$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
127 reviews
Great hotel!

That location it's unbeatable. We got to Explore old San Juan from head to toe within walking... See full review

  • Jpvelozg
  • Aug 9, 2014
Great place for a short stay

Loved this hotel. Very cute and trendy. Great location and very helpful staff. They will do... See full review

  • Kari7777
  • Jul 9, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1132
Area served
316 Fortaleza Street (Under Construction until Dec 15), Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, Condado, Isla Verde, Hato Rey, San Juan, Carolina, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
SJU-Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (About 9 miles); Isla Grande Airport (Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport) (about 5 miles)
Area description
Downtown Old San Juan, please see accessibility instructions on the main property description

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 127
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anadeoakland
Oakland, Ca
Jul 1, 2014

Perfect, charming

Everything about this place was perfect. Our room was very small but we weren't planning on being in our room. We only stayed one night, the hotel is charming, clean, centrally located and the staff is great. I think it's perfect for a couple of night (only because we had a smaller room). It's a boutique hotel and is what was expected space wise but the every part of the hotel is beautiful and Art Deco! I would definitely stay there again, without a doubt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renwick
Aruba
Nov 4, 2013

Fantastic for after cruise stay

Nice little hotel in the center of it all you can walk outside these doors and you are right where you wan to be in the middle ol the charm of the old city walking tru cobble stones streets, we did the bar hopping at night very convinient location next to the bars and party's . fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragon fly was amazing that Latin/Asian mix was hevenly, launch music spinning and nice decor. Go find the restroom you go tru a laberinth downstaris and all of a sudden youl find yourself in another launch bar area very nice place!!!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Tutti
delaware
Jun 26, 2013

quaint, clean and rum-tastic

The hotel embodies it's name. From the decor to the full featured film on replay. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable so trust them on their restaurant selections. As a reminder their are no elevators like in most of old San Juan, s o pack light. Recommend ...Si

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta
May 31, 2011

San Jose PR

Great location to get around San Juan. The walls are paper thin, very noisy. No elevator,had to walk up 3 flights of stairs which was gruelling after a full day of walking all over SJ. Some of the front desk guys were very helpful for dining ideas. Overall,its difficult not to have a good conceire when in a new place you have not visited. The rooms were ok, but bath was not great. The maids just left the towels in a bag on the door knob. did not clear the room. I would probably stay at another hotel next time. Thanks, for asking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

research attractions and tours before going, the front desk is not able to help with setting these up.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
milwaukee, wi
Mar 21, 2011

Hotel Casablanca , San juan

hotel was awesome , if you don't want to feel like a tourist, stay here. Morrocan feel. Great service. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conservative Midwest
Mar 21, 2011

Exotic ambience

The best feature about the hotel is its setting, right in the heart of Old San Juan, close to sites, shopping and dining. The free trolley is just half a block away. The hotel's ambiance was every bit as romantic as the pictures on the website depicts, the service staff were friendly and accomodating. We had a room on the 4th floor, all stairs, the view from the balcony was non-descript: air-conditioners and satellite dishes on the neighboring buildings' rooftops. But we're not here to enjoy views from the room, are we? Our room had ethernet connection, but no closet. The bed was lumpy and creaky, but exhausted from all the sight-seeing, we entered slumberland without a hitch. Our shower handle was missing a screw, so we had to learn, by trial and error, how to coax water of the right temperature and the right amount out the showerhead. There were no shelves in the bathroom to put our toiletries, so we had to use the top of the toilet tank and the ledge of the beautiful glass sink. We also had to ask the staff for a couple of glasses, they were accomodating, didn't I say so? There was no continental breakfast as per our confirmation, but the staff did give us coffee (free!) Would we stay at this hotel again when we visit San Juan again? Sure, there's no such thing as a perfect mate, far less a perfect hotel, so give me a good price and I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two types of prices in some shops: the house price and the price you like, which might be offered to you sometimes before you even ask, just express your interest in the object and your disinterest and shock at the price simultaneously, and watch the price negotiate itself down for you! Can't guarantee success all the time, but, hey, you're on vacation! have fun practicing!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 1, 2011

Very rustic

Stayed there the night before a cruise. Wish staff would have helped us more when we left luggage in the cab. Never retieved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping area.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 3, 2010

Great Experience!

Superb and courteous staff. Our room was simply gorgeous and quite comfortable. The unique decorative style of the hotel made for a memorable stay. The Casa Blanca is located in the heart of Old San Juan and within steps from the square, shops, restaurants, and even the old fort! Our one night stay was simply wonderful. The rooftop view is incredible. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can experience some of the best local fare as well as amazingly good italiano just around the block!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Nov 25, 2010

great stay

great stay, close to everything, and freshly squeezed juice in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Nov 19, 2010

Hotel Casablanca

We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We found this hotel almost last minute for a night before our cruise vacation and couldn't be happier with the choice. The hotel was very nicely decorated, it had a very nice Moroccan theme deco and ambiance. It was extremely conveniently located in Old San Juan and within walking distance to the cruise ship dock. It was also a great value compared to the other Old San Juan hotels. The hotel staff was great too. We arrived very early in the morning and the staff was able to accommodate and check us in ahead of the check-in time. They were also very helpful and carried our luggage to our room, because the hotel did not have an elevator. Overall, we were very happy with this boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search