$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Casa Condado Hotel

3 stars
60 Condado Avenue, Condado, Santurce, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
109 reviews
Really good hotel

IT was really a good hotel , had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would... See full review

  • evanctinthisorn
  • May 1, 2014
Nice Vacation

It was very close to the beach and in a prime location to good local food selling restaurants as... See full review

  • JayCloudKicks
  • Jul 22, 2013
Cozy San Juan hotel with second-story terrace near Condado Beach

The minimalist Casa Condado Hotel features fun accents in common spaces, such as faux animal skin rugs in the laid-back lounge. Guests can enjoy the warm Caribbean breezes during the day in a couch on the second-story terrace. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a bright, welcoming dining area. Each cozy room has its own distinct style. One of San Juan's best beaches is nearby. Guests can access free Wi-Fi in the common areas. The three-level hotel has no elevator.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Condado Beach is nearby
  • Located in the lively Condado district
Rooms

The Casa Condado Hotel is a three-level walk-up with interior stairways. Each of the 24 minimalist rooms at Casa Condado Hotel has its own character. Some have accents such as a black headboard, a white leather bench, a cherry side table or an onyx vase. Other rooms have a splash of color via a bedspread or miniature potted plant. Each room has a shower and either a city view or a balcony overlooking the bay. Other amenities include high-definition cable-equipped LCD TV, complimentary wireless Internet and a 24-hour concierge.

Features

The Good Four Seasons Restaurant is located on the ground level of the Casa Condado. The restaurant serves contemporary Asian dishes and has an extensive sushi bar, including specialties such as sushi pizza. Condado Beach lies just two blocks from the hotel. Self parking is available for a fee.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)

Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access in common areas
Policies & fees
  • Any incidental charge will be paid by the guest of the hotel upon check-out.
  • No refunds for unused nights, including those resulting from delayed check-in or early check-out.
  • Guest must be at least 18 years of age at time of check-in.
  • Must present valid photo ID at check-in.
  • Must present valid credit card (not debit) at check-in for incidentals.
  • No-shows will be charged a one-night penalty.
  • Guest departing prior to their scheduled departure date may be subject to an early departure fee.
  • Cancellations made after check-in are subject to 100 percent charge.
  • No smoking allowed in any part of hotel.
  • Bed types and in-room amenities are subject to hotel availability.
  • Maximum capacity of guest in room is two.
  • One child under 18 stays free when using existing bedding.
  • There is no room for extra beds/cots in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4549 -66.0726
Area served
Condado, San Juan, Carolina, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Old San Juan, Guaynabo and Bayamon.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Muoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
San Juan Isla Grande Airport (SIG).
Area description
Condado area is an exciting beach destination where everything happens. Casa Condado Hotel is perfectly located in this bustling neighborhood allowing you to partake in the action or simply remain and rest in your quiet guest room.
Condado has become the perfect refuge for a demanding youthful clientele that seeks both leisure and luxury in a festive ambiance.
Beach just one block away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Condado Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Casa Condado Hotel Rooms

Superior
Superior room with one queen bed and one full bathroom, A/C, High definition Cable TV, LCD TV, high speed Internet, complimentary wireless in rooms and common areas, smoke detectors, safety box, extremely clean and excellently maintained.
Standard
Standard Room with one queen bed and one full bathroom, A/C, High definition Cable TV, LCD TV, high speed Internet, complimentary wireless in rooms and common areas, smoke detectors, safety box, extremely clean and excellently maintained.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Condado Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mayaguez, PR
May 18, 2010

Quite a Disappointment

I decided to book this hotel because the picture of the room looked nice and cozy, they served a continental breakfast and it was at a good price.  BIG MISTAKE!!  My first upset was the fact that I was on the third floor and there was no elevator.  Once I got to my room and opened the door I realized just how small the room really was.  Then I had to go all the way back downstairs to the front desk to get toilet paper because there wasn't any in the room.  I was really exhausted so I decided to take a shower but when I opened the shower curtain I saw HAIR on the wall.  I wanted to get some ice but since there were no ice machines I had to go downstairs, AGAIN, and ask for some ice at the front desk.  Definately first and last stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
CA
Oct 14, 2010

Worst Hotel

We called this hotel before making the reservation and they assured us that they would have parking available. When we arrived, not only was there only a couple pf spots available, but the spots were so small, that no car could fit in to them. At night, the parking lot turns into valet parking for a sushi restaurant so there is nothing available to the guests at the hotel. The staff would not accomodate and was very rude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
IL
Jan 24, 2010

This is a HOSTEL, NOT a HOTEL!

First, hotels are rarely perfect and Casa Condado was certainly not perfect. I was extremely disappointed. The minuses way outweighed the pluses and I've listed them below. PROS: - Location. It is pretty centrally located in the neighbourhood of Condado. Just two blocks away from Condado beach, it is very convenient for vacationers. - Free continental breakfast. It is nice to have an option for free breakfast consisting of breads, pastries, juices and good coffee. - Restaurant. The Asian restaurant in the building serves pretty decent food although the service there can be rather curt. - Parking is usually available at a small back lot. CONS: - Misnomer. Casa Condado is a HOSTEL, NOT a HOTEL! Even their website acknowledged that they are a "hostelry" and if I had known it was a HOSTEL and NOT a HOTEL, I would either have had different expectations or have booked a different accomodation, and would probably have not been as disappointed as I am. Being a HOSTEL means that there are minimum frills. - Service. Although the front-desk staff are friendly enough, they are often ineffective and very inefficient. They know very little about the attractions around Puerto Rico and was not very helpful with directions. One of the front-desk staff almost misdirected us to another town when we asked for directions to the caves of Camuy. The staff can also be extremely inefficient. When I asked for extra pillows, it took them an hour to get back to me. They try, but they are just not very good. - Common area. Although a terrace-like area with chairs and tables is a nice idea, the area itself isn't well-maintained. And the fact that there's no roof or tent over the terrace meant that we couldn't use it or hang out there when it rained. And after the rain, the area wasn't dried for guest use. - Building design. The design is rather simple and would be allright if it didn't rain that much. However, during rain, it works terribly. The hallway on the second floor is open to the common area/terrace and during heavy rain, the floor gets very very wet and is very dangerous to walk on. And, everyone needs to walk in this area to either get to the lobby to go out or to get to their room. The fact that this area is open to the elements and not dried immediately after a rain is very dangerous and badly-designed! - Lack of daily cleaning. Apparently, daily cleaning of the guest rooms is not standard; you have to hang the "Please clean room" sign on the door handle. When they do clean the room, they do not supply clean, fresh towels even though we placed the dirty ones on the bathroom floor. They also do not mop the wood floor in the room every day. -Noise level. The walls are extremely thin. Also, there were renovation workers present in the mornings outside our room in the morning and we could hear their loud conversations. The air-conditioner is also very noisy and goes on and off throughout the night, thus my sleep wasn't very restful. - Lack of generator. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue but during my stay, on one of the days, the electricity was cut off at around 9 am due to storms on the previous days. Most other buildings in the same block as Casa Condado hotel had their electricity back on a few hours later while our hotel didn't. Why? Because Casa Condado hotel does not have their own generator in case of black-outs despite being a public place that houses guests who pay money to stay there. It was rainy and we were planning to take it easy in our room for most of the day but we couldn't due to the lack of electricity. The electricity (fortunately) came back on before bedtime and we did not have to shower/brush our teeth in the dark and sleep in the searing humid heat. On our way out to dinner, the staff happily informed us that they had sufficient flashlights for each room so we didn't have to make our way to/around the room in pitch blackness in case the electricity is not back on when we return! In conclusion, I completely disagree ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mayaguez, PR
May 18, 2010

Quite a Disappointment

I decided to book this hotel because the picture of the room looked nice and cozy, they served a continental breakfast and it was at a good price.  BIG MISTAKE!!  My first upset was the fact that I was on the third floor and there was no elevator.  Once I got to my room and opened the door I realized just how small the room really was.  Then I had to go all the way back downstairs to the front desk to get toilet paper because there wasn't any in the room.  I was really exhausted so I decided to take a shower but when I opened the shower curtain I saw HAIR on the wall.  I wanted to get some ice but since there were no ice machines I had to go downstairs, AGAIN, and ask for some ice at the front desk.  Definately first and last stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St.John's, Antigua.
Dec 5, 2010

Nightmare Alley Hotel

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. The room was hot, room access was by stairs only, there were no amenities in the room, no cooler, microwave, coffee maker, nothing! and worse the two female receptionists that we encountered, were clearly untrained, impolite, uncivil and probably predudiced. They made up rules after the fact, and tried to shake us down for made up parking fees, after having rudely insisting that we not park in their facility, because parking was reserved for restaurant patrons. Well what were we?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Easy to Please. Where are the Standards
North Carolina
Nov 11, 2010

"Never Again"

flight lay over. water and common consideration to notify consumer of problems at hotel before checking in. no comparsion, worst consumer service every experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

going to the beach to get away from the hotel provided temporay relief.

Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arly
USA
Jan 10, 2013

Casa Condado

It was okay. I was not happy with the bathroom as the floor in the bath seem to be dirty. They say the paint had not dried and therefore created these black streaks. In addition, the water pressure in the shower was very low. The rest of hotel was okay. The 2 young men that worked as greeters in the front desk were awesome, as well as Noel who was my cleaning maid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach is 2 blocks away, and what a beautiful beach it is!!!

Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L.C.H
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Not clean!

The only good thing is very good location and patio area for breakfast but thats it. Bed had hair everywhere, and the next 2 nights they reused the same sheets. Im pretty sure that bed had bed bugs! The a/c only hits the person who is sleeping on that side and its either wayy to cold or way to hot. And I still cant believe how unclean the sink/bed sheets/shower was. Trust me pay the $40 extra and go to a chain hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St.John's, Antigua.
Dec 5, 2010

Nightmare Alley Hotel

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. The room was hot, room access was by stairs only, there were no amenities in the room, no cooler, microwave, coffee maker, nothing! and worse the two female receptionists that we encountered, were clearly untrained, impolite, uncivil and probably predudiced. They made up rules after the fact, and tried to shake us down for made up parking fees, after having rudely insisting that we not park in their facility, because parking was reserved for restaurant patrons. Well what were we?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
IL
Jan 24, 2010

This is a HOSTEL, NOT a HOTEL!

First, hotels are rarely perfect and Casa Condado was certainly not perfect. I was extremely disappointed. The minuses way outweighed the pluses and I've listed them below. PROS: - Location. It is pretty centrally located in the neighbourhood of Condado. Just two blocks away from Condado beach, it is very convenient for vacationers. - Free continental breakfast. It is nice to have an option for free breakfast consisting of breads, pastries, juices and good coffee. - Restaurant. The Asian restaurant in the building serves pretty decent food although the service there can be rather curt. - Parking is usually available at a small back lot. CONS: - Misnomer. Casa Condado is a HOSTEL, NOT a HOTEL! Even their website acknowledged that they are a "hostelry" and if I had known it was a HOSTEL and NOT a HOTEL, I would either have had different expectations or have booked a different accomodation, and would probably have not been as disappointed as I am. Being a HOSTEL means that there are minimum frills. - Service. Although the front-desk staff are friendly enough, they are often ineffective and very inefficient. They know very little about the attractions around Puerto Rico and was not very helpful with directions. One of the front-desk staff almost misdirected us to another town when we asked for directions to the caves of Camuy. The staff can also be extremely inefficient. When I asked for extra pillows, it took them an hour to get back to me. They try, but they are just not very good. - Common area. Although a terrace-like area with chairs and tables is a nice idea, the area itself isn't well-maintained. And the fact that there's no roof or tent over the terrace meant that we couldn't use it or hang out there when it rained. And after the rain, the area wasn't dried for guest use. - Building design. The design is rather simple and would be allright if it didn't rain that much. However, during rain, it works terribly. The hallway on the second floor is open to the common area/terrace and during heavy rain, the floor gets very very wet and is very dangerous to walk on. And, everyone needs to walk in this area to either get to the lobby to go out or to get to their room. The fact that this area is open to the elements and not dried immediately after a rain is very dangerous and badly-designed! - Lack of daily cleaning. Apparently, daily cleaning of the guest rooms is not standard; you have to hang the "Please clean room" sign on the door handle. When they do clean the room, they do not supply clean, fresh towels even though we placed the dirty ones on the bathroom floor. They also do not mop the wood floor in the room every day. -Noise level. The walls are extremely thin. Also, there were renovation workers present in the mornings outside our room in the morning and we could hear their loud conversations. The air-conditioner is also very noisy and goes on and off throughout the night, thus my sleep wasn't very restful. - Lack of generator. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue but during my stay, on one of the days, the electricity was cut off at around 9 am due to storms on the previous days. Most other buildings in the same block as Casa Condado hotel had their electricity back on a few hours later while our hotel didn't. Why? Because Casa Condado hotel does not have their own generator in case of black-outs despite being a public place that houses guests who pay money to stay there. It was rainy and we were planning to take it easy in our room for most of the day but we couldn't due to the lack of electricity. The electricity (fortunately) came back on before bedtime and we did not have to shower/brush our teeth in the dark and sleep in the searing humid heat. On our way out to dinner, the staff happily informed us that they had sufficient flashlights for each room so we didn't have to make our way to/around the room in pitch blackness in case the electricity is not back on when we return! In conclusion, I completely disagree ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top