$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
127 reviews
Great hotel!

That location it's unbeatable. We got to Explore old San Juan from head to toe within walking... See full review

  • Jpvelozg
  • Aug 9, 2014
Great place for a short stay

Loved this hotel. Very cute and trendy. Great location and very helpful staff. They will do... See full review

  • Kari7777
  • Jul 9, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1132
Area served
316 Fortaleza Street (Under Construction until Dec 15), Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, Condado, Isla Verde, Hato Rey, San Juan, Carolina, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
SJU-Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (About 9 miles); Isla Grande Airport (Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport) (about 5 miles)
Area description
Downtown Old San Juan, please see accessibility instructions on the main property description

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronces
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2013

The Hotel did not have our rooms available when we got there.

I was very dissapointed with the hotel administration because they canceled our reservations before we got there. I had made a reservation for two rooms, one of them was my Christmas gift for my brother and his wife. When we got there, the lady on the counter kept saying the website cancelled our reservations and they did not have any more rooms available. Another guy came in ( I think he was a manager), initially he was asking us to the website we made the reservations to solve the issue for us, but I disagreed and insisted that they were the responsibles. Finally they found two rooms in other hotels to accommodate us. The other hotel Da House, was cheaper, not as nice, and it was very noisy since there was a club downstairs that played loud music until 300am. My brother was taken to another hotel, (Milano) and the room ceiling was falling down, so the Casa Blanca manager took them to Villa Herencia, which was a much better choice. The Casa Blanca Hotel is a very nice place, but the administration messed up this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Feb 22, 2010

We want our money back-worst experience!

We are seniors with health issues and should have been warned of no elevator.The employees were totally indifferent as to our needs.Power outage one day so no hot water or lights or A/C. No back up generator.No telephone first day; added second day but did not work.Asked for facecloths and hand towels; didn't have enough was the excuse.Worst hotel experience we have ever had. It sure took the excitement out of our stay in such a historic place.We cannot understand why you would have this hotel on your list.If we were dealing with Sears or a company of that nature, we would demand our money back. We think we should get it back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lattelover55
Orleans ,Ontario
Mar 18, 2010

Fairly basic !

I was very disappointed with the amenities ( or lack of ).The location was great ,right on one of the main streets in Old San Juan,easy walking distance to all of the sights and sounds of the town.It sadly lacked any space in the room I was in, I had to leave my case on the floor next to the bed and the bathroom was miniscule.Fabulous wash basin ,but completely impractical for using.I was on the fourth floor,which was okay ,except that there was no elevator,so I had to carry over 50lbs of luggage up and down the stairs ! I think the hotel would be fine if you were back-packing ,if you were staying more than one or two nights ,then you'd be going crazy falling over yourself in the room. I have to add that the lady manning the front desk ( [...] ? )was great , a lovely lady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marshalls ,a great store for bargains (of the brand label type ),similar to T.J.Maxx /Winners.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SJ Visitor
Dallas, TX
Sep 20, 2010

Don't Waste Your Time or Money

The hotel appears very nice but don't be fooled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay at this place

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SJ Visitor
Dallas TX
Oct 7, 2010

Don't Bother

Remote for the A/C wasn't supplied in room, when we got one didn't work. They had to turn the A/C off since room was arctic No TV service No hot water in shower Absolutely the worst hotel we've ever experienced. Stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach Jay Beach
Rochester, IN
Oct 20, 2010

Walls covered in MOLD

I had never been to San Juan before and the only reason I went there was for a cruise. I wanted to stay at a hotel that was close to the pier so I chose to stay at The CasaBlanca. I should have paid more attention to the reviews that were posted. The hotel itself was very nice but they still have no elevator.They did offer to take my suitcases up to the third floor. The only problem I have was there was a lot of mold on the wall above the bed. I would assume from the amount of humidity but it was hard to sleep knowing that there is a lot of mold above your head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suckered by ad
San Juan PR
Dec 20, 2010

Casablanca Hotel

A two star at best. Spend a few extra dollars to avoid this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The first time cruiser
Midwest, IL
Mar 14, 2011

Very noisy hotel

If you like to carry your luggage up five flights of stairs on your own, this is a place for you. The rooms are small and very noisy, the building is old and out dated. The location is the only plus point about this hotel since it's located right in the center of all the actions. But forget about a good night sleep if any, you might as well have slept on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 31, 2011

Stay Somewhere Else If You Can!

The few good things about the Casablanca Hotel are that the hotel is clean, the location is good, and the bed is comfortable. All the rest of our experience was bad... The hotel is difficult to get to. The staff is nice but on many occasions did not complete our requests. We never had shampoo for our room and were told each day we would but none ever came, the hotel was out of stock! We had no TV at all for the first three days of our stay. We were told it was a technical problem and they could not find a technician. The hotel has no elevator and we were on the third floor and the walk up the stairs gets old fast especially since we stayed 5 nights. The air conditioner in the room made everything feel very damp including our bed and all of our cloths, in fact on night the air conditioner quit all together and we had a very warm night then in the morning it came on by itself and we could not turn it off and froze. We were supposed to have a continental breakfast included each morning. The breakfast consisted of one of the following only, a bowl of cereal, or toast, or a pastry. I chose the pastry to go with the terrible coffee. I was shocked when the waiter brought me a piece of cake literally one inch square! We left to get a real breakfast. The one morning we needed to pay for a real breakfast at the hotel because we had an early morning excursion the restaurant was closed and we were told the cook left and they did not know when he would return! The worst part of the hotel was the noise. One night there was a party on the third floor and the hotel did nothing to stop it, and the party went on until 3:30am. On both Friday and Saturday nights it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep since there is a late night club directly across the street from the hotel which blasts music outside onto the patrons in the street until 4:00am! Some mornings the maid would pick up our towels and never bring fresh towels and some days she would only bring towels and no wash cloths so we would have to ask. The bathrooms are very small and tight. The shower does not have any place on the wall to place the soap or anything else. The water in the shower was either very very hot or cold with nothing in between. There are no extra electrical outlets in the room, we had to unplug the clock so we could charge our phones. We were glad to finally leave the hotel. Just around the corner was the Sheridan Old San Juan which is beautiful and not much more expensive than the Casablanca and we will stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

It is far from Old San Juan to most everything and cabs are very expensive. If you want to be near the beach or the mountains do not stay in Old San Juan.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Il.
Jul 21, 2011

The bad, good, & ugly.

[...] asked for a main floor room, because they had no elevators. Well, after getting us registered they showed us to our room on the 4th. floor. We had to walk up all of the stairs which were differeant sizes. And carry up lugage. The room was nothing like what we were told. Very small witch could only accomadate a full size bed & small table. There was no way I could go up & down the stairs another time. I told them it would not work for us. After a time they moved us down to the 2nd. floor. Not much better but would have to do. Bedding was torn, all carpet was taken up & had a bare concreat floor. No one bothered to clean in the corners etc. Even had bobby pins on the floor. AC didn't cool room.Employees tried their best.In the morning you did get a small breakfast. Cereal, toast, coffee, juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search