$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
View map of 316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
130 reviews
great location

A really nice place and great room with a awesome location See full review

  • tito m
  • Nov 8, 2014
best kept secret

this place is conveniently located in the middle of the old San Juan. Staff is very helpful and... See full review

  • POOH DIVA
  • Oct 2, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 130
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
POOH DIVA
Business
Indiana
Oct 2, 2014

best kept secret

this place is conveniently located in the middle of the old San Juan. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about sites of interest. The décor is amazing, every room is different. the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. To top it all there were bathtubs on the roof that you can enjoy day or night. It definitely exceeded my expectations There are no elevators and this makes it not suitable for people that can not manage going up and down the stairway. I would recommend it for a couple since the setting is very romantic. kids will be bored here since they can not appreciate the beauty and historic value of this cute hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

there is no parking at the hotel but you can park in a nearby 24/7 parking that is very reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I'm Ki
Business
Chicago
Aug 4, 2014

Loved this place

The hotel's location could not have been better, it's right in the middle of everything from stores, restaurants and bars to the beach and tourist attractions. The staff was great.. The guy at the front desk, Miguel, was the nicest. The hotel was clean, safe and BEAUTIFUL. I don't know how great the food was because we missed breakfast everyday but there's a Mediterranean restaurant, Carthage Express, 2 blocks away that was great. Avoid Barrachina and Raices restaurants, they're tourist traps. There are tons of bars but they are kinda laid back and chill. Take a cab to Loiza street and there's 4 bars on one corner. They all play really good music you could dance to but don't go before midnight. The only negative things I could say is the hotel didn't have an elevator and the sheets weren't changed on a daily basis. They drive a little crazy and traffic is bad in Old San Juan. Other than that, I would definitely go back to Old San Juan and Casablanca Hotel would be my FIRST choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There aren't many "night clubs". It's mostly bars that plays music so don't expect to rage...You can get really drunk but don't expect to see a lot of drunk ppl. everyone held their liquor pretty good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anadeoakland
Business
Oakland, Ca
Jul 1, 2014

Perfect, charming

Everything about this place was perfect. Our room was very small but we weren't planning on being in our room. We only stayed one night, the hotel is charming, clean, centrally located and the staff is great. I think it's perfect for a couple of night (only because we had a smaller room). It's a boutique hotel and is what was expected space wise but the every part of the hotel is beautiful and Art Deco! I would definitely stay there again, without a doubt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renwick
Business
Aruba
Nov 4, 2013

Fantastic for after cruise stay

Nice little hotel in the center of it all you can walk outside these doors and you are right where you wan to be in the middle ol the charm of the old city walking tru cobble stones streets, we did the bar hopping at night very convinient location next to the bars and party's . fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragon fly was amazing that Latin/Asian mix was hevenly, launch music spinning and nice decor. Go find the restroom you go tru a laberinth downstaris and all of a sudden youl find yourself in another launch bar area very nice place!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Tutti
Business
delaware
Jun 26, 2013

quaint, clean and rum-tastic

The hotel embodies it's name. From the decor to the full featured film on replay. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable so trust them on their restaurant selections. As a reminder their are no elevators like in most of old San Juan, s o pack light. Recommend ...Si

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
May 31, 2011

San Jose PR

Great location to get around San Juan. The walls are paper thin, very noisy. No elevator,had to walk up 3 flights of stairs which was gruelling after a full day of walking all over SJ. Some of the front desk guys were very helpful for dining ideas. Overall,its difficult not to have a good conceire when in a new place you have not visited. The rooms were ok, but bath was not great. The maids just left the towels in a bag on the door knob. did not clear the room. I would probably stay at another hotel next time. Thanks, for asking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

research attractions and tours before going, the front desk is not able to help with setting these up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee, wi
Mar 21, 2011

Hotel Casablanca , San juan

hotel was awesome , if you don't want to feel like a tourist, stay here. Morrocan feel. Great service. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conservative Midwest
Mar 21, 2011

Exotic ambience

The best feature about the hotel is its setting, right in the heart of Old San Juan, close to sites, shopping and dining. The free trolley is just half a block away. The hotel's ambiance was every bit as romantic as the pictures on the website depicts, the service staff were friendly and accomodating. We had a room on the 4th floor, all stairs, the view from the balcony was non-descript: air-conditioners and satellite dishes on the neighboring buildings' rooftops. But we're not here to enjoy views from the room, are we? Our room had ethernet connection, but no closet. The bed was lumpy and creaky, but exhausted from all the sight-seeing, we entered slumberland without a hitch. Our shower handle was missing a screw, so we had to learn, by trial and error, how to coax water of the right temperature and the right amount out the showerhead. There were no shelves in the bathroom to put our toiletries, so we had to use the top of the toilet tank and the ledge of the beautiful glass sink. We also had to ask the staff for a couple of glasses, they were accomodating, didn't I say so? There was no continental breakfast as per our confirmation, but the staff did give us coffee (free!) Would we stay at this hotel again when we visit San Juan again? Sure, there's no such thing as a perfect mate, far less a perfect hotel, so give me a good price and I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two types of prices in some shops: the house price and the price you like, which might be offered to you sometimes before you even ask, just express your interest in the object and your disinterest and shock at the price simultaneously, and watch the price negotiate itself down for you! Can't guarantee success all the time, but, hey, you're on vacation! have fun practicing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 1, 2011

Very rustic

Stayed there the night before a cruise. Wish staff would have helped us more when we left luggage in the cab. Never retieved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 3, 2010

Great Experience!

Superb and courteous staff. Our room was simply gorgeous and quite comfortable. The unique decorative style of the hotel made for a memorable stay. The Casa Blanca is located in the heart of Old San Juan and within steps from the square, shops, restaurants, and even the old fort! Our one night stay was simply wonderful. The rooftop view is incredible. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can experience some of the best local fare as well as amazingly good italiano just around the block!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top