$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
View map of 316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pezdoll
Business
Vancouve,r Canada
May 12, 2014

Beautiful Old San Juan

I was looking for a place to stay before my cruise and couldn't be happier with my choice to stay in Old San Juan and the Casablanca Hotel in particular. Loads of character, with very personable staff, they whisked my suitcase up the stairs making the lack of elevator a non issue, and stored it after check out until I left late in the day. I highly recommend this hotel for it's character, staff, and location. For some, Old San Juan may suggest a shabbier part of town, but the beautiful, clean, cobbled stone streets and heritage architecture shouldn't be missed. Everything is in walking distance, including my cruise ship. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cho the traveler
Business
East Lansing, MI
Mar 7, 2014

Unbeatable location!

We were staying there for 2 nights. The location is unbeatable. All the must-see places in old San Juan are in walking distance! Trust me, you don't want to drive in this area; it's CRAZY! The decoration is really chic! It's so romantic for a couple. As the others have mentioned about the con's of this hotel, there is no elevator and the room is pretty small. However we don't have a problem with it. Taking stairs is similar to walking uphill in old San Juan area. And you can actually stop by the hotel, take a shower to refresh yourself after a long city walk and go hang out at night. No hassle from all transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you aim for a good place to eat, not a romantic dinner night. Try the El Jibarito. The waitress is so nice that she gave us some sampler to try since we had no idea how the food tastes like. The pork cube with plantain gravy is so great and It's unbelievably inexpensive compare to the restaurant in this area. highly recommended!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall U parent
Business
Martinsburg, WV, USA
Jan 17, 2014

The Best Family Adventure Ever!

The CasaBlanca Hotel has the distinct advantage of being located in one of the lovliest, livliest, and most beautiful areas that I have ever visited. It is a small hotel with a wonderful ambiance in keeping with the old Humphrey Bogart Casablanca movie. The rooms are small, but very interesting with Moroccan flourishes. The furniture is eclectic, but beautiful and appropriate for the hotel theme. The hot tubs on the roof overlooking the marina are wonderful beyond description. The staff is efficient and extremely helpful. Cynthia offered many suggestions on parking, restaurants, and local attractions. Juan performed our online airline check in while we visited nearby beaches and the rainforest. Visiting this hotel is the beginning of an adventure. We reserved three rooms for ourselves and our adult children, and all six of us were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. This hotel is must visit location in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A stroll along the marina during the evening is a must. Warm ocean breezes, families enjoying one another's company, fountains and statues, and massive cruise ships with gleaming reflections on the water are totally magical.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eve in love.
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jan 15, 2014

Romantic Getaway

Hotel is right in the heart of Viejo San Juan. Everything was close by. Room was excellent. I was accomadated by 10 am which was fabulous. The negatives no elevators and our room was on the fifth floor. Yes I climbed that staircase up 3 times. No room service and no dinner service. We would have loved room service. Though it was a romantic scenery it was really over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel Convento - the mofongo with shrimps was delicioso.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronces
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2013

The Hotel did not have our rooms available when we got there.

I was very dissapointed with the hotel administration because they canceled our reservations before we got there. I had made a reservation for two rooms, one of them was my Christmas gift for my brother and his wife. When we got there, the lady on the counter kept saying the website cancelled our reservations and they did not have any more rooms available. Another guy came in ( I think he was a manager), initially he was asking us to the website we made the reservations to solve the issue for us, but I disagreed and insisted that they were the responsibles. Finally they found two rooms in other hotels to accommodate us. The other hotel Da House, was cheaper, not as nice, and it was very noisy since there was a club downstairs that played loud music until 300am. My brother was taken to another hotel, (Milano) and the room ceiling was falling down, so the Casa Blanca manager took them to Villa Herencia, which was a much better choice. The Casa Blanca Hotel is a very nice place, but the administration messed up this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EricOnTheRoad
Business
New York, New York
Dec 8, 2013

Gorgeous and great value

This is a really nice hotel. Beautifully arranged, great and friendly staff, excellent value, top location in the middle of Old San Juan. Couldn't be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nuyorican cafe is within a block and open late - great for cocktails and music.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renwick
Business
Aruba
Nov 4, 2013

Fantastic for after cruise stay

Nice little hotel in the center of it all you can walk outside these doors and you are right where you wan to be in the middle ol the charm of the old city walking tru cobble stones streets, we did the bar hopping at night very convinient location next to the bars and party's . fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragon fly was amazing that Latin/Asian mix was hevenly, launch music spinning and nice decor. Go find the restroom you go tru a laberinth downstaris and all of a sudden youl find yourself in another launch bar area very nice place!!!

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dance Los
Business
California
Sep 24, 2013

Great way to experience Old San Juan..

It's an older hotel but it has tons of character. The rooms were small but very comfortable. Don't go thinking it's a Hilton or Sheraton cause you will be disappointed when you first walk in and realize you have to carry all your bags to whatever floor your staying on because of the absence of the elevator. But other that Casa Blanca is definitely a great place to stay if you want to enjoy all the History of Old San Juan... Ps parking is a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Culebra for the day..you have to leave early ..

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joel Toro
Business
miami, florida
Jul 29, 2013

No Elevator

Be ready to climb up a few stairs.... Although the hotel has a great Boutique lobby, the niceness is all over once you have to go up 70 steps (I counted them) to get to the 4th floor. No Elevators. I do have to say it has a great location in the middle of Old San Juan. Very accessible and nice rooms for the price I paid. I purchased my tickets through an online service and I was offered a basic Breakfast. I asked for it at the lobby and they mentioned that they were no longer offering it because they had recently changed the policy to a Discount Breakfast instead of complementary. I finished going to an excellent bakery a few blocks from the hotel called La Mallorca. Your better off having breakfast at this place instead of the hotel. The food was awesome there. Overall experience was OK if it weren't for the cancelled breakfast that I thought I was entitled to and climbing so many stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro Fort

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Tutti
Business
delaware
Jun 26, 2013

quaint, clean and rum-tastic

The hotel embodies it's name. From the decor to the full featured film on replay. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable so trust them on their restaurant selections. As a reminder their are no elevators like in most of old San Juan, s o pack light. Recommend ...Si

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top