$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
126 reviews
best kept secret

this place is conveniently located in the middle of the old San Juan. Staff is very helpful and... See full review

  • POOH DIVA
  • Oct 2, 2014
Amazing, unique experience

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and wanting a unique, fun hotel. It was exactly what we were... See full review

  • Super Nurse K
  • Sep 20, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 126
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CParis
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2014

Excellent hotel

Arrived on a Friday evening, easy check in, room was great in the Old San Juan style. The people were very accommodating and the location was great. Felt very safe in the area traveling as a single woman, wish I could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pezdoll
Business
Vancouve,r Canada
May 12, 2014

Beautiful Old San Juan

I was looking for a place to stay before my cruise and couldn't be happier with my choice to stay in Old San Juan and the Casablanca Hotel in particular. Loads of character, with very personable staff, they whisked my suitcase up the stairs making the lack of elevator a non issue, and stored it after check out until I left late in the day. I highly recommend this hotel for it's character, staff, and location. For some, Old San Juan may suggest a shabbier part of town, but the beautiful, clean, cobbled stone streets and heritage architecture shouldn't be missed. Everything is in walking distance, including my cruise ship. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EricOnTheRoad
Business
New York, New York
Dec 8, 2013

Gorgeous and great value

This is a really nice hotel. Beautifully arranged, great and friendly staff, excellent value, top location in the middle of Old San Juan. Couldn't be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nuyorican cafe is within a block and open late - great for cocktails and music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
durangojack
Business
new jersey
Aug 29, 2011

SOFO Casablanca

No elevator. Not good for a long stay. Not good value for your money. Not as comfortable as a Best Western, Comfort Inn, Hampton Inn, not in same ballpark as a Sheraton. Staff was nice., but concrete floors tough to take for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything, including cruise ship pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan Mc
Business
Savannah, GA
Jul 22, 2011

Great time, Wonderful stay.

Hotel was excellent, Late check in with no poblems.Great design,comfrotable rooom,concierge was very helpful. The entertainment, night life, and places to eat were great. People were very nice. Loved San Juan cant wait to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is seconds from great history, food, and entertainment. Next time plan to stay longer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 5, 2011

SOFO Casablanca

The SOFO Casablnca was the perfect place for me to call home during the 4 days I spent in Puerto Rico. The room I stayed in was basic, but clean and comfortable. Only issue was lack of a window, but I didn't spend much time in the room other than sleeping. The rooftop deck was great, I was the only one up there the 3-4 times I went up to lay out in the sun or view the night time skyline. The Continental breakfast was good and the waitstaff was really friendly. The front desk folks were super helpful in terms of helping me plan my last minute itinerary. OVerall it was a really great place to stay, everyone was nice, and I felt safe and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would say investigate day-trip activities at least a day or two in advance to make sure you can get reservations. If you are planning adventure activities outside of the city and need transport you will need to have something booked the night before as you will get picked up around 8 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence
Apr 29, 2011

great for those who sleep easily

I was overnite to fly back to N.E. Had not tried the hotel. GREAT decor and staff. My issue was MY light sleeping. There was a party til 10p I had to listen to and then staff talking. Next morn I work to staff work. The walls are such that hearing all is an issue if you are like me. Still, if I could silence the place....it would be my best pick (and eat at Verde Mesa)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love this tiny day eatery...all veggie and organic...YET tasty! Not sure how they manage that....but awesome. Place called Verde Mesa.....very cost effective too......gotta go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casablanca chica
Business
Burlington, VT
Mar 13, 2011

Beautiful, great location, great staff!

I was very pleased with my stay at the Casablanca Hotel. Not only is the decor absolutely gorgeous, but the staff were very friendly and helpful in making my stay enjoyable. The rooftop is a nice place to be alone or get a tan, and the hotel is conveniently located right on the narrow streets of Old San Juan. At the end of the block you come face-to-face with the Plaza de Colon, some great restaurants, and across from it all, the stunning historic Castillo de San Cristobal. My only complaints - A/C in the lobby was a bit much for me, so I didn't hang around there because it was too cold. There are no elevators, so it's not a good choice if you don't like walking up several flights of stairs. The furniture in my room was a bit old and some of the drawers were hard to push in and out. Also, I found it difficult to maintain a steady temperature in the shower. Other than that, I absolutely LOVE this hotel and would DEFINITELY stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

One of the hotel staff told me the nearest beach was the Playa de Escambron, and that I'd better take the bus to get there. She said it would take 45 minutes to walk. But, I found the bus system VERY inconvenient as you can wait an hour or more at the stops, so I decided to find the beach on my own. It's so easy to find, just a straight walk from the Castillo de Colon and beautiful scenery on the way. It felt like much less than 45 minutes to me, but I didn't time it. I thought walking there was much more pleasant than taking the bus, and possibly saved time because I was moving and not waiting at the bus terminal. Also - this beach was MUCH better than Condado beach, which is in a major resort area and extremely touristy. Escambron is more of an authentic local beach, and it's still beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SOFO
Nov 11, 2010

OLD SAN JUAN

There was no water in Old San Juan. I began to feel sick. I had to end my vacation early. It cost me an extra $350.00, I did not have. Jet Blue did not want to hear about my crisis. The tiles in the room was patched with concrete. I felt that the hotel staff was not truthful about the water situation. I will not visit Puerto Rico again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

None

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lattelover55
Business
Orleans ,Ontario
Mar 18, 2010

Fairly basic !

I was very disappointed with the amenities ( or lack of ).The location was great ,right on one of the main streets in Old San Juan,easy walking distance to all of the sights and sounds of the town.It sadly lacked any space in the room I was in, I had to leave my case on the floor next to the bed and the bathroom was miniscule.Fabulous wash basin ,but completely impractical for using.I was on the fourth floor,which was okay ,except that there was no elevator,so I had to carry over 50lbs of luggage up and down the stairs ! I think the hotel would be fine if you were back-packing ,if you were staying more than one or two nights ,then you'd be going crazy falling over yourself in the room. I have to add that the lady manning the front desk ( [...] ? )was great , a lovely lady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marshalls ,a great store for bargains (of the brand label type ),similar to T.J.Maxx /Winners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top