$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Caribe Hilton

4 stars
View map of San Geronimo Grounds,Los Rosales St, San Juan, 00902-1872

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Caribe Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
490 out of 490
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 3, 2009

Good Deal!

Great location, easy to get to everything. Great pool and private beach. Friendly staff and good amenities (Starbucks in the lobby!) But my room's bathroom looked like it was last updated in 1956.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
esigs
Business
Maryland
Aug 30, 2009

Good hotel but don't expect luxury

I stayed at this hotel due to a meeting, but if not for the meeting, I probably would have chosen a different hotel/location. Orbitz had a promotion that made it more worthwhile staying here. While the hotel is located within short drives from the airport as well as Old San Juan, unless you rent a car, getting to any restaurant will cost $12-13 taxi ride each way, since most taxis in San Juan charge a fixed fee. Both Old San Juan and Condado, where many restaurants are located, are each less than 10 minutes away, but there is no easy way to get to them by foot. The hotel has several restaurants on premise, including Morton's Steakhouse, but if you want more options, you have to venture out. The property is fine, the pool is large enough, but you won't find peace and quiet there, like in a tranquility pool where no kids are allowed. There is a small private beach as well, but we didn't use it. The major issue we had during our stay was the fact information about current renovations was not provided anywhere on premises, nor were we told during check in. One of the restaurants was totally shut down, but we only found that out by walking to it and discovering it under complete remodel. The same thing happened with the fitness center. I walked into the fitness center only to be told that it was under renovation, and to go to the parking garage where a temporary fitness center was located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Berlin in Old San Juan has authentic Puerto Rican cuisine that even a vegetarian like me can enjoy. At most other Puerto Rican restaurants, vegetarians will not have many options, if there is one. The restaurant also serves non-vegetarian dishes, so it works for couples or families with mixed dietary requirements.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City, NY
Aug 30, 2009

Unforgettable resort in an excellent loc

I have to say, when we booked our vacation through Orbitz, I was not sure what the oceanview would be. But when we walked into our room, we had a breathtaking view of the property. The room was just fine except for a malfunctioning refrigerator which got fixed quickly. One of the most memorable and good things of the hotel, out of many, was the concierge service. We were had no idea how to get around or where to go eat, but they provided superior customer service. Friendly and very informative. Its too bad that continental breakfast is not included for all guests. When you walk to the lobby, there is a poster that says, complimentary breakfast for Honors Members only. It makes you feel a bit excluded. While at other hotels from what I heard it was included regardless. But that was minimal. Its a beautiful hotel. Its in the perfect location between Old San Juan and Condado. Couldn't ask for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Old San Juan. Find parking nearby. And just walk around and see the variety of restaurants and bars it has to offer. Even just walking around you'll get a feeling of the authenticity of Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teachertraveler
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Aug 27, 2009

Great time in PR

Overall this was a very nice hotel. We did not have a car however and found it very inconvenient that we had to take taxi's everywhere, ranging from $12-$20. The food and drinks were also WAY overpriced, even for an expensive hotel. A small frozen pina colada is $13. However, we enjoyed the secluded beach with great snorkeling and the swim-up bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your own snorkel gear before arriving so you can either snorkel free at the hotel or find other local spots. To rent gear at the hotel was $10 per hour and the snorkeling trips they offered were $75 per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Aug 26, 2009

GREAT PLACE FOR A GETAWAY.

THE STAFF WERE ALL VERY FRIENDLY ANS SUPER HELPFUL. THEY MADE OUR STAY VERY SPECIAL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

DON'T SHOP ON THE HOTEL GROUNDS TOO EXPENSIVE. ONE SUGGESTION IS THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE AN ALL INCLUSIVE, A BIT TOO PRICEY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n.j
Aug 24, 2009

the good,the bad,and the ugly

shop,see familys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 19, 2009

Caribe Hilton

The hotel was not in the best location, and there is not many options near the hotel to go and eat. Any time we wanted to go out to eat we had to take a bus. The food and drinks were VERY expensive at this hotel, so it was not even fun to go to the bar and have a drink. The room was nice and newly renovated, however the patio door would not lock, the a/c was not cold enough, the phone was broken and the toilet kept flooding around the base. We complained many times about these issues, but by the end of our trip nothing got fixed. It also seemed like we could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the rooms next to us and in the hallway outside our door. We wanted to rent a car for two days, but the hotel charged $15 a night for parking. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Old San Juan was very expensive. An average lunch with out drinks cost two people $40!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honeymooner who made the best of it!
Business
dallas, tx
Aug 18, 2009

great scenery, horrible service!

problem after problem, bad customer service... only thing that made trip worth it was increadible views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

old san juan is great! you can find anything and everything there! shops, restaurants, activities.. you name it you can find it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando Florida
Aug 18, 2009

Good Hotel, not very good service.

Yes, people were not friendly at all. We have to wait about 25 min. to register in the hotel. The room was very far away from the main hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD/ Los Angeles, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Caribe Hilton The Perfect Getaway

5 minutes to check in. 10 minutes to check out. Awesome private beach. Nice pools, jacuzzi. The place is situated right in between popular happening Condado and the ancient charm of Old San Juan. We had a car and had no problems with the Hotel's Valet parking. The room was AMAZING, with ocean views, refrigerator, safe, and balcony. The walk in shower was HUGE and did not leak once. Concierge was very helpful in planning our Culebra Island kayaking experience. Concierge helped a lot with tips on saving money, such as going to Casino del Mar in condado to validate parking to save money on a taxi or paying for a garage. Flamenco beach was awesome in Culebra. Room service was great and prompt. Housekeeping was very quick to respond to extra towel requests, etc. When we needed to save money, there is a subway right outside the hotel at the corner with a yellow awning! I honestly was worried after reading some bad reviews, but am lucky I got a great deal at in my opinion the best situated and most modern and luxurious hotel/resort in the San Juan area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

once you are in Old San Juan, there is a FREE trolley that takes you from Castillo de Cristobal to el Morro. When we were tired, instead of catching a cab back to the parking garage we got on the free trolley to get to our cheap parking garage. IMPORTANT, the first garage on REcinto Sur St. is expensive the second garage right after it is CHEAP! for the whole day maybe 5-7 dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top