

Once you find the hotel you are in great shape to explore the island. RENT A CAR as you will be located in a quite area of downtown San Juan. Hotel features a parking garage so no one fiddles with you rent a car. (garage is tight so rent a compact car) You are about 6 blocks from the major access points to go any direction. Front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating and will help you find your way around. Service and problems are solved very fast; within minutes which is rare in the Caribbean. Spent most of the time away from the central city. Leave before 8:00 to avoid rush hour. Get a good road map because roads and points of interest poorly marked on the island. Hotel does not have pool but you have access to beach if you make arrangements a day ahead. Free breakfast and 2 dinners each weak make this as close to an all inclusive with out paying the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart is a short drive away if you want to buy food and snacks and take advantage of the kitchen in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnfrom TC
Business
Traverse City, MI
Apr 1, 2013

A good choice for our large family

We stayed at Ciqala on the nights before and after our cruise. It was very conveniently located. The apartment we rented was a presidential suite. It was a 3 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. We really enjoyed the full breakfast that was complimentary in the am. It included made to order omelettes. The hotel is not on a beach and does not have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icky21
Business
United kingdom
Mar 2, 2013

Night b4 cruise

I always check the reviews b4 I book anything, this hotel had good ones so I decided to give it a go and was very pleased with my choice, the staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious, free wifi, b'fast in the morning, supermarket nearby, only one downside, no swimming pool but wud stay here again and will recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shary
Business
Arecibo
Jan 18, 2013

The best birthday I had

I loved my stay!!!! The best service, i wish this to be my apartment!!!! it was fully equipped!!! Thanks!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmartjohn
Business
Bowie, Maryland
Oct 9, 2012

Great Suite!

Our party was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to a spacious suite that was above our expectations. We stayed in a lovely, two bedroom suite, with two full baths, a spacious living/dining area, and a fully-supplied kitchen(dishes, utensils, basic cookware). We learned to take the city bus to Old San Juan for 50 cent each way. They also serve made-to-order breakfast every day. That saved us a lot of money! Very pleased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thhanna
Business
fredericksburg, va
Sep 27, 2012

Wedding planning success

The hotel was great except for the location. It was not really feasible to walk to restaurants because of the location. But security was great and I felt safe within the hotel. Also worth noting is the complimentary shuttle to the beach. GREAT! Breakfast in the morning = superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to wherever you need to go. It's not too bad once you get a feel for the Puerto Rican driving experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MATTANDHELEN
Business
San Juan-Miramar
Sep 18, 2012

so awesome!!!

It's not a cookie cutter mainline brand hotel and it's not a B&B with cute, but it's way better than either. Ultra high end fixtures and room is like an apartment or condo in size. Stayed in the 2 bed/ 2 bath and we could have fit a half dozen adults comfortably. But it's clearly not strategically designed. Short story, it's like they made a modern high end condo building and turned it into a hotel. Staff very friendly but 'front desk' is literally a desk in foyer of the building. There's no lobby. Very secure but front desk guy said, if you need to open gated garage 24/7 and someone happened not to be at the desk, just use the clicker, which was on his desk. Neighborhood very middle class, not 'rough' in any sense of the word but dead quiet residential. But just down the road is a middle rise commercial/business/office district and I did see a couple walking ladies when driving at night. For Caribbean, the neighborhood is very high end but Beverly Hills it's not of course. It's a 10 minute drive to Condado (Waikiki of PR) and Old San Juan (awesome) but thanks to inexplicable PR road signs and weird layout of roads, got lost everytime. Stateside GPS most definitely did not work properly. No turn by turn on smartphone either. BEST: delicious breakfast to order from chef, secure building with free garage parking, free wifi, huge room, very cold A/C, LCD tv even in bathroom, quirky like walk in closet (!!!) and weird room layout, ultra modern high end fixtures, super high end soap/shampoo, awesome awesome value price, perfect for family, very small private hotel with never a crowd NOT SO BEST: a little drive (<10min) to beach or anywhere touristy, quirky layout, room was very very clean but not spotless-for example, flooring was marble/granite whatever stone tile and if barefoot you felt sand particles but if your rooms are huge is it really reasonable to expect corner to corner HEPA vacuuming? I was ok with it and no prob obviously if you have shoes on, no view-you're in a residential community, so outside window are other condos and ocean in the distance but the working port not the beach, kitchen and dining area are not personal in room but rather open on the 'sub-penthouse floor' like a sitting area/club area on an executive floor in a Hyatt type place, not a big deal but not private per se BOTTOM LINE: LOVED IT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmartjohn
Business
Bowie, Maryland
Aug 13, 2012

Beautiful, Roomy, Luxury Apartment

My family members and I (four women) truly loved staying at the Ciqala luxury apartments. The accommodations were truly luxurious and roomy. The apartment featured a large living room, dining room combination, a large fully-equipped kitchen, a full laundry room, complete with iron and ironing board, two large bedrooms. The master suite had a dreamy closet (I wish I had one like that in my home) and a spa tub with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall. The establishment offered complimentary made-to-order American style breakfast every day and Puerto Rican style dinners on Tuesday and Thursday. The location is in a residential area not far from the tourist area and Old San Juan. There is a bus stop just in front of the hotel and the bus goes directly to Old San Juan for .75 each way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus to Old San Juan for .75 each way. The stop is in front of Ciqala.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites - San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunny59
Business
kansas
Aug 2, 2012

Great for family get away

desk help great breakfast attndent Rick was awsom plenty room for 6 people family nice view of city very nice place to stay long terms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Beech was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top