$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
127 reviews
great location

A really nice place and great room with a awesome location See full review

  • tito m
  • Nov 8, 2014
best kept secret

this place is conveniently located in the middle of the old San Juan. Staff is very helpful and... See full review

  • POOH DIVA
  • Oct 2, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Mar 1, 2010

Great location needs management

They have water issues, noise problems, no elevator but 4 floors (good luck halling your luggage up) and housekeeping issues. No blankets for the fold out couch. We had to share a fitted mattress pad as a blanket. They need to have at least 2 people on duty at all times and a bellman needs to be there before noon on Sundays to schlep the luggage down the 4 flights of stairs. The sole employee was really stressed out and struggling to take care of numerous people trying to check out. Otherwise, the hotel is fantastic. If it were properly managed, it could be a goldmine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great location if you are taking a cruise. You can walk to the ship. Also, the fortress is 2 blocks away and worth visiting for only $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mischelay
Business
Detroit
Feb 27, 2010

Old San Juan is the Place to Stay!!!

We loved the art deco/morracan decor of the lobby and our room. The location was perfect. The hotel is quaint and takes you back to the Old World. They even show the black and white Casa Blanca movie in the lobby every night. Everyone we met wished they were staying in Old San Juan instead of San Juan or the resorts. The staff were nice but don't expect concierge services. Our rooms were cleaned daily but we sometimes had to ask for towels. Our room was on 4th floor so we had to climb 68 steps because there was no elevator. The room was equipped with remote controlled central air and flat screen television. The continental breakfast was very basic and was served almost everyday. At the very top of the hotel there were these huge bathtops. We bathed under the stars and the moon all to ourselves one night and watched the sun rise one morning. Old San Juan is about 7 sq blocks and chuck full of history and shopping. We arranged with tour services to get transportation to our excursions so we didn't need to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Feb 22, 2010

We want our money back-worst experience!

We are seniors with health issues and should have been warned of no elevator.The employees were totally indifferent as to our needs.Power outage one day so no hot water or lights or A/C. No back up generator.No telephone first day; added second day but did not work.Asked for facecloths and hand towels; didn't have enough was the excuse.Worst hotel experience we have ever had. It sure took the excitement out of our stay in such a historic place.We cannot understand why you would have this hotel on your list.If we were dealing with Sears or a company of that nature, we would demand our money back. We think we should get it back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trav L. Man
Business
DeKalb, IL
Feb 17, 2010

Needs some additions

The lobby is originally decorated and manager on duty (owner?) was very friendly and helpful during check-in. But once you get to the room the problems become noticeable. No closet or anyplace to hang clothes, no carpeting (cold cement floor), no towel racks, no hand towels or wash cloths, no counter space in bathroom, and noisy music from the lobby bar continued late into the evening until I called the front desk. They claim they are still in the process of rehabbing but that's no excuse for not providing the basic necessities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fatdog
Business
chicago, il
Feb 16, 2010

brilliant location!

previous reviews were very mixed-people either loved or hated the hotel-so we were a bit worried at first-but we loved it! we had an inside room with a/c-so were not bothered at all by being on the main street. you can't beat the location-at the center of everything-all within walking distance of the sites-hotel staff were very helpful in giving ideas of where to go, what to see etc.also there are many super restaurants right by the hotel too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

it is on the main road so it can be really noisy-ask for an inside room - or bring ear plugs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 14, 2010

Enjoyed Old San Juan !

Great location within Old San Juan. Newer boutique type hotel that still needs to work out some kinks but in general it was a good stay. Great restaurants right around the corner. They need to improve their breakfast service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to get to Bombaderas (?)a great local cafe for breakfast or lunch........great local flavor and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Feb 10, 2010

Great Location

We had an inside room. The room was great, clean, nicely decorated and very quaint. The only issue we had was the noise. The way the building is structured causes noise to echo in the hallways and common area. We were awoken several times at night due to hotel staff/customers banging around, yelling to each other or other general music/noise from the common area. The location is great. We really enjoyed being in downtown Old San Juan. The hotel staff was friendly and the price we received was excellent for the location. The hotel is pretty basic, with no extra amenities - but we like that anyway. There are several places to eat by the hotel with great Puerto Rican food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMGM
Business
Illinois
Feb 8, 2010

Nice Clean Hotel

Nice hotel in a great location in Old San Juan. Rooms are small but kept up well. Lite breakfast included. Try not to get a room off the street, very noisy all evening. Great bars and eating places within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Feb 1, 2010

Perfect location in Old San Juan

The location and decor were incredible. The city block generator blew up so we were without electricity, air conditioning, hot water for the night...BUT...our room had a veranda, the roof-top garden was beautiful, breezy and had a great view (and roof-top baths if you felt like Bathsheba or foot washing!) The owners were wonderful - they gave everyone their money back even though they were not responsible for the electrical problems. They provided candles (which with the Moorish decor was perfect!), brought in a breakfast, provided ice buckets with bottled water or beer and did everything they could to make the experience a "special one". We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The home of the Pina Colada was right up the street...wonderful, authentic dinner. And the walk to both forts was easy from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maega
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jan 16, 2010

Great location cool atmosphere no frills

Casablanca was a great place to stay for our first trip to PR. The great news: AWESOME location. Stay in Old San Juan, there is SO much to do. It feels safe and the atmosphere is old world and unique. The hotel delivers in atmosphere too. Beautiful art work and design makes this place SO much better than any chain. The room was always clean, if we needed something it was delivered. The staff was really friendly and helpful with touristy type of advice etc. There were a few things that weren't perfect, like the TV that was in our room, but never hooked up to the Dish (after our request the 1st night). The continental breakfast was a joke. Cold coffee and cold cereal (with warm milk). There are several great restaurants for breakfast though. On that note, you can find pretty much any type of food within walking distance, at any price too. The food court in Colon Square was even quite tasty. Our favorite for breakfast and coffee was Cafecultura. We spent two whole days walking around Old San Juan, exploring the forts and the points of interest. The Hogado (sorbet) street vendors are a life saver when the sun is hot. We bought a kite at the local pharmacy and flew it by Fort Morro. We ended the trip with a tour through the rain forest and a night kay ak trip to the glowing lagoon. This is a must if you are visiting PR. Overall, book a stay with Casablanca, be ready to climb stairs and eat out, but the ambiance is worth it. And, the price can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can do PR on a budget. Food, shopping, and exploring are all possible without spending a ton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top