$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2015 Check-out: Oct 6, 2015

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
View map of 316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arizona
Nov 10, 2010

What a little gem!

This hotel seemed so personal, like checking into someone's home. The decor was interesting, complex and very charming, too much to take in at one glance. Its true it was noisy due to the interior center courtyard and the party going on down there, but the noise stopped around midnight and we used earplugs. the location was perfect, right in the middle of Old San Juan within walking distance to restaurants, cruise ships and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gusquin
Couples
Miami, FL
Oct 24, 2010

Unbeatable location vs. poor confort

Many centuries ago a protestant king, tryng to please the frenchs says: "Paris well deserves a mass". We can say the same about our experience: Old San Juan well deserves the lack of confort and the not very good attention level, but the location is superb. Tha Casablaca hotel could do better to combine the attractiveness of an old place with the basical modern facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach Jay Beach
Couples
Rochester, IN
Oct 20, 2010

Walls covered in MOLD

I had never been to San Juan before and the only reason I went there was for a cruise. I wanted to stay at a hotel that was close to the pier so I chose to stay at The CasaBlanca. I should have paid more attention to the reviews that were posted. The hotel itself was very nice but they still have no elevator.They did offer to take my suitcases up to the third floor. The only problem I have was there was a lot of mold on the wall above the bed. I would assume from the amount of humidity but it was hard to sleep knowing that there is a lot of mold above your head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SJ Visitor
Couples
Dallas TX
Oct 7, 2010

Don't Bother

Remote for the A/C wasn't supplied in room, when we got one didn't work. They had to turn the A/C off since room was arctic No TV service No hot water in shower Absolutely the worst hotel we've ever experienced. Stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Miami, Fl
Sep 27, 2010

Cozy Hotel

No elevator at Hotel so we had to walk to the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SJ Visitor
Couples
Dallas, TX
Sep 20, 2010

Don't Waste Your Time or Money

The hotel appears very nice but don't be fooled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay at this place

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Aug 22, 2010

Good spot, good hotel, nice people

The rooms in this hotel are pretty small. The hotel is located in a good area full of restaurants, shops and historic land marks. People at the hotel were super nice, specially a German guy (chef at restaurant) that told us nice things to do in PR every morning. What I did not like about the rooms was that the bedding was a little old!!! It would be nice if they could upgrade this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
redlands, ca
Jul 21, 2010

great location

This hotel is in a great location. very nice employees. The hotel does not have a elevator and they have 6 floors, but location is in the heart of the old San Juan city and is very cool looking hotel. The rooms are small but they have everything you need to rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping and dining are all around with less than a block walk in any direction.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, VA
Jul 20, 2010

Right in the heart of Old San Juan

Nice, unique little place with a perfect location. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marmalade is a fantastic (but expensive) restaurant right across the street.

Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pepperquist
Couples
Orlando, FL
Jun 30, 2010

stay could have been better

Hotel a bit older, but not a big deal. Was concerned over reviews I read about no elevator, but the check-in guy carried up our luggage and it was not a problem for us. Also, he let us drop our bags early, as our ship was in at about 7am and hotel check-in was at 3:00. Our room was still ready early for us. The room has cement floors, so that did not feel good on my feet. There was only 1 bath towel provided, and it was too late/early when I realized that to ask for another one. I did not think the bed was bad, but my husband was uncomfortable all night. The biggest issue we had was an early flight out the next morning. We requested a wake-up call for 4:30 am next morning, confirmed it later in the evening with the staff, and yet it never came. Fortunately, we did not sleep well, and woke up on our own. They were helpful and called our taxi for us in the morning, which was there in minutes. The best thing about this hotel? It was very quiet-which I was happy about. This was especially the case after we saw the hotel we were going to book prior to booking our room at this hotel-that place was a mad house! Casablanca was nice and one of the lesser expensive hotels. Suggestions: ask for another towel upfront, bring socks/slippers, an alarm clock, and ask for tv directions right away-difficult to navigate their satellite system. Had to leave prior to serving of continental breakfast. Would recommend for the basic, no frills traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lovely little place for a romantic dinner around the corner. Turn right out of the hotel, first right at the side street. There is a little row of patio tables with different color umbrellas. Go to the last one-red umbrellas. Ask for [...] is you are lucky enough that he is still there. He was a wonderful waiter, very knowledgeable about the menu and life in Puerto Rico.

Back to menu Return to top