$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Caribe Hilton

4 stars
View map of San Geronimo Grounds,Los Rosales St, San Juan, 00902-1872

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Caribe Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
498 out of 498
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donald Glenn
Business
Colorado
Mar 4, 2014

Caribe Hilton

I did not like the surprise of an 18% resort fee per day that I was unaware of until I checked in. When I book online I would like to know about all fees upfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car. It's probably not much more expensive than the cab rides to and from the airport. Hotel has no shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blessed and Grateful
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Feb 24, 2014

Average hotel

This is not a four star hotel! We booked an ocean view room but were located in the garden section with only a view of a sliver of the ocean. The first room was very nice and updated. When we complained about not having the ocean view we paid for, we were told we could move to a room with a better view the next day. We did move to a room with a great ocean view, however, it was located in the HHonors Tower & was badly in need of updating. Everything was old, scarred, broken and obviously had not been updated in twenty years+. Apparently, there are not any newly updated rooms with an ocean view at the Caribe Hilton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Yantar for a fantastic fine dining experience! Fabulous food, service and view of the water! Five Stars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KFitz
Business
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Feb 18, 2014

Great place for a short get away

Good location walking distance to Old San Juan. The pool and beach areas are very nice and large enough for big crowds. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Drinks are expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atthiermercy
Business
Maine
Feb 18, 2014

Can you say fees fees fees!

Went there expecting to pay a local fee of 156 according to the online company we booked through but than was told it was 189. Staff only cares about the next charge $15 to rent a rubber float. Food is very generic but you might have to mortgage house to eat for the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brett N
Business
Richland, WA
Feb 13, 2014

Great One day Stay

We arrived before the check-in time and they stored our bags so we could go out to the pool and grounds area to enjoy swinging in a hammock under the gorgeous palm trees with the ocean breezes keeping things comfortable. When our room was ready we found a great ocean view and very comfortable room with a refrigerator, which was helpful to us. It is a few miles from old San Juan where we went to the El Morro Historic Fort and enjoyed the charm of the old city. Our stay at the Caribe Hilton was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 702
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Feb 13, 2014

old property that needs renovation

From the outside, the hotel looks great. But it is the small things that count: 1) All 5 sinks in the men's room by the pool are broken. None of the automatic faucet or soap dispenser works. I told the staff about this and he said they have been working on it but nobody has done anything so far. 2) One of the sinks in the bathroom was clogged. 3) The phone not working in the room. I told front desk about this , they said they will send somebody to fix this but never did. 4) The door for the small fridge squeaked really loud when you open it. 5) The closet had certain odor. 6) One day for no reason, the housekeeper only left us half of the amount of towels. 7) The Lemongrass restaurant only has a one page menu plus sushi. This is not the Hilton quality that I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kay Lorraine
Business
Waldport, OR
Feb 11, 2014

Disappointed in View

I booked a deluxe ocean-view room 2 months in advance. When we arrived we were given everything we asked for except the "deluxe" - no balcony! I was offered another balcony room (which we accepted) with a bay view. The ocean view was stunning. The bay view was okay, but certainly not the 1st class ocean view that we reserved and that Hilton confirmed. What I find unbelievable is that Hilton had 60 days to reserve the room we requested. No doubt, more than the average advance notice. We could have made a fuss, but who wants to be in a conflict when they are on vacation. Not me. I probably will not use Hilton in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yesssir
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 8, 2014

Good, but could use a facelift!

This hotel had great public areas and the pool/beach area was really nice. The rooms could use updating and a thorough cleaning/painting. We appreciated the concierge setting us up with a great day of snorkeling. on the Catamaran. The walk to Condado was not bad and felt very safe. There is a strong police presence in the tourist areas and that made us feel very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food options at the hotel seemed overpriced for the quality. We walked to Condado most nights for non-hotel restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chilly Bucky
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jan 27, 2014

Disappointing for a Hilton

Was expecting more. With the exception of Arturo the bartender, the staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. A cockroach in the bathroom didn't help. Pool/beach area was beautiful, Starbucks was great but not impressed with the rest of the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Marmalade Wine Bar in Old Town San Juan was incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Caribe Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turners Travel
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 26, 2014

Friends Getaway

We are panning on going back every year! We may even take the grandchildren next time. The staff was very friendly. Property, location and amenities were terrific at the Caribe Hilton. Best part was the non stop flight from Boston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mortons is expensive but so worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top