$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
View map of 316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sammi Smith
Business
Flemington, NJ
Jun 7, 2011

First time in Puerto Rico

We were in room 2-I. Located at the end of the hall, across from the room service/maid's room/office. We didn't have a window, but it's completely unnecessary. I wanted to sleep or change or shower in my room. I didn't care about the view from the window. The room was quiet. Great air conditioning. TV selection was very meh... We had the choice of 2 real channels. AMC and the cooking channels... everything else was pay-per-view and infomercials. I loved the hotel's artsy style. It was very cool and contemporary. It was a great place. Unfortunately, we never made the trip up 6 flights of stairs to see the rooftop hot tubs... but there's always next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the free continental breakfast. You get what you pay for... it's better just to walk 2 blocks and go to La Bombonera

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 5, 2011

SOFO Casablanca

The SOFO Casablnca was the perfect place for me to call home during the 4 days I spent in Puerto Rico. The room I stayed in was basic, but clean and comfortable. Only issue was lack of a window, but I didn't spend much time in the room other than sleeping. The rooftop deck was great, I was the only one up there the 3-4 times I went up to lay out in the sun or view the night time skyline. The Continental breakfast was good and the waitstaff was really friendly. The front desk folks were super helpful in terms of helping me plan my last minute itinerary. OVerall it was a really great place to stay, everyone was nice, and I felt safe and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would say investigate day-trip activities at least a day or two in advance to make sure you can get reservations. If you are planning adventure activities outside of the city and need transport you will need to have something booked the night before as you will get picked up around 8 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 31, 2011

Stay Somewhere Else If You Can!

The few good things about the Casablanca Hotel are that the hotel is clean, the location is good, and the bed is comfortable. All the rest of our experience was bad... The hotel is difficult to get to. The staff is nice but on many occasions did not complete our requests. We never had shampoo for our room and were told each day we would but none ever came, the hotel was out of stock! We had no TV at all for the first three days of our stay. We were told it was a technical problem and they could not find a technician. The hotel has no elevator and we were on the third floor and the walk up the stairs gets old fast especially since we stayed 5 nights. The air conditioner in the room made everything feel very damp including our bed and all of our cloths, in fact on night the air conditioner quit all together and we had a very warm night then in the morning it came on by itself and we could not turn it off and froze. We were supposed to have a continental breakfast included each morning. The breakfast consisted of one of the following only, a bowl of cereal, or toast, or a pastry. I chose the pastry to go with the terrible coffee. I was shocked when the waiter brought me a piece of cake literally one inch square! We left to get a real breakfast. The one morning we needed to pay for a real breakfast at the hotel because we had an early morning excursion the restaurant was closed and we were told the cook left and they did not know when he would return! The worst part of the hotel was the noise. One night there was a party on the third floor and the hotel did nothing to stop it, and the party went on until 3:30am. On both Friday and Saturday nights it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep since there is a late night club directly across the street from the hotel which blasts music outside onto the patrons in the street until 4:00am! Some mornings the maid would pick up our towels and never bring fresh towels and some days she would only bring towels and no wash cloths so we would have to ask. The bathrooms are very small and tight. The shower does not have any place on the wall to place the soap or anything else. The water in the shower was either very very hot or cold with nothing in between. There are no extra electrical outlets in the room, we had to unplug the clock so we could charge our phones. We were glad to finally leave the hotel. Just around the corner was the Sheridan Old San Juan which is beautiful and not much more expensive than the Casablanca and we will stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

It is far from Old San Juan to most everything and cabs are very expensive. If you want to be near the beach or the mountains do not stay in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
May 31, 2011

San Jose PR

Great location to get around San Juan. The walls are paper thin, very noisy. No elevator,had to walk up 3 flights of stairs which was gruelling after a full day of walking all over SJ. Some of the front desk guys were very helpful for dining ideas. Overall,its difficult not to have a good conceire when in a new place you have not visited. The rooms were ok, but bath was not great. The maids just left the towels in a bag on the door knob. did not clear the room. I would probably stay at another hotel next time. Thanks, for asking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

research attractions and tours before going, the front desk is not able to help with setting these up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
May 24, 2011

Charming, convenient, clean

This location was PERFECT for sight seeing in Old San Juan, and easy walking distance to Piers 1-4, as we were boarding a Carnival ship the next day. Our room was exactly as we expected, clean, charming, and pretty tiny. We stayed here two total nights, once before and once after the cruise. Rooms 4c and 2c. There is no elevator, but a staff member was happy to help us carry our bags up to the 4th floor our first night. The hotel staff was SUPER helpful recommending a few local restaurants and parking locations. Free wifi in the lobby, a 10 minute walk to just about everything except El Morro (double that time, or take the free trolley).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Puerto Rico, great local food, reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
May 22, 2011

nice place to stay at

I stayed here for one day because of a cruise i was taking the next day. hotel is nice and clean. There is no elevator, but the staff will take the luggage to your room for you. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cruise terminal is about 3 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cookie Chef
Business
Aventura, FL
May 19, 2011

Heart of Old San Juan

A very nice hotel in Old San Juan. You are in the heart of everything going on around you. Close to everything. Breakfast is a good price for extras and the staff is very helpfully and friendly. The rolf top has soaking tubs to relax after walking and dancing around the city. The only bad thing about this place is you have to haul your baggage up stairs, so pack light. And being in San Juan there is no need for heavy items anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
May 12, 2011

Beautiful but short on amenities

We stayed in Old San Juan for six nights. The location can't be beat (but I definitely recommend renting a car and seeing some of Puerto Rico's natural wonders). There are tons of little shops and restaurants on the street. I recommend eating on one of the other streets. There is definitely a forced effort to make "SOFO" or South Fortaleza a Puerto Rican SOHO. I'm so glad I did not stay at a big chain hotel. The hotel lobby was stunning and the rooms all have a boho feel. The staff was really friendly and helpful. If you stay here, you have to go to the roof. There are chairs and plants to create a rooftop oasis. But best of all there are five giant bathtubs! We watched the sunset in a bathtub fit for two. *Another note: It's an older building, so there are no elevators. That didn't bother me at all, but for some people it's quite a bother. I only have two complaints. The hotel does not explain what you're entitled to. I only found out on the last day that we were entitled to free breakfasts during our stay. The concierge made it seem like it was just coffee and bread, but I have no idea what they offer. Also, the hotel is short on amenities. Irons and hairdryers don't come standard. My room didn't even have soap for handwashing. I had to request that twice. Other than that, the hotel was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Bombonera, Mesa Verde, St. Germain were my favorite places to eat. They're all less than five minutes away. I would skip Cafe Puerto Rico, which was a recommendation by the concierge. It's overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala Fl.
May 11, 2011

casa blanca stay

the hotel was a little more primitive than we had anticipated. The rooms were a little noisy and worn. The baths were OK but cramped.No phone and the TV was minimal(no news channels). The lobby was interesting with its Moorish decor and the breakfast was limited to coffee and pastrys (other things available at extra cost).There is not much help with luggage available and no elevator. Having said all that...the staff was great. Lots of maps, info and assistance. Coffee was good and the pastry was great. Beds were clean and very comfortable. Super location for exploring Old Town and easy access to the cruise port by taxi. If you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth this is not the hotel for you, but if you are interested in exploring Old Town,being at the center of things, reasonable nightly rates, a responsive staff and an interesting stay, I would recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Patron
Business
Kensington, CT
May 9, 2011

Good Location....tough getting up stairs

Spent one night at the hotel. We were going on a cruise the next day. This hotel met all of our needs. We researched what it had, and knew what we were getting. No elevator, which we knew. The hotel was clean, with no insect problems which was my biggest concern. We had air in our room which was great. We liked the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a diner for breakfast, where the locals go. A short walk, left out of front door, first street go right, right at the first corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top