Chateau Cervantes ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$173
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016
4.2 /5
Overall score
85%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Junior Suite
  • Size: 398 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Standard Queen
  • Size: 204 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Presidential Suite - City View
  • Size: 613 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices King Master Suite
  • Size: 419 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4

Overview

This European-style hotel is located in Old San Juan, a 5-minute walk from the historic Castillo de San Cristbal. It features an on-site restaurant and contemporary rooms with a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi and an iPod docking station are included in each guest room at Chateau Cervantes. They are decorated with artwork by Puerto Rican artist Carlos Davila. A continental breakfast is served in the mornings at this San Juan hotel. The elegant Panza Restaurant boasts a full-service bar and wine list. Situated amid the city's best restaurants and nightlife and only a few blocks from the cruise piers, the small hotel is ideal for clients who want to spend a few days in San Juan before or after their cruise, as well as anyone with a keen interest in history and architecture. It's also convenient for lawyers and others who need to be at the nearby courts or clients visiting for work with any of the myriad businesses in the area. The front desk of The Cervantes is open 24 hours a day. Bicycle rentals and shuttle services are available. Fernando Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport and the Puerto Rico Convention Center are a 10-minute drive from Chateau Cervantes. Cruise ship docks 1, 2, 3 and 4 are each a 3-minute walk away. The hotel also offers free breakfast to its guest.

Dining

Panza Restaurant
Winner of the Coveted Silver Fork Award "Panza's creative International Cuisine, attentive and friendly service is an elegant ambiance"

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.7 / 5
$149
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$199

Hotel Milano

★★★
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$113
Guest score 3.2 / 5
$125
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$319
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$149

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Elevators

Services

  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Conference facilities
  • Doctor on call

Internet

  • Free internet

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
  • Wheel chair access
  • Service animals allowed
  • Wheelchair accessible elevators

Reviews

4.2 /5 Overall score

85% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.8/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.5/5
  • Comfort: 4.2/5
  • Location: 4.5/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

Perfect for cruise layover

Would recommend Fri, May 22, 2015
A true charmer of a hotel. Perfect location in Old San Juan. The review requires a comment on Internet, but I did not use it, so it may be better a worse than the 3. Also, don't look for a gym, but the sheer charm of the place, its location, the fine breakfast, over compensates. A wonderful view of street life from the balcony, a perfect spot for wine or breakfast.

| Calabasas Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location, wonderful staff...but hotel has seen better days

Would recommend Mon, Jul 7, 2014
We came to Hotel Cervantes as the first night of our honeymoon before departing on a cruise. We wanted a hotel near to the cruise terminal and reasonably priced, and the Cervantes seemed like the perfect fit. In terms of location, you can't get much better than this. Located blocks from the cruise terminal and steps from the free trolley in Old San Juan, we were delighted at how easy it was to explore the sights easily from our hotel. We were also very happy with the staff, who were helpful, friendly and even decorated our room especially for our honeymoon. The included breakfast was also a plus, as was the fact that they were happy to watch our bags after check out until our check in time for the cruise for no additional fee. Our dissapointment was in the upkeep of the room and parts of the hotel. The room clearly had been cleaned, but a moldy guest book in the drawer and a musty smell despite the plug in freshener hinted at the underlying issues. The comforter was clearly wearing as well. The bathroom did seem to be fairly clean. There was also a smell of gasoline lingering in the elevator that was a bit troubling. For those who are light sleepers, the noise from the loading and unloading of the dumpsters in the rear of the building might be a concern. All in all, we felt that the staff was doing a lot to make the most of a hotel that has seen better days.

Attractions

The free trolleys to Old San Juan attractions and parks departs just steps from the hotel's front door. You're also blocks away from nice dining, shopping and the cruise terminals.

| Manheim, Pennsylvania Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

The Staff is Wonderful

Would recommend Tue, Apr 29, 2014
We were very well cared for from the moment we arrived. Tiffany handled our check-in easily and took us up to our room, which was very nice with a sweet balcony and comfortable bed. The morning was greeted by Jennifer in the lobby/breakfast area, serving coffee and juice and providing us with a lovely continental breakfast. The service at breakfast was always quick and friendly (we were there 5 days). Michelle and Anna were both very helpful with directions or whatever we asked. Everyone (let us not forget Joann, who we met later in our stay)was very cheerful and helpful. One evening, we asked whether it would be ok (since they did not have a liquor license) to bring our wine into the lobby while we were sitting there checking email and writing cards. When we came downstairs, Anna had provided wine goblets, a bucket of ice, and even a corkscrew on a tray covered with a napkin (very exquisite)! We felt SO pampered! This hotel made us feel like family. We cannot forget how cheerful and friendly everyone was. It is clean and easy to get to and in a very nice area of Viejo (Old) San Juan. We highly recommend it and are happy to have been their guests.

Dining

The little cafe just west of the hotel had the very best rice and beans! Another cafe two doors up had very good appetizers; we made a meal of pastalios with fish, tostones, rice and beans...

| near San Antonio, Texas Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Adaquate room - great breakfast

Would not recommend Sat, Mar 29, 2014
The room was small but clean. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good. It was difficult to find. Key left with the night security man as the desk was closed when we got there (midnight). It was near the Sheraton which had comparably priced rooms and a pool. I got hit with a $25 charge that I wasn't expecting.

| San Juan Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

good location

Would recommend Mon, Feb 10, 2014
Very friendly staff, unfortunately restaurant and bar were not open Room was very huge, but no view whatsoever Location of hotel is great for shopping, eating and browsing in Old San Juan

Dining

Triana restaurant

| Largo, Fl Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

A home away from home

Would recommend Sun, Feb 9, 2014
Had the best customer service of any hotel I've ever been at. Staff not only served our needs with a smile but with efficiency and a genuine personal touch. Loved it. You need to change the nickname section. I finally just made up a crazy name to finish this thing.

Money saver

Bus station two blocks away, free trolley right outside the hotel door, taxi right down the street - so easy and inexpensive to get around. Also parking lot across the street is $4/night 6 pm to 6 am.

| Detroit MI Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great stay

Would recommend Wed, Jan 29, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Chateau Cervantes. The elegant room for the price was great; the staff were very helpful in addressing our requests, offering advice, etc. The continental breakfast was generous. The A/C was out in the lobby and breakfast area when we were there--I am sure that it will be fixed. And, while the room overlooked a side street, there was some street noise on Monday morning.

Dining

Trois Cent Onze Restaurant at 311 Fortaleza St was fabulous and French.

| Chevy Chase MD Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

HOTEL IS CLOSED

Would not recommend Wed, Jan 15, 2014
When we arrived to check in 4 January, 2014, there was no power at the hotel. The clerk helped us get a room at another hotel and told us they would refund our money to our credit card. When we to San Juan from our 7 day cruise 12 January, the hotel was completely closed. Our money has not been refunded.

| Ohio Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great location for fun lovers.

Would recommend Tue, Aug 20, 2013
If you like variety of foods, drinks, shopping, and entertainment, this is the perfect location. The staff is very accommodating, and friendly.

| scarsdale,ny Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Room & Location

Would recommend Tue, Aug 20, 2013
The hotel manager was excellent! He went above and beyond to get information for me about a personal taxi driver he knew, who would get me to the places that he suggested, to have a great stay in Puerto Rico. I would definitely stay there again on my future visits. Paula Angelle Katy, Texas

Nightlife hint

He gave me great tips on the nightlife that I was interested in.

| Katy, TX Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Fortaleza Street 0.2 mi
Castillo San Felipe del Morro 0.2 mi
Port of San Juan 0.3 mi
Castillo de San Cristobal 0.3 mi
Plaza de Armas 0.3 mi
Parque de las Palomas 0.4 mi
Calle del Cristo 0.4 mi
Museo del Nino 0.4 mi
Bacardi Rum Factory 0.4 mi
Paseo de la Princesa 0.4 mi
La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina 0.4 mi
El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan) 0.4 mi
Puerto Rico Convention Center 1.4 mi
Fine Arts Cinema 1.9 mi
San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan) 2.3 mi
San Juan Gate 2.5 mi
Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico 2.7 mi
Museo de Las Americas 2.8 mi
Bellas Artes 3 mi
Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico 3.1 mi
Ocean Park 4.2 mi
Jardin Botanico 5.8 mi
Arecibo Observatory 42.8 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$173
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016