$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
125 reviews
best kept secret

this place is conveniently located in the middle of the old San Juan. Staff is very helpful and... See full review

  • POOH DIVA
  • Oct 2, 2014
Amazing, unique experience

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and wanting a unique, fun hotel. It was exactly what we were... See full review

  • Super Nurse K
  • Sep 20, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conservative Midwest
Mar 21, 2011

Exotic ambience

The best feature about the hotel is its setting, right in the heart of Old San Juan, close to sites, shopping and dining. The free trolley is just half a block away. The hotel's ambiance was every bit as romantic as the pictures on the website depicts, the service staff were friendly and accomodating. We had a room on the 4th floor, all stairs, the view from the balcony was non-descript: air-conditioners and satellite dishes on the neighboring buildings' rooftops. But we're not here to enjoy views from the room, are we? Our room had ethernet connection, but no closet. The bed was lumpy and creaky, but exhausted from all the sight-seeing, we entered slumberland without a hitch. Our shower handle was missing a screw, so we had to learn, by trial and error, how to coax water of the right temperature and the right amount out the showerhead. There were no shelves in the bathroom to put our toiletries, so we had to use the top of the toilet tank and the ledge of the beautiful glass sink. We also had to ask the staff for a couple of glasses, they were accomodating, didn't I say so? There was no continental breakfast as per our confirmation, but the staff did give us coffee (free!) Would we stay at this hotel again when we visit San Juan again? Sure, there's no such thing as a perfect mate, far less a perfect hotel, so give me a good price and I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two types of prices in some shops: the house price and the price you like, which might be offered to you sometimes before you even ask, just express your interest in the object and your disinterest and shock at the price simultaneously, and watch the price negotiate itself down for you! Can't guarantee success all the time, but, hey, you're on vacation! have fun practicing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington Kentucky
Mar 17, 2011

Fantastic great location and service

Great location, right in the heart of Old San Juan.Hotel is just what we were looking for. Walked to all the sites.The staff was fantatic. We will definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarBar
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 14, 2011

Old San Juan is amazing!

We only stayed for one night due to a long layover but we will definitely return. The hotel is eclectic and cool and right in the heart of Old San Juan. The staff was friendly and the bar was great. I think we stayed in the smallest room but for the price and our length of stay it was great. The staff is friendly and helpful. We are already planning our next trip to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The first time cruiser
Business
Midwest, IL
Mar 14, 2011

Very noisy hotel

If you like to carry your luggage up five flights of stairs on your own, this is a place for you. The rooms are small and very noisy, the building is old and out dated. The location is the only plus point about this hotel since it's located right in the center of all the actions. But forget about a good night sleep if any, you might as well have slept on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casablanca chica
Business
Burlington, VT
Mar 13, 2011

Beautiful, great location, great staff!

I was very pleased with my stay at the Casablanca Hotel. Not only is the decor absolutely gorgeous, but the staff were very friendly and helpful in making my stay enjoyable. The rooftop is a nice place to be alone or get a tan, and the hotel is conveniently located right on the narrow streets of Old San Juan. At the end of the block you come face-to-face with the Plaza de Colon, some great restaurants, and across from it all, the stunning historic Castillo de San Cristobal. My only complaints - A/C in the lobby was a bit much for me, so I didn't hang around there because it was too cold. There are no elevators, so it's not a good choice if you don't like walking up several flights of stairs. The furniture in my room was a bit old and some of the drawers were hard to push in and out. Also, I found it difficult to maintain a steady temperature in the shower. Other than that, I absolutely LOVE this hotel and would DEFINITELY stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

One of the hotel staff told me the nearest beach was the Playa de Escambron, and that I'd better take the bus to get there. She said it would take 45 minutes to walk. But, I found the bus system VERY inconvenient as you can wait an hour or more at the stops, so I decided to find the beach on my own. It's so easy to find, just a straight walk from the Castillo de Colon and beautiful scenery on the way. It felt like much less than 45 minutes to me, but I didn't time it. I thought walking there was much more pleasant than taking the bus, and possibly saved time because I was moving and not waiting at the bus terminal. Also - this beach was MUCH better than Condado beach, which is in a major resort area and extremely touristy. Escambron is more of an authentic local beach, and it's still beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canby, Oregon
Mar 10, 2011

Most Romantic

We shopped, dined and toured the city. Yes there was no elevator for this hotel but no biggie I knew that going into it. So the only complaint would be no hot water for the shower. It was beautiful and romantic, we got a bottle of wine and took a roof top bath at one in the morning overlooking the city, WOW!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA Madre was Amazing. Care Puerto Rico was good and lots of food for a good price. Drinks cost the same in San Juan as an downtown area in the states.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 4, 2011

Beautiful 100 plus year old Hotel.

One must remember most 100 year old buildings which have been gentrified, do not have elevators. The rooms are not overly large. If you are on the fifth floor you should be in reasonable shape. My wife and I are 61 and 59 years old. We made it, and enjoyed the balconies, with access to the sea breeze. There is also a sixth floor patio. The decor was beautiful and interesting art deco. The bilingual staff was excellent, being courteous, friendly and helpful. There is internet access at a sister hotel one half block away. My wife and I loved the Hotel, the staff and the old City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining can be quite expensive in Old San Juan. The restaurants cover the world including Burger Joints. Look for restaurants which specialize in Puerto Rican cuisine. It is the most reasonable tasty and excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison, wi
Mar 1, 2011

Nice place

Positives: Pretty, nice to have breakfast available, nice/knowledgable staff, good location for shopping. Inexpensive. Wireless in lobby. Clean rooms. Minuses: Lots of hallway noise/thin walls. Trouble maintaining any kind of hot/warm water, got cold for long periods. No elevator. The breakfast is a nice feature, but real basic, no protein selections. Not close to beach. Couldn't get wireless to work in the rooms. Bed not real comfortable. Overall: Very nice lobby, decorative. Friendly staff, very knowledgeable about area and can suggest some restaurants. However, they did recommend the "best Mexican" restaurant that was pretty much the worst Mexican I've had in a while. Just cereal, toast, a pastry or two sometimes, and sometimes apples or pears. You can order some other things from their menu though if you want to pay. Lots of great shopping in the area. Not close to a beach, however. The walk is about half an hour to 45 minutes to the nearest swimming beach. But there are buses that apparently can take you there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can see the 2 forts in the same day if you like, which are close to the hotel. You get a small discount if you buy tickets for both a the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 1, 2011

Very rustic

Stayed there the night before a cruise. Wish staff would have helped us more when we left luggage in the cab. Never retieved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Mar 1, 2011

needs a good handy man

this hotel did have a good location in old San Juan. We asked for a wake up call...had to hunt for the phone. It was in a cabinet, and did not work. we were promised a 4AM wake up KNOCK.....it never came. The alarm clock did not work. No water glasses in room. No elevator. The climb to the 5th floor and back down with luggage was difficult. It was very ecclectic and charming otherwise. Continental breakfast was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 good restaurants within walking distance were Latin Roots and Raices. The hotel is within walking distance to the cruise ship pier. They did allow us to leave our luggage while we explored San Juan before and after check in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top