$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
224 reviews
Great place for a short stay

Loved this hotel. Very cute and trendy. Great location and very helpful staff. They will do... See full review

  • Kari7777
  • Jul 9, 2014
Gorgeous Boutique Hotel in Heart of Old San Juan

The hotel is beautifully designed with motifs that combine Moroccan elements and contemporary art.... See full review

  • Ethel Bourbon
  • May 16, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1132
Area served
316 Fortaleza Street (Under Construction until Dec 15), Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, Condado, Isla Verde, Hato Rey, San Juan, Carolina, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
SJU-Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (About 9 miles); Isla Grande Airport (Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport) (about 5 miles)
Area description
Downtown Old San Juan, please see accessibility instructions on the main property description

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Patron
Kensington, CT
May 9, 2011

Good Location....tough getting up stairs

Spent one night at the hotel. We were going on a cruise the next day. This hotel met all of our needs. We researched what it had, and knew what we were getting. No elevator, which we knew. The hotel was clean, with no insect problems which was my biggest concern. We had air in our room which was great. We liked the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a diner for breakfast, where the locals go. A short walk, left out of front door, first street go right, right at the first corner.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Montreal, canada
May 1, 2011

good location but expensive

This little Old hotel was really well located, beautiful decoration at the lobby and amazing staff people but with no elevators, so we have to bring our suite cases to our rooms, (3rd floor) and the rooms were not as what I expect for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence
Apr 29, 2011

great for those who sleep easily

I was overnite to fly back to N.E. Had not tried the hotel. GREAT decor and staff. My issue was MY light sleeping. There was a party til 10p I had to listen to and then staff talking. Next morn I work to staff work. The walls are such that hearing all is an issue if you are like me. Still, if I could silence the place....it would be my best pick (and eat at Verde Mesa)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love this tiny day eatery...all veggie and organic...YET tasty! Not sure how they manage that....but awesome. Place called Verde Mesa.....very cost effective too......gotta go.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence
Apr 29, 2011

great for those who sleep easily

I was overnite to fly back to N.E. Had not tried the hotel. GREAT decor and staff. My issue was MY light sleeping. There was a party til 10p I had to listen to and then staff talking. Next morn I work to staff work. The walls are such that hearing all is an issue if you are like me. Still, if I could silence the place....it would be my best pick (and eat at Verde Mesa)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love this tiny day eatery...all veggie and organic...YET tasty! Not sure how they manage that....but awesome. Place called Verde Mesa.....very cost effective too......gotta go.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Apr 17, 2011

Great location in Old san Juan

The hotel was very artistic. Brought the eclectic feel of Old San Juan inside. Staff was excellent, they would do anything they could to help and were very gracious. Bed was a little squeeky, parts of bathroom was in disrepair and street noise is very evident at night. Great view of the fort and the bay from the window. Very clean although a little older. None of it really bothered me it just reminded me of Old San Juan in general, very comfortable warm feel. The forts were excellent and in walking distance. The hotel was in the absolute center of town. Food was good but their complementary breakfast is coffee, juice and cereal. But the food was very affordable and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Apr 17, 2011

Great location in Old san Juan

The hotel was very artistic. Brought the eclectic feel of Old San Juan inside. Staff was excellent, they would do anything they could to help and were very gracious. Bed was a little squeeky, parts of bathroom was in disrepair and street noise is very evident at night. Great view of the fort and the bay from the window. Very clean although a little older. None of it really bothered me it just reminded me of Old San Juan in general, very comfortable warm feel. The forts were excellent and in walking distance. The hotel was in the absolute center of town. Food was good but their complementary breakfast is coffee, juice and cereal. But the food was very affordable and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camas, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Great Location

Stayed for only one night after our cruise. Really liked the hotel, felt more like a bed and breakfast.We would love to have spent more time exploring Old San Juan. What a charming town! Friendly people! Great food! Our only complaint was that the waiter at the hotel made us feel somewhat uncomfortable when we opted not to order from the menu but asked for the breakfast that was included in the price (cereal, toast, pastries and coffee). He never did bring the pastries!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avenida De Princessa where the locals stroll in the evening was wonderful!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camas, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Great Location

Stayed for only one night after our cruise. Really liked the hotel, felt more like a bed and breakfast.We would love to have spent more time exploring Old San Juan. What a charming town! Friendly people! Great food! Our only complaint was that the waiter at the hotel made us feel somewhat uncomfortable when we opted not to order from the menu but asked for the breakfast that was included in the price (cereal, toast, pastries and coffee). He never did bring the pastries!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avenida De Princessa where the locals stroll in the evening was wonderful!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 11, 2011

Goog location, reasonable price

The hotel is right at the center of Old San Juan. Everything is within walking distant and very convenient. For the price I paid and the convenience of walking in Old San Juan, I can put up with the windowless room I stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Couple
San Juan Puerto Rico
Apr 11, 2011

San Juan Puerto Rico

Nice hotel close to the pier for cruise ship tours but not for cruise ship embarkation. Nice area with lots of choices for restaurants. Room was good with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel had restaurants, casino, and was close to other choices like Starbucks. A nice place to stay and then walk to the Old San Juan attractions like the fort before you take a taxi to the cruise pier.

Back to menu Return to top