$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
122 reviews
Excellent hotel

Arrived on a Friday evening, easy check in, room was great in the Old San Juan style. The people... See full review

  • CParis
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great hotel!

That location it's unbeatable. We got to Explore old San Juan from head to toe within walking... See full review

  • Jpvelozg
  • Aug 9, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1132
Area served
316 Fortaleza Street (Under Construction until Dec 15), Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, Condado, Isla Verde, Hato Rey, San Juan, Carolina, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
SJU-Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (About 9 miles); Isla Grande Airport (Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport) (about 5 miles)
Area description
Downtown Old San Juan, please see accessibility instructions on the main property description

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
texas
May 22, 2011

nice place to stay at

I stayed here for one day because of a cruise i was taking the next day. hotel is nice and clean. There is no elevator, but the staff will take the luggage to your room for you. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cruise terminal is about 3 blocks away.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cookie Chef
Aventura, FL
May 19, 2011

Heart of Old San Juan

A very nice hotel in Old San Juan. You are in the heart of everything going on around you. Close to everything. Breakfast is a good price for extras and the staff is very helpfully and friendly. The rolf top has soaking tubs to relax after walking and dancing around the city. The only bad thing about this place is you have to haul your baggage up stairs, so pack light. And being in San Juan there is no need for heavy items anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
May 12, 2011

Beautiful but short on amenities

We stayed in Old San Juan for six nights. The location can't be beat (but I definitely recommend renting a car and seeing some of Puerto Rico's natural wonders). There are tons of little shops and restaurants on the street. I recommend eating on one of the other streets. There is definitely a forced effort to make "SOFO" or South Fortaleza a Puerto Rican SOHO. I'm so glad I did not stay at a big chain hotel. The hotel lobby was stunning and the rooms all have a boho feel. The staff was really friendly and helpful. If you stay here, you have to go to the roof. There are chairs and plants to create a rooftop oasis. But best of all there are five giant bathtubs! We watched the sunset in a bathtub fit for two. *Another note: It's an older building, so there are no elevators. That didn't bother me at all, but for some people it's quite a bother. I only have two complaints. The hotel does not explain what you're entitled to. I only found out on the last day that we were entitled to free breakfasts during our stay. The concierge made it seem like it was just coffee and bread, but I have no idea what they offer. Also, the hotel is short on amenities. Irons and hairdryers don't come standard. My room didn't even have soap for handwashing. I had to request that twice. Other than that, the hotel was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Bombonera, Mesa Verde, St. Germain were my favorite places to eat. They're all less than five minutes away. I would skip Cafe Puerto Rico, which was a recommendation by the concierge. It's overpriced.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ocala Fl.
May 11, 2011

casa blanca stay

the hotel was a little more primitive than we had anticipated. The rooms were a little noisy and worn. The baths were OK but cramped.No phone and the TV was minimal(no news channels). The lobby was interesting with its Moorish decor and the breakfast was limited to coffee and pastrys (other things available at extra cost).There is not much help with luggage available and no elevator. Having said all that...the staff was great. Lots of maps, info and assistance. Coffee was good and the pastry was great. Beds were clean and very comfortable. Super location for exploring Old Town and easy access to the cruise port by taxi. If you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth this is not the hotel for you, but if you are interested in exploring Old Town,being at the center of things, reasonable nightly rates, a responsive staff and an interesting stay, I would recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Patron
Kensington, CT
May 9, 2011

Good Location....tough getting up stairs

Spent one night at the hotel. We were going on a cruise the next day. This hotel met all of our needs. We researched what it had, and knew what we were getting. No elevator, which we knew. The hotel was clean, with no insect problems which was my biggest concern. We had air in our room which was great. We liked the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a diner for breakfast, where the locals go. A short walk, left out of front door, first street go right, right at the first corner.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Montreal, canada
May 1, 2011

good location but expensive

This little Old hotel was really well located, beautiful decoration at the lobby and amazing staff people but with no elevators, so we have to bring our suite cases to our rooms, (3rd floor) and the rooms were not as what I expect for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence
Apr 29, 2011

great for those who sleep easily

I was overnite to fly back to N.E. Had not tried the hotel. GREAT decor and staff. My issue was MY light sleeping. There was a party til 10p I had to listen to and then staff talking. Next morn I work to staff work. The walls are such that hearing all is an issue if you are like me. Still, if I could silence the place....it would be my best pick (and eat at Verde Mesa)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love this tiny day eatery...all veggie and organic...YET tasty! Not sure how they manage that....but awesome. Place called Verde Mesa.....very cost effective too......gotta go.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Apr 17, 2011

Great location in Old san Juan

The hotel was very artistic. Brought the eclectic feel of Old San Juan inside. Staff was excellent, they would do anything they could to help and were very gracious. Bed was a little squeeky, parts of bathroom was in disrepair and street noise is very evident at night. Great view of the fort and the bay from the window. Very clean although a little older. None of it really bothered me it just reminded me of Old San Juan in general, very comfortable warm feel. The forts were excellent and in walking distance. The hotel was in the absolute center of town. Food was good but their complementary breakfast is coffee, juice and cereal. But the food was very affordable and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camas, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Great Location

Stayed for only one night after our cruise. Really liked the hotel, felt more like a bed and breakfast.We would love to have spent more time exploring Old San Juan. What a charming town! Friendly people! Great food! Our only complaint was that the waiter at the hotel made us feel somewhat uncomfortable when we opted not to order from the menu but asked for the breakfast that was included in the price (cereal, toast, pastries and coffee). He never did bring the pastries!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avenida De Princessa where the locals stroll in the evening was wonderful!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san Juan, PR
Apr 11, 2011

Good trip. Nice town.

The guy at the desk was very helpful and the room was really nice.. The tv was small but the Decore of the hotel was very artsy and nice. I would stay there again. I was there for a cruise and wOuld prObably go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to El Morrow fort and on Sunday's all the locals go there to fly kites and it's amazing.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search