$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
View map of 316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anadeoakland
Business
Oakland, Ca
Jul 1, 2014

Perfect, charming

Everything about this place was perfect. Our room was very small but we weren't planning on being in our room. We only stayed one night, the hotel is charming, clean, centrally located and the staff is great. I think it's perfect for a couple of night (only because we had a smaller room). It's a boutique hotel and is what was expected space wise but the every part of the hotel is beautiful and Art Deco! I would definitely stay there again, without a doubt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgie OTP
Business
Roswell, GA
Jun 26, 2014

Tucked Away

Enjoyed staying in Old San Juan and experiencing this old building with modern amenities. No elevator - no problem. Staff took our cruise luggage up to the 3rd floor. Enjoyed the breakfast in the morning at Casa Blanca. If you don't want cookie cutter hotels, try Casa Blanca and experience San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep your eyes open for hidden restaurants. A small skinny door may lead to wonderful local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EandT
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 23, 2014

Comfy, but not too comfy

We didn't come to Puerto Rico to hang out in a hotel all day, so this place was great for us. The rooftop was a great spot to recharge after an afternoon out at the beach, or even late night after dinner and drinks. Our room was cozy, though the AC was a little unpredictable. Although it was not ready until almost an hour after our check in time, it was kept clean throughout our stay. Front desk and waitstaff were helpful and friendly, providing tips and helping with transportation needs. The location is convenient whether you're wandering Old San Juan, walking to the beach, or venturing out to the further reaches of the island. Looking forward to our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

20% discount!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmiles
Business
wisconsin rapids, WI
Jun 17, 2014

Fun Location

We had a great stay at the hotel. It is as described in the other reviews. It does have a funny skylight window thing that does seem to stay brighter than I am use to . The room was small but comfortable. The location was great we could walk to everything we wanted to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler171
Business
Illinois
May 28, 2014

we had a great stay

We had a great stay. Staff was very welcoming. Room is a little bit smallish, but well maintained and well decorated. Location is great if you want to walk the charming streets of old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fatty's restaurant (hole in the wall) has a very good and cheap food. (Don't expect fancy decor, though).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ethel Bourbon
Business
Chicago, IL
May 16, 2014

Gorgeous Boutique Hotel in Heart of Old San Juan

The hotel is beautifully designed with motifs that combine Moroccan elements and contemporary art. Located in the heart of Old San Juan, just steps away from the Plaza Colon and Castillo San Cristobal, it makes an ideal location central to everything the walled city has to offer. As others reviewers have pointed out, this is a very old building, and does not currently have an elevator. (And there are 5 floors of rooms.) There are plans to build one in the near future. The rooms are somewhat small, typical of vintage buildings in the area, but well-decorated and comfortable. The restaurant is quite good and affordable. The chef is Venezuelan, so the menu offers a bit of a twist on Caribbean fare. Try the Pabellon. The staff was friendly and helpful, and always cheerful. Overall, this was an excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a very typical Puerto Rican dinner, try Jibarito's on Calle San Sebastian. Homey, inexpensive, and authentic. We also liked Mojito's, around the corner. (The best PR food on our trip was not in the city, but at the beach in Luquillo at the beachside kiosks.) On Calle San Francisco, near Plaza Colon there is a yummy place specializing in empanadas, and also a delicious bakery a block or two in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JennieTraveler
Business
Fort Myers FL
May 15, 2014

Cute hotel, great location!

Walking distance to MANY restaurants, shops, forts. Very cute and eclectic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pezdoll
Business
Vancouve,r Canada
May 12, 2014

Beautiful Old San Juan

I was looking for a place to stay before my cruise and couldn't be happier with my choice to stay in Old San Juan and the Casablanca Hotel in particular. Loads of character, with very personable staff, they whisked my suitcase up the stairs making the lack of elevator a non issue, and stored it after check out until I left late in the day. I highly recommend this hotel for it's character, staff, and location. For some, Old San Juan may suggest a shabbier part of town, but the beautiful, clean, cobbled stone streets and heritage architecture shouldn't be missed. Everything is in walking distance, including my cruise ship. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cho the traveler
Business
East Lansing, MI
Mar 7, 2014

Unbeatable location!

We were staying there for 2 nights. The location is unbeatable. All the must-see places in old San Juan are in walking distance! Trust me, you don't want to drive in this area; it's CRAZY! The decoration is really chic! It's so romantic for a couple. As the others have mentioned about the con's of this hotel, there is no elevator and the room is pretty small. However we don't have a problem with it. Taking stairs is similar to walking uphill in old San Juan area. And you can actually stop by the hotel, take a shower to refresh yourself after a long city walk and go hang out at night. No hassle from all transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you aim for a good place to eat, not a romantic dinner night. Try the El Jibarito. The waitress is so nice that she gave us some sampler to try since we had no idea how the food tastes like. The pork cube with plantain gravy is so great and It's unbelievably inexpensive compare to the restaurant in this area. highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall U parent
Business
Martinsburg, WV, USA
Jan 17, 2014

The Best Family Adventure Ever!

The CasaBlanca Hotel has the distinct advantage of being located in one of the lovliest, livliest, and most beautiful areas that I have ever visited. It is a small hotel with a wonderful ambiance in keeping with the old Humphrey Bogart Casablanca movie. The rooms are small, but very interesting with Moroccan flourishes. The furniture is eclectic, but beautiful and appropriate for the hotel theme. The hot tubs on the roof overlooking the marina are wonderful beyond description. The staff is efficient and extremely helpful. Cynthia offered many suggestions on parking, restaurants, and local attractions. Juan performed our online airline check in while we visited nearby beaches and the rainforest. Visiting this hotel is the beginning of an adventure. We reserved three rooms for ourselves and our adult children, and all six of us were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. This hotel is must visit location in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A stroll along the marina during the evening is a must. Warm ocean breezes, families enjoying one another's company, fountains and statues, and massive cruise ships with gleaming reflections on the water are totally magical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top