$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Caribe Hilton

4 stars
San Geronimo Grounds,Los Rosales St, San Juan, 00902-1872
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
468 reviews
Great Stay!

We had a great stay at the Caribe Hilton. Its beach is in a protected cove on the Atlantic. The... See full review

  • Carson and Grace
  • Oct 1, 2014
My first time in PR

This hotel was everything that I expected in a hotel all the personal was kind and helpfull , they... See full review

  • Jwls
  • Aug 13, 2014
One of the most luxurious resorts in Puerto Rico, the Caribe Hilton is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, this resort is ideally situated between the historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike.
Just 15 minutes from Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) in San Juan, the resort have 646 beautifully appointed guest rooms, suites and luxury villas featuring fabulous ocean or garden views for you to enjoy panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean or verdant tropical gardens. . The property offers beautiful oceanfront swimming pools, whirlpools and hammocks next to the secluded beach for relaxation and privacy.
The full-service Olas Spa offers a wide range of relaxing body treatments, and the resort is home to an extensive array of boutiques. There is even a peaceful bird sanctuary. In addition the resort offers extensive meeting facilities. For dining the options are plentiful, with the resort offering 9 restaurants and lounges. .
Palmeras Restaurant serves international cuisine for each meal of the day. Swimmers will love the Atlantico Pool Bar and Grill for a swim-up lunch or drink and Madrid-San Juan Restaurant and Tapas Bar serves authentic Spanish Tapas and traditional Puerto Rican specialties for lunch and dinner. Rotisserie II Giardino offers authentic Italian fare and Morton's The Steakhouse, a premier steakhouse, is a guest favorite. The new Lemongrass Pan Asian Latino features creative Oriental cuisine and sushi. Don't miss the Oasis Bar, where the famed Pina Colada was born, featuring exotic drinks, dancing and nightly live music. Starbucks Coffee features the best high-quality whole bean coffees and Olas Cafe offers exquisite creative spa cuisine. .
Our hotel boutiques offer shoppers exclusive lines such as Lalique, Mont Blanc, Palais Royal, La Perla, Prada, and Bruno Magli, while our on-site tropical gardens and bird sanctuary add natural beauty to this already remarkable setting. Caribe Hilton is only 10 minutes away from the largest shopping mall in Puerto Rico 'Plaza Las Americas' with over 400 shops and department stores (Macy's, JC Penney's, Sears just to name a few). The hotel is also only 3 minutes away from Club Nautico for deep-sea fishing and bay tours.
Local Island Attractions, Camuy Caves, Tanama River, El Yunque, Guanica's Dry Forest, Mona Island (The Galapagos of the Caribbean), Culebra Island & Wildlife Refuge, Fajardo Lighthouse, Gilligan's Island, Bioluminescent Bays. .
The Caribe Hilton, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, is a beach front resort located between historic Old San Juan and the exciting Condado area. The Hotel is situated on a private peninsula, just 15 minutes from the local International Airport and nearby Business and Financial Districts. The bustling shopping malls and an array of restaurants offering a splendid choice of cuisine from all over the world are a mere 10 minutes drive from the hotel. Tropical Climate, average annual temperature is 82F (28C) with constant mild easterly trade winds. The US Weather bureau never recorded temperatures in San Juan below 64F or higher than 97F, 365 days a year, day or night. Passports are not necessary for US citizens. Foreign nationals should have valid passports and required visas.

Hotel Map

18.4631 -66.0859
Area served
San Juan, Old San Juan, Condado, Rio Piedras, Hato Rey, Guaynabo, Carolina, Bayamon.
Caribe Hilton Los Rosales Street San Geronimo Grounds San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
Nearby airports
Caribe Hilton is located approximately 7 miles from the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU).
Area description
There is no place quite like a tropical volcanic island, and no island in the Caribbean quite like Puerto Rico. The geography of the island is very unusual, as it encompasses distinctly different kinds of topography and microclimates in a relatively small area. A rugged mountain range runs across the center from east to west, which often prevents rain clouds from passing to the south. The north side of the island is covered by dense vegetation, limestone formations, and rushing streams, while, the south side is sun-toasted terrain, home to tropical dry forests and many species of exotic birds. Puerto Rico is only about 100 miles long and 35 miles wide, so its most distant points are only a three-hour drive apart. It also means that just about every tropical landscape in existence is a short trip from wherever you happen to be.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Caribe Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Caribe Hilton Rooms

Deluxe Rooms
Spacious tropical modern bedrooms with spectacular ocean views including satellite television, coffee makers, in-room refrigerators, two-line telephone with data ports and voice mail, electronic safety deposit boxes, in-room movies and gaming, high-speed Internet access and private balconies.
Suites
The Caribe Hilton offers luxurious one or two level suites with spectacular ocean or tropical garden views, some featuring flat screen televisions, indoor/outdoor Jacuzzis and multiple balconies or terraces. Guests will enjoy all deluxe rooms' features plus daily turn-down service. The Condado Lagoon Villas offer a spacious 1,560 sq.ft. suite that includes a living room, fully equipped kitchen and dining area, a master bedroom with a king-size bed, and a second bedroom with two queen-size beds.
Guest Rooms
Spacious tropical modern bedrooms with tropical garden views including satellite television, coffee makers, in-room refrigerators, two-line telephone with data ports and voice mail, electronic safety deposit boxes, in-room movies and gaming, high-speed Internet access and private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 1.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 1.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 44.5 mi

Dining

Palmeras Restaurant
Palmeras Restaurant provides a little bit of everything with its theme buffets and international flavors to satisfy every palate. With a tropical and welcoming environment with views of the Atlantic Ocean, Palmeras offers an a la carte menu of gourmet Caribbean and Mediterranean cuisine. Palmeras Restaurant is open for breakfast only. Hours: Breakfast menu / 6:00 am - 11:00 am.
Lemongrass Pan Asian Latino
Fine dining becomes creative at this new and exciting restaurant, featuring sushi and Oriental cuisine. Open for dinner, hours of operations Monday - Saturday 6:30PM - 10:30PM.
Pina Colada
The new Pina Colada Club offers warm personalized service, exciting food and drinks, and a vibrant setting that reflects Latino Flair and Puerto Rican hospitality. Casual dining, diner food, sandwiches, big healthy hearty servings; Hours of operation: Thursday - Saturday: 12pm - 2am / Sunday & Monday: 12pm - 12am.
Olas Cafe
This cafe offers exquisite creative spa cuisine in a refreshing open-aired terrace. The menu offers a great selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Featuring gourmet Caribbean cuisine served in a tropical ambience. Hours of operation - Monday - Friday 8AM - 10PM, Saturday & Sunday 8AM -9PM.
Oasis Bar
The Oasis Bar features exotic drinks, dancing and live music every night. Opens for lunch & Dinner, hours of operations - Sunday - Thursday 12 Noon - 1AM, Friday & Saturday 12 Noon - 3AM.
Starbucks Cafe
Featuring the best high-quality whole bean coffees along with fresh, rich-brewed, Italian style espresso beverages and a variety of pastries and confections. Hours of operations Monday - Sunday 6AM - 10PM.
Rotisserie II Giardino
Serving the finest cuisine selection from Northern Italy of more than a dozen types of pasta, fresh antipasto prepared daily, meats, seafood and more than 150 wines from the most important vineyards around the world. Restaurant is open for lunch & dinner. Smart casual attire required, hours of operation - Monday - Saturday 11AM - 3PM / 6PM - 11PM, Sunday 12 Noon - 11PM.
Atlantico Pool Bar & Grill
The swim up Atlantico Pool Bar and Grill offers casual dining. The Oasis Refreshment Center is on hand for relaxation and fun with musical entertainment. Beachwear & casual attire; hours of operation Sunday - Thursday 10AM - 6PM, Friday & Saturday 10AM - 7PM.
Morton's The Steakhouse
This premier steakhouse features juicy USDA primed aged meat cuts, fresh seafood, vegetables and delicious desserts, along with an award-winning wine list. Open for dinner only, casual attire; hours of operation Monday - Friday 5:30PM - 11PM, Saturday & Sunday 5:30PM - 10:30PM.
Room Service
Hours of operation / Monday - Saturday 6:00 am - 12:00 am.
We will be closing at 9 pm on December 24th and 31st.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Caribe Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blessed and Grateful
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Feb 24, 2014

Average hotel

This is not a four star hotel! We booked an ocean view room but were located in the garden section with only a view of a sliver of the ocean. The first room was very nice and updated. When we complained about not having the ocean view we paid for, we were told we could move to a room with a better view the next day. We did move to a room with a great ocean view, however, it was located in the HHonors Tower & was badly in need of updating. Everything was old, scarred, broken and obviously had not been updated in twenty years+. Apparently, there are not any newly updated rooms with an ocean view at the Caribe Hilton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Yantar for a fantastic fine dining experience! Fabulous food, service and view of the water! Five Stars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KFitz
Business
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Feb 18, 2014

Great place for a short get away

Good location walking distance to Old San Juan. The pool and beach areas are very nice and large enough for big crowds. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Drinks are expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atthiermercy
Business
Maine
Feb 18, 2014

Can you say fees fees fees!

Went there expecting to pay a local fee of 156 according to the online company we booked through but than was told it was 189. Staff only cares about the next charge $15 to rent a rubber float. Food is very generic but you might have to mortgage house to eat for the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brett N
Business
Richland, WA
Feb 13, 2014

Great One day Stay

We arrived before the check-in time and they stored our bags so we could go out to the pool and grounds area to enjoy swinging in a hammock under the gorgeous palm trees with the ocean breezes keeping things comfortable. When our room was ready we found a great ocean view and very comfortable room with a refrigerator, which was helpful to us. It is a few miles from old San Juan where we went to the El Morro Historic Fort and enjoyed the charm of the old city. Our stay at the Caribe Hilton was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 702
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Feb 13, 2014

old property that needs renovation

From the outside, the hotel looks great. But it is the small things that count: 1) All 5 sinks in the men's room by the pool are broken. None of the automatic faucet or soap dispenser works. I told the staff about this and he said they have been working on it but nobody has done anything so far. 2) One of the sinks in the bathroom was clogged. 3) The phone not working in the room. I told front desk about this , they said they will send somebody to fix this but never did. 4) The door for the small fridge squeaked really loud when you open it. 5) The closet had certain odor. 6) One day for no reason, the housekeeper only left us half of the amount of towels. 7) The Lemongrass restaurant only has a one page menu plus sushi. This is not the Hilton quality that I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kay Lorraine
Business
Waldport, OR
Feb 11, 2014

Disappointed in View

I booked a deluxe ocean-view room 2 months in advance. When we arrived we were given everything we asked for except the "deluxe" - no balcony! I was offered another balcony room (which we accepted) with a bay view. The ocean view was stunning. The bay view was okay, but certainly not the 1st class ocean view that we reserved and that Hilton confirmed. What I find unbelievable is that Hilton had 60 days to reserve the room we requested. No doubt, more than the average advance notice. We could have made a fuss, but who wants to be in a conflict when they are on vacation. Not me. I probably will not use Hilton in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yesssir
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 8, 2014

Good, but could use a facelift!

This hotel had great public areas and the pool/beach area was really nice. The rooms could use updating and a thorough cleaning/painting. We appreciated the concierge setting us up with a great day of snorkeling. on the Catamaran. The walk to Condado was not bad and felt very safe. There is a strong police presence in the tourist areas and that made us feel very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food options at the hotel seemed overpriced for the quality. We walked to Condado most nights for non-hotel restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chilly Bucky
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jan 27, 2014

Disappointing for a Hilton

Was expecting more. With the exception of Arturo the bartender, the staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. A cockroach in the bathroom didn't help. Pool/beach area was beautiful, Starbucks was great but not impressed with the rest of the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Marmalade Wine Bar in Old Town San Juan was incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turners Travel
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 26, 2014

Friends Getaway

We are panning on going back every year! We may even take the grandchildren next time. The staff was very friendly. Property, location and amenities were terrific at the Caribe Hilton. Best part was the non stop flight from Boston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mortons is expensive but so worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaydog
Business
Rhinebeck, NY, USA
Jan 11, 2014

Fantastic couples escape......

Love this place, my wife and I never leave the grounds when we go here. All you need is right there, food, beach, gym, spa, pools, sun, we love. Lemon grass is our favorite restaurant to eat at and the far side of the beach has our name on it, really can't wait to get back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation at Lemon grass and receive a free rum drink.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top