$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
View map of 316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Mar 1, 2011

needs a good handy man

this hotel did have a good location in old San Juan. We asked for a wake up call...had to hunt for the phone. It was in a cabinet, and did not work. we were promised a 4AM wake up KNOCK.....it never came. The alarm clock did not work. No water glasses in room. No elevator. The climb to the 5th floor and back down with luggage was difficult. It was very ecclectic and charming otherwise. Continental breakfast was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 good restaurants within walking distance were Latin Roots and Raices. The hotel is within walking distance to the cruise ship pier. They did allow us to leave our luggage while we explored San Juan before and after check in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Polyatt
Business
Pompano Beach, Florida
Feb 16, 2011

Be aware

This hotel is in the heart of the Old San Juan, lot of history, shopping, bars, tourists, but plan to do some intense walking. The lobby is beautiful, with a mix of art deco and Spanish, with a small reception desk with laptop. As we check-in they wasn't able to find the reservation but after a few they founded, then the two guys that work at the lobby shares a stressed look and comment "what we do?" when I ask if there is any problem they respond very calm with a don't' worry. Finally we have the key and the notification that the room is on fifth floor (never mentioned that you need to climb). The dark stair is barely three feet plus wide, each step is very high, and after 90 plus steps with no ac, my wife was the first one that reaches the floor, I was behind carrying the luggage and sweating; the light was damaged, but anyway we manage to find the door. My wife opens the door and with the last breath left screams: no way I leave! The extremely small room with a narrow window that open to an internal area and the bed taking most of the space make you feel that you are framed in a tower. I was asking to myself what type of lent was used to take the photo show on the advertise? My wife with a bed knee slide to the lobby and ask for another room at a lower level, sorry all the rooms are occupy. Tragic decision, we leave. Now I will see how to have a refund. To my friends I will recommend a suite at no over the second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Feb 15, 2011

Beautiful hotel

This hotel is in the perfect place to explore Old San Juan. The hotel has original art work everywhere as well as some antiques and modern bathrooms. Staff was friendly and knowledgable, getting us to a restaurant near by which served local cuisine. Comfortable, clean, good breakfast and good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neighborhood has many upscale stores as well as local shops with price range to fit any budget

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 8, 2011

Casa Blanca Hotel-Old San Juan

A quaint, charming Hotel in an old world location with narrow cobblestone streets. Courteous,young and attentive staff. Large spacious rooms with lots of old style touches. You have GOT to at least check out the oversized rooftop bathtubs and garden overlooking the city. Fantastic decor, "art deco meets old world" style. Easy down-hill walking distance to Pier 4 for Carnival cruisers as well as tons of restaurants, night life and historical sites. A block away from the City Square, the trolley, taxis and horsedrawn carriages. Possibly a little loud for us old folks, though. with late night party traffic and early morning risers down below. NO ELEVATORS so pack accordingly or just ask for help. I just can't say enough about the staff, though. They were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes. Though everything is in walking distance, cobblestone streets and hills can make things a little more interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom & Alice
Business
North Carolina
Feb 5, 2011

Great Location

Nice place. Small rooms but clean and in an excellent location. No elevator makes it tough when you have suitcases and are given a room on the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nearly Marooned
Business
Ontario, Can
Feb 2, 2011

Choice Heritage Location

Upon arrival we found that we had NO reservation confirmed. [...]gave us conf.#'s etc but the hotel DID NOT HAVE US REGISTERED!! They were full BUT had a room that they had down for minor renovations so they accommodated us. Besides the smell of varnish we survived. The staff & hotel were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent old town location, close to harbour, forts, shopping, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Feb 1, 2011

Small room, no windows or elevator

We were in a 3rd floor room with no elevator and no windows! the decor in the lobby was good but the continental breakfast was skimpy at best...only 2 pieces of toast or 1 small pastry and a small cup of coffee, that was it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the middle of the shopping district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Jan 26, 2011

Casa Blanca hotel "great location"

We loved the location of the Casa Blanca--everything in old San Juan nearby. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Loved being able to store luggage while touring before our cruise ship sailed. Unique Morrocan atmosphere. Lots of stairs with no elevator, but wonderful, helpful staff who were more than happy to transport luggage, run up & down steps, etc. This is no fancy place but had everything we needed. Very clean. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several "reasonable" places with local food & flair just up the street on Cristobal square. We enjoyed the San Juan Restaurant/Cafe(?)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 11, 2011

Mediocre at best.

NO ELEVATOR! 5 floors to this hotel, so beware of the floor you are on before getting there. NO Curtains! Fogged glass windows DO NOT keep out sunrise at 6 am! (hotel doesn't care) Not a quiet personal hotel, noisy and echo-y. Nice central location for young party goers. And cute decore. WEAK continental breakfast. (toast) NO parking!!! Local self parking 1block away is cheaper than most, aprx. $6 overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a great fusion joint and up the adjacent alley is a great local bar/restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 3, 2011

SOFO CasaBlanca

Very nice boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan. Able to easily walk through the city, close to a number of great restaurants just down the street. Secluded roof top, very nice place to relax in the evenings. Would stay there again, just not in the room the window opens into the main lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top