$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Caribe Hilton

4 stars
View map of San Geronimo Grounds,Los Rosales St, San Juan, 00902-1872

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
488 reviews
Day before cruise

My husband was upset that I booked a cruise departing from San Juan as he hated Puerto Rico last... See full review

  • Stacey
  • Mar 26, 2015
Great trip & great hotel - Our trip was absolutely perfect!!!

The hotel staff that served us couldn't have been any more polite. We made so many friends there... See full review

  • Bubba
  • Mar 4, 2015
Contemporary architecture with sophisticated decor welcomes visitors to the Hilton Caribe, in Puerto Rico's vibrant San Juan. Winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the hotel boasts spectacular views of its 17-acre gardens and secluded beach. Children can have fun in the Kids Club, while their parents listen to nearby ocean waves at the spacious outdoor pool relax at the full-service spa. Conduct business with ease in one of the 24 meeting rooms in the business center. Whether visiting for work or pleasure, indulge in some culinary delights at one of the nine restaurants and lounges.
Key facts
  • Business center and secretarial services
  • Olas Spa
  • Beauty salon
  • Fitness room
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 7 restaurants and bars: Il Giardina La Trattoria, Atlantico Pool Bar & Grill, Morton's The Steakhouse, Palmeras Restaurant, Lemongrass Pan Asian Latino, Oasis Bar, Pina Colada Club
  • Concierge desk
  • Suites, guestrooms and villas
  • Valet parking
Neighborhood
Just a 15 minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), the hotel sits between historic Old San Juan with its cultural galleries, restaurants and boutiques, and trendy Condado with the beautiful Condado Lagoon. Adventurous and sporty types can test their skills at watersports on nearby sandy beaches. Go further afield to the El Yunque Rainforest to explore and enjoy the tropical ambience.

Hints and tips
The Condado Lagoon Villas offer breathtaking views of the lagoon to guests, from private balconies.

The hotel can help with planning sightseeing tours; check with the concierge prior to arriving to plan these details and eliminate itinerary stress.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Caribe Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Caribe Hilton Rooms

Deluxe Rooms
Spacious tropical modern bedrooms with spectacular ocean views including satellite television, coffee makers, in-room refrigerators, two-line telephone with data ports and voice mail, electronic safety deposit boxes, in-room movies and gaming, high-speed Internet access and private balconies.
Suites
The Caribe Hilton offers luxurious one or two level suites with spectacular ocean or tropical garden views, some featuring flat screen televisions, indoor/outdoor Jacuzzis and multiple balconies or terraces. Guests will enjoy all deluxe rooms' features plus daily turn-down service. The Condado Lagoon Villas offer a spacious 1,560 sq.ft. suite that includes a living room, fully equipped kitchen and dining area, a master bedroom with a king-size bed, and a second bedroom with two queen-size beds.
Guest Rooms
Spacious tropical modern bedrooms with tropical garden views including satellite television, coffee makers, in-room refrigerators, two-line telephone with data ports and voice mail, electronic safety deposit boxes, in-room movies and gaming, high-speed Internet access and private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 1.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 1.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 44.5 mi

Dining

Palmeras Restaurant
Palmeras Restaurant provides a little bit of everything with its theme buffets and international flavors to satisfy every palate. With a tropical and welcoming environment with views of the Atlantic Ocean, Palmeras offers an a la carte menu of gourmet Caribbean and Mediterranean cuisine. Palmeras Restaurant is open for breakfast only. Hours: Breakfast menu / 6:00 am - 11:00 am.
Lemongrass Pan Asian Latino
Fine dining becomes creative at this new and exciting restaurant, featuring sushi and Oriental cuisine. Open for dinner, hours of operations Monday - Saturday 6:30PM - 10:30PM.
Pina Colada
The new Pina Colada Club offers warm personalized service, exciting food and drinks, and a vibrant setting that reflects Latino Flair and Puerto Rican hospitality. Casual dining, diner food, sandwiches, big healthy hearty servings; Hours of operation: Thursday - Saturday: 12pm - 2am / Sunday & Monday: 12pm - 12am.
Olas Cafe
This cafe offers exquisite creative spa cuisine in a refreshing open-aired terrace. The menu offers a great selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Featuring gourmet Caribbean cuisine served in a tropical ambience. Hours of operation - Monday - Friday 8AM - 10PM, Saturday & Sunday 8AM -9PM.
Oasis Bar
The Oasis Bar features exotic drinks, dancing and live music every night. Opens for lunch & Dinner, hours of operations - Sunday - Thursday 12 Noon - 1AM, Friday & Saturday 12 Noon - 3AM.
Starbucks Cafe
Featuring the best high-quality whole bean coffees along with fresh, rich-brewed, Italian style espresso beverages and a variety of pastries and confections. Hours of operations Monday - Sunday 6AM - 10PM.
Rotisserie II Giardino
Serving the finest cuisine selection from Northern Italy of more than a dozen types of pasta, fresh antipasto prepared daily, meats, seafood and more than 150 wines from the most important vineyards around the world. Restaurant is open for lunch & dinner. Smart casual attire required, hours of operation - Monday - Saturday 11AM - 3PM / 6PM - 11PM, Sunday 12 Noon - 11PM.
Atlantico Pool Bar & Grill
The swim up Atlantico Pool Bar and Grill offers casual dining. The Oasis Refreshment Center is on hand for relaxation and fun with musical entertainment. Beachwear & casual attire; hours of operation Sunday - Thursday 10AM - 6PM, Friday & Saturday 10AM - 7PM.
Morton's The Steakhouse
This premier steakhouse features juicy USDA primed aged meat cuts, fresh seafood, vegetables and delicious desserts, along with an award-winning wine list. Open for dinner only, casual attire; hours of operation Monday - Friday 5:30PM - 11PM, Saturday & Sunday 5:30PM - 10:30PM.
Room Service
Hours of operation / Monday - Saturday 6:00 am - 12:00 am.
We will be closing at 9 pm on December 24th and 31st.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Caribe Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
488 out of 488
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honeymooner who made the best of it!
Business
dallas, tx
Aug 18, 2009

great scenery, horrible service!

problem after problem, bad customer service... only thing that made trip worth it was increadible views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

old san juan is great! you can find anything and everything there! shops, restaurants, activities.. you name it you can find it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 13, 2009

Just not worth the money.

When booking our tickets and hotel through Cheaptickets, we were given the opportunity to upgrade to the oceanview villas and so we did. The villas have no exterior protection from the salt so the rooms age shows well. The room also felt damp the entire time. The villas also are tiled floors so you can hear quite a bit especially the staff at 8 a.m. outside your room just chit chatting away! Everyone else at the hotel was great help though! The villas are also far when trying to get to and from with luggage. We chose to DOWNgrade from these rooms after two nights. We actually ended up with a better view in the other room! There is only one taxi company in Puerto Rico so be sure to ask your hotel what the charge should be so the drivers don't hike it up! The restaurant prices in the hotel are inflated and not worth the food. The best food we got there in our five days was at the swim up bar and pool and the breakfast buffet, but at $25 per person its not reasonable every day. One of the two main elevators were under construction aka out of order which is completely unacceptable on a hotel with 10 floors. The only good thing is it's a quick bus ride to Old San Juan where there's plenty to do plus its only $0.50-$0.75 each way! We will definitely not be visiting Puerto Rico again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roberto2012
Business
Mexico
Jan 6, 2012

The worst hotel I have been

Old, dirty, terrible service I have to change my room twice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jibarito and Cafe Berlin Restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RJR 216
Business
NY
Jun 25, 2012

El Caribe Hilton, El Caribe Nothing

This was the biggest dissapointment you can wish on your enemy. Rooms were not properly cleaned; staff that seemed disinterested; staff that was not knowlegeable; A HOTEL THAT IS DISJOINTED WITH NO PERSONALITY; no neighborhood to explore, to eat or walk in; only old San juan which is beautiful but not within walking distance; staff that doesn't give care (because they do not understand customer service) about whether or not you care. I would recommend this hotel to someone I hate or want to ruin on their vacation. AVOID this money trap trrash. A hundred other places to stay at. It was the worst hotel experience I have ever had, bar none. ray

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brentano
Business
Bradenton, Florida
Apr 5, 2013

How can this be rated four stars????.

Stayed 9 days and couldn't wait for it to be over. Standard rooms are small, dated and carpets both in room and hall were dirty. Hotel lobby looks like 1950s , Miami, Holiday Inn and had the noise level of a train station. Our room had a balcony but, our view was of A/C ducts with all accompanying noise. Asked to be moved on day 1, but offer to move us came on day 8. Very pricey and not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Portena
Business
Northern Ky. KY
Mar 19, 2010

Never expected it from a Hilton

It was not worth the price. The food was extremly expensive. The room was clean but it had mold on the walls and you had to hold your breath once you got out of your room until you made it to the elevators!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JK from NJ
Business
Monmouth County NJ
Aug 5, 2011

What a Mess!

What a mess! This hotel is in need of major renovation! The ceilings in at least 2 of the rooms we were in were moldy. The assistant manager was going to upgrade us to a suite, but had to do some painting in the room first. The shower in one of the rooms we were put in was dirty (lovely to find pubic hairs on the shower floor). The assistant manager advised that he was not responsible for housekeeping. We waited 45 minutes for a bellhop to come to our room to help move our bags to another room. On top of it all, the assistant manager was upset that we reached out to [...] Hilton customer service to register our complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Italian Restaurant in the La Concha Renaissance was great and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 23, 2009

Terrible Hotel and Staff!!!

This place is terrible. They are con-artists and scammers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London UK
Aug 4, 2009

Very bad food and bad service.

I went for the Salsa Congress. The food at the hotel was very bad. The Restaurents were equally bad. The best food I had was out of the hotel and in the starbucks at the hotel. The activities were bad, beach too small. Cleanng mediocre and most of the time the servce i received was very bad. Any complaints made were handled very badly. When I complained about the food which i had to throw away I was told that my standard in food was very high and they just could not satisfy. This was from the Manager of the hotel. Why this is a five star hotel. food and service should be impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 20, 2011

Caribe Hilton - hell no

Not only was the staff at the Caribe Hilton rather rude upon our arrival. They initially gave us a room without a private balcony despite the fact that we paid for a private balcony, and the room was right next to these huge speakers that blasted trance music all night long. When we went to ask them to change us to a room on the other side of the hotel, away from the speakers, and with a private balcony they began speaking Spanish and laughing at us before finally giving us a new room. The hallways were gross, with chips and food debris on the carpeting the entire length of our stay. And two rooms down from us had their room service tray, complete with half eaten food on the tray, in the hall for two days before someone cleaned it up. And finally, the hotel pool, which was one of the biggest draws for my wife and I was crowded with local Puerto Ricans who took to the pool and all the beach chairs from sunrise to sunset. Because of the shops and salons and spas at the hotel, and the fact that all those places are open to the public as we all as guests, there's nothing stopping locals from using the pools. And we paid a ton to stay there. I felt that the pool was way too crowded with non guests who weren't paying all that we were paying to stay there and use the hotel's services. They were packing lunches and making a day of it then packing up and leaving to walk to their cars in the parking garage. This has to be stopped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top