$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

CasaBlanca Hotel

3 stars
316 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
125 reviews
best kept secret

this place is conveniently located in the middle of the old San Juan. Staff is very helpful and... See full review

  • POOH DIVA
  • Oct 2, 2014
Amazing, unique experience

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and wanting a unique, fun hotel. It was exactly what we were... See full review

  • Super Nurse K
  • Sep 20, 2014
San Juan hotel with old-world charm on a blue cobblestone street
The CasaBlanca Hotel and its old world charm blend seamlessly with the historic structures on the blue-cobblestoned South Fortaleza Street. The hotel's opulently decorated lobby has an enormous crystal chandelier, black and white tiles, and red velvet chairs and couches. The small hotel features high ceilings and homey, comfortable lounge areas. The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is within walking distance to El Morro Fortress.
Highlights
  • Rooftop plunge tubs and sundeck
  • Located in the heart of Old San Juan near El Morro Fortress
  • Low price, in-room continental breakfast
  • Unusual boutique rooms
Rooms

With just 35 high-ceilinged rooms, this is one of Old San Juan's rare boutique hotels. Each of the CasaBlanca Hotel's rooms has its own distinctive accents. Expect details such as four poster beds dramatically draped with fabric, hand-glazed ceramic sinks, Moroccan lanterns and colorful, embroidered bedspreads. Every room has all-natural Italian bath products and complimentary high-speed Internet access, as well as continental breakfast served in-room for a small fee. Guests can fill out a form specifying special drinks and snacks to be brought to their room prior to arrival (fees apply).

Features

The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet, a 24-hour front desk with English and Spanish staff, next-day laundry service and a complimentary shoe shine. Public parking is available nearby for a fee.

Recreation

The rooftop sundeck and plunge tubs are a great spot to relax in the heart of Old San Juan. Guests receive a daily free pass to Old San Juan fitness center. The CasaBlanca Hotel can help to coordinate day trips, hiking tours, scuba diving, sailing and fishing trips.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • El Morro Fortress (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Meeting and banquet facilities available
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • The Fortaleza Street is under construction until 15 Dec from 7 AM to 7 PM, including weekends. Guests housed in a balcony room overlooking the street can be relocated to an inner room to avoid construction noise.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CasaBlanca Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

CasaBlanca Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Interior room, interior window only, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock. Queen-Size bed.
Superior Room
Room Classic with Step-out Balcony, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, Queen-Size Bed. This room has some noise from the city/street.
COMFORT ROOM
Comfort Interior room, interior window only (quiet), Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, TV/Satellite, Alarm Clock, King-Size Bed.
Suite
Two bedroom Suite with Step-out Balcony, TV/Satellite, Air Conditioned, Private Bathroom, Desk, Alarm Clock, King-Size bed in one room, and two twin bed in second room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants & Bars
Multiple excellent options for dinning and entertainment, feel free to stop at front desk for suggestions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
SOFO CasaBlanca Hotel offers meeting facilities for small gatherings, seating groups of 5-30 persons per area. Available options include Mezzanine Salon, Ricks Cafe, Lounge Area, and Roof-Top Terrace. We also provide options for expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach Jay Beach
Business
Rochester, IN
Oct 20, 2010

Walls covered in MOLD

I had never been to San Juan before and the only reason I went there was for a cruise. I wanted to stay at a hotel that was close to the pier so I chose to stay at The CasaBlanca. I should have paid more attention to the reviews that were posted. The hotel itself was very nice but they still have no elevator.They did offer to take my suitcases up to the third floor. The only problem I have was there was a lot of mold on the wall above the bed. I would assume from the amount of humidity but it was hard to sleep knowing that there is a lot of mold above your head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SJ Visitor
Business
Dallas TX
Oct 7, 2010

Don't Bother

Remote for the A/C wasn't supplied in room, when we got one didn't work. They had to turn the A/C off since room was arctic No TV service No hot water in shower Absolutely the worst hotel we've ever experienced. Stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Sep 27, 2010

Cozy Hotel

No elevator at Hotel so we had to walk to the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SJ Visitor
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 20, 2010

Don't Waste Your Time or Money

The hotel appears very nice but don't be fooled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay at this place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Aug 22, 2010

Good spot, good hotel, nice people

The rooms in this hotel are pretty small. The hotel is located in a good area full of restaurants, shops and historic land marks. People at the hotel were super nice, specially a German guy (chef at restaurant) that told us nice things to do in PR every morning. What I did not like about the rooms was that the bedding was a little old!!! It would be nice if they could upgrade this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
redlands, ca
Jul 21, 2010

great location

This hotel is in a great location. very nice employees. The hotel does not have a elevator and they have 6 floors, but location is in the heart of the old San Juan city and is very cool looking hotel. The rooms are small but they have everything you need to rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping and dining are all around with less than a block walk in any direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 20, 2010

Right in the heart of Old San Juan

Nice, unique little place with a perfect location. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marmalade is a fantastic (but expensive) restaurant right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pepperquist
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 30, 2010

stay could have been better

Hotel a bit older, but not a big deal. Was concerned over reviews I read about no elevator, but the check-in guy carried up our luggage and it was not a problem for us. Also, he let us drop our bags early, as our ship was in at about 7am and hotel check-in was at 3:00. Our room was still ready early for us. The room has cement floors, so that did not feel good on my feet. There was only 1 bath towel provided, and it was too late/early when I realized that to ask for another one. I did not think the bed was bad, but my husband was uncomfortable all night. The biggest issue we had was an early flight out the next morning. We requested a wake-up call for 4:30 am next morning, confirmed it later in the evening with the staff, and yet it never came. Fortunately, we did not sleep well, and woke up on our own. They were helpful and called our taxi for us in the morning, which was there in minutes. The best thing about this hotel? It was very quiet-which I was happy about. This was especially the case after we saw the hotel we were going to book prior to booking our room at this hotel-that place was a mad house! Casablanca was nice and one of the lesser expensive hotels. Suggestions: ask for another towel upfront, bring socks/slippers, an alarm clock, and ask for tv directions right away-difficult to navigate their satellite system. Had to leave prior to serving of continental breakfast. Would recommend for the basic, no frills traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lovely little place for a romantic dinner around the corner. Turn right out of the hotel, first right at the side street. There is a little row of patio tables with different color umbrellas. Go to the last one-red umbrellas. Ask for [...] is you are lucky enough that he is still there. He was a wonderful waiter, very knowledgeable about the menu and life in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emmbeekay
Business
Chalfont, PA
Apr 28, 2010

CasaBlanca Hotel - Two Thumbs Up

Great location. Lots of Moroccan charm in the themed hotel. Room was not available due to a scheduling glitch so they gave us a free upgrade to a suite which was GORGEOUS! No elevator, but they offered to carry the bags. Towels were not ready for the shower we needed after check in. Great complimentary continental breakfast. Roof top has great views of the fort and our balcony had a great view of the street. A/C worked great. Satellite TV. Comfortable bed. Front desk called a cab and printed our flight's boarding passes for us. One downside is that because the building is all tile and concrete - sound does travel throughout the building. Other than that - all good. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate dinner at Genesis restaurant - excellent food and reasonable priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CHICAGO
Apr 27, 2010

SAN JUAN

GREAT LOCATION. NO HOT WATER FOR SHOWER IN THE MORNING (SUNDAY) & THE SHOWER HANDLE COMES OFF MIXER STEM. COME ON, NO KNOWS THIS? STAFF OFFERED ANOTHER RM TO SHOWER IN, THEN RETURN BACK TO OUR RM? ARE YOU KIDDING? MY WIFE AND I IN OUR SLEEPWARE GOING TO ANOTHER FLOOR JUST TO SHOWER? I DON'T THINK SO! I TOOK THE COLD SHOWER & THE WIFE WAITED UNTIL WE GOT ON OUR CRUISE SHIP LATER THAT DAY! I AM NOT HAPPY W/SOFO CASABLANCA [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SHORT WALK TO GOOD RESTAURANTS AND NIGHT LIFE..MUSIC/DANCING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top