$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
224 reviews
Great place for a short stay

Loved this hotel. Very cute and trendy. Great location and very helpful staff. They will do... See full review

  • Kari7777
  • Jul 9, 2014
Gorgeous Boutique Hotel in Heart of Old San Juan

The hotel is beautifully designed with motifs that combine Moroccan elements and contemporary art.... See full review

  • Ethel Bourbon
  • May 16, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1132
Area served
316 Fortaleza Street (Under Construction until Dec 15), Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, Condado, Isla Verde, Hato Rey, San Juan, Carolina, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
SJU-Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (About 9 miles); Isla Grande Airport (Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport) (about 5 miles)
Area description
Downtown Old San Juan, please see accessibility instructions on the main property description

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 224
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kari7777
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2014

Great place for a short stay

Loved this hotel. Very cute and trendy. Great location and very helpful staff. They will do anything to help make your stay more comfortable. Rooms are small but great for a short stay. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgie OTP
Roswell, GA
Jun 26, 2014

Tucked Away

Enjoyed staying in Old San Juan and experiencing this old building with modern amenities. No elevator - no problem. Staff took our cruise luggage up to the 3rd floor. Enjoyed the breakfast in the morning at Casa Blanca. If you don't want cookie cutter hotels, try Casa Blanca and experience San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep your eyes open for hidden restaurants. A small skinny door may lead to wonderful local food.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall U parent
Martinsburg, WV, USA
Jan 17, 2014

The Best Family Adventure Ever!

The CasaBlanca Hotel has the distinct advantage of being located in one of the lovliest, livliest, and most beautiful areas that I have ever visited. It is a small hotel with a wonderful ambiance in keeping with the old Humphrey Bogart Casablanca movie. The rooms are small, but very interesting with Moroccan flourishes. The furniture is eclectic, but beautiful and appropriate for the hotel theme. The hot tubs on the roof overlooking the marina are wonderful beyond description. The staff is efficient and extremely helpful. Cynthia offered many suggestions on parking, restaurants, and local attractions. Juan performed our online airline check in while we visited nearby beaches and the rainforest. Visiting this hotel is the beginning of an adventure. We reserved three rooms for ourselves and our adult children, and all six of us were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. This hotel is must visit location in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A stroll along the marina during the evening is a must. Warm ocean breezes, families enjoying one another's company, fountains and statues, and massive cruise ships with gleaming reflections on the water are totally magical.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorijja
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2013

One night stay before cruise

The hotel has lots of old world charm, but also old world issues. The staff was wonderful, gracious & helpful. We were not made aware that there is no elevator, and we were initially put on the 5th floor. My m.other is 77 and with all our luggage for a week's cruise neither one of us could manage 5 floors up. We were moved to the second floor which was much better. However, for $200+ per night, I thought the room was very stark. There was no carpeting and only part of the room had flooring, the rest was bare concrete. Also, there was no hot water for the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the pier so the location was great for us. Old San Juan is fun and we enjoyed roaming the area prior to our cruise.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biotox
Phoenix, AZ, USA
May 1, 2012

Great location

Walk to everything that you need - even the cruise terminal. Friendly, helpful staff with good suggestions for places to eat etc. Lack of elevator a little troublesome (it was pointed out in advance though). Optional porter assistance with luggage would be appreciated, especially if your room is on the 4th floor and you suitcase is heavy! Overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Cultura for lunch. El Convento for dinner.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leaset
St. Augustine, FL
Feb 17, 2012

Great location in Old San Juan

The decorator did a great job bringing out the romance and mystique of the property and the location is superb. The stairs are challenging for older guests. Some of the staff were excellent, but others, not so much. The bath had a beautiful vessel sink, but the shower lacked anywhere to put your soap or razor. You had to hold them or put them on the floor. The property was well-priced for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
Aug 7, 2011

Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That

Great location in Old San Juan - you can walk to everything. Small room and internet was down, but hip decor and lovely breakfast (included). Be prepared for lugging bags up lots of stairs! Folks at the front desk were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
Aug 7, 2011

Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That

Great location in Old San Juan - you can walk to everything. Small room and internet was down, but hip decor and lovely breakfast (included). Be prepared for lugging bags up lots of stairs! Folks at the front desk were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Patron
Kensington, CT
May 9, 2011

Good Location....tough getting up stairs

Spent one night at the hotel. We were going on a cruise the next day. This hotel met all of our needs. We researched what it had, and knew what we were getting. No elevator, which we knew. The hotel was clean, with no insect problems which was my biggest concern. We had air in our room which was great. We liked the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a diner for breakfast, where the locals go. A short walk, left out of front door, first street go right, right at the first corner.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Patron
Kensington, CT
May 9, 2011

Good Location....tough getting up stairs

Spent one night at the hotel. We were going on a cruise the next day. This hotel met all of our needs. We researched what it had, and knew what we were getting. No elevator, which we knew. The hotel was clean, with no insect problems which was my biggest concern. We had air in our room which was great. We liked the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a diner for breakfast, where the locals go. A short walk, left out of front door, first street go right, right at the first corner.

Back to menu Return to top