$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
125 reviews
best kept secret

this place is conveniently located in the middle of the old San Juan. Staff is very helpful and... See full review

  • POOH DIVA
  • Oct 2, 2014
Amazing, unique experience

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and wanting a unique, fun hotel. It was exactly what we were... See full review

  • Super Nurse K
  • Sep 20, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1132
Area served
316 Fortaleza Street (Under Construction until Dec 15), Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, Condado, Isla Verde, Hato Rey, San Juan, Carolina, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
SJU-Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (About 9 miles); Isla Grande Airport (Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport) (about 5 miles)
Area description
Downtown Old San Juan, please see accessibility instructions on the main property description

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EandT
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 23, 2014

Comfy, but not too comfy

We didn't come to Puerto Rico to hang out in a hotel all day, so this place was great for us. The rooftop was a great spot to recharge after an afternoon out at the beach, or even late night after dinner and drinks. Our room was cozy, though the AC was a little unpredictable. Although it was not ready until almost an hour after our check in time, it was kept clean throughout our stay. Front desk and waitstaff were helpful and friendly, providing tips and helping with transportation needs. The location is convenient whether you're wandering Old San Juan, walking to the beach, or venturing out to the further reaches of the island. Looking forward to our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

20% discount!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmiles
Business
wisconsin rapids, WI
Jun 17, 2014

Fun Location

We had a great stay at the hotel. It is as described in the other reviews. It does have a funny skylight window thing that does seem to stay brighter than I am use to . The room was small but comfortable. The location was great we could walk to everything we wanted to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler171
Business
Illinois
May 28, 2014

we had a great stay

We had a great stay. Staff was very welcoming. Room is a little bit smallish, but well maintained and well decorated. Location is great if you want to walk the charming streets of old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fatty's restaurant (hole in the wall) has a very good and cheap food. (Don't expect fancy decor, though).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ethel Bourbon
Business
Chicago, IL
May 16, 2014

Gorgeous Boutique Hotel in Heart of Old San Juan

The hotel is beautifully designed with motifs that combine Moroccan elements and contemporary art. Located in the heart of Old San Juan, just steps away from the Plaza Colon and Castillo San Cristobal, it makes an ideal location central to everything the walled city has to offer. As others reviewers have pointed out, this is a very old building, and does not currently have an elevator. (And there are 5 floors of rooms.) There are plans to build one in the near future. The rooms are somewhat small, typical of vintage buildings in the area, but well-decorated and comfortable. The restaurant is quite good and affordable. The chef is Venezuelan, so the menu offers a bit of a twist on Caribbean fare. Try the Pabellon. The staff was friendly and helpful, and always cheerful. Overall, this was an excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a very typical Puerto Rican dinner, try Jibarito's on Calle San Sebastian. Homey, inexpensive, and authentic. We also liked Mojito's, around the corner. (The best PR food on our trip was not in the city, but at the beach in Luquillo at the beachside kiosks.) On Calle San Francisco, near Plaza Colon there is a yummy place specializing in empanadas, and also a delicious bakery a block or two in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JennieTraveler
Business
Fort Myers FL
May 15, 2014

Cute hotel, great location!

Walking distance to MANY restaurants, shops, forts. Very cute and eclectic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pezdoll
Business
Vancouve,r Canada
May 12, 2014

Beautiful Old San Juan

I was looking for a place to stay before my cruise and couldn't be happier with my choice to stay in Old San Juan and the Casablanca Hotel in particular. Loads of character, with very personable staff, they whisked my suitcase up the stairs making the lack of elevator a non issue, and stored it after check out until I left late in the day. I highly recommend this hotel for it's character, staff, and location. For some, Old San Juan may suggest a shabbier part of town, but the beautiful, clean, cobbled stone streets and heritage architecture shouldn't be missed. Everything is in walking distance, including my cruise ship. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cho the traveler
Business
East Lansing, MI
Mar 7, 2014

Unbeatable location!

We were staying there for 2 nights. The location is unbeatable. All the must-see places in old San Juan are in walking distance! Trust me, you don't want to drive in this area; it's CRAZY! The decoration is really chic! It's so romantic for a couple. As the others have mentioned about the con's of this hotel, there is no elevator and the room is pretty small. However we don't have a problem with it. Taking stairs is similar to walking uphill in old San Juan area. And you can actually stop by the hotel, take a shower to refresh yourself after a long city walk and go hang out at night. No hassle from all transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you aim for a good place to eat, not a romantic dinner night. Try the El Jibarito. The waitress is so nice that she gave us some sampler to try since we had no idea how the food tastes like. The pork cube with plantain gravy is so great and It's unbelievably inexpensive compare to the restaurant in this area. highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall U parent
Business
Martinsburg, WV, USA
Jan 17, 2014

The Best Family Adventure Ever!

The CasaBlanca Hotel has the distinct advantage of being located in one of the lovliest, livliest, and most beautiful areas that I have ever visited. It is a small hotel with a wonderful ambiance in keeping with the old Humphrey Bogart Casablanca movie. The rooms are small, but very interesting with Moroccan flourishes. The furniture is eclectic, but beautiful and appropriate for the hotel theme. The hot tubs on the roof overlooking the marina are wonderful beyond description. The staff is efficient and extremely helpful. Cynthia offered many suggestions on parking, restaurants, and local attractions. Juan performed our online airline check in while we visited nearby beaches and the rainforest. Visiting this hotel is the beginning of an adventure. We reserved three rooms for ourselves and our adult children, and all six of us were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. This hotel is must visit location in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A stroll along the marina during the evening is a must. Warm ocean breezes, families enjoying one another's company, fountains and statues, and massive cruise ships with gleaming reflections on the water are totally magical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eve in love.
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jan 15, 2014

Romantic Getaway

Hotel is right in the heart of Viejo San Juan. Everything was close by. Room was excellent. I was accomadated by 10 am which was fabulous. The negatives no elevators and our room was on the fifth floor. Yes I climbed that staircase up 3 times. No room service and no dinner service. We would have loved room service. Though it was a romantic scenery it was really over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel Convento - the mofongo with shrimps was delicioso.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronces
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2013

The Hotel did not have our rooms available when we got there.

I was very dissapointed with the hotel administration because they canceled our reservations before we got there. I had made a reservation for two rooms, one of them was my Christmas gift for my brother and his wife. When we got there, the lady on the counter kept saying the website cancelled our reservations and they did not have any more rooms available. Another guy came in ( I think he was a manager), initially he was asking us to the website we made the reservations to solve the issue for us, but I disagreed and insisted that they were the responsibles. Finally they found two rooms in other hotels to accommodate us. The other hotel Da House, was cheaper, not as nice, and it was very noisy since there was a club downstairs that played loud music until 300am. My brother was taken to another hotel, (Milano) and the room ceiling was falling down, so the Casa Blanca manager took them to Villa Herencia, which was a much better choice. The Casa Blanca Hotel is a very nice place, but the administration messed up this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top