$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Canario Boutique Hotel

2 stars
1317 Ashford Avenue, Condado, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
21 reviews
Good hotel excelent price

Good good excelent i will recomended the price was good and the quality better See full review

  • Polyllalopez
  • Aug 10, 2014
Great Location

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Canario for 4 nights in late January 2014. It`s located right on... See full review

  • Kris and Jen
  • Feb 4, 2014
A Spanish-style Bed and Breakfast Inn with 25 comfortable air conditioned rooms with private bathroom, cable/color TV and telephone.

Hotel Map

18.4555 -66.07
Area served
Old San Juan, cruise ship piers
Nearby airports
San Juan International Airport, Isla Grande Airport
Area description
Located in the heart of Condado, San Juan's main tourist area, between the International Airport and Old San Juan and cruise ship piers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canario Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Canario Boutique Hotel Rooms

BED_BREAKFAST - INN
Air conditioned room with one double bed, private bathroom, Bermuda ceiling fan, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Canario Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 21
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polyllalopez
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Aug 10, 2014

Good hotel excelent price

Good good excelent i will recomended the price was good and the quality better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good price

Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris and Jen
Ottawa, Canada
Feb 4, 2014

Great Location

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Canario for 4 nights in late January 2014. It`s located right on Ashford avenue with plenty of restaurants and shops all over the place. The beach is a 3mins walk away and the bus stop to Old San Juan is just down the street. The hotel itself is cute and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but very clean (and who goes to Puerto Rico to hang out in the bedroom anyways?). Overall I would definitely recommend the Canario if you`re just looking for a great location for an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take the bus to Old San Juan for only 0.75$ a person. Much better than a 15$ cab ride.

Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaefron
Sequim, WA
Dec 14, 2012

Economic

Great value if you don't mind rooms smaller than the average American motel. As a B & B, you have use of the fridge/MW in the kitchen. Breakfast is only cold cereal, bread/toast, and pastries. Fruit available on half our days there. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Condado is the expensive area of Puerto Rico. Greatful for Wendy's and Burger King close by, also SuperMax grocery. Restaurant prices are high for our budget, about $15 and up.

Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brisacaribena
New York
Dec 13, 2012

You will never have a room there unless you pay through their website!

You will never have a room there unless you reserved through their website! The story is always the same, there was a misunderstanding: they approved the reservation without checking the availability of the room. They are very sorry about that, but in these cases they advise to send them an email/call 1 week before the departure. So, I showed them our email sent 10 days before the departure asking about our reservation, and the replies from Mariela and Calvin confirming our reservation at Canario BOUTIQUE. Calvin wasn't able to answer after seeing the emails, and gave us the phone number of Sigrid (the Manager), letting us know that the day after they will find a room at the Real Canario Boutique Resort. In the meantime, they reserved for us a room at Canario by the Lagoon, with separate beds (we are a couple)! moreover, we booked the Deluxe room paying the extra fee... At least these people at the other hotel were nice to change our room with a queen bed one! They had a nice and friendly staff, but still remains a cheap B&B, in comparison to the one that we booked. The Adventure Pack that I reserved, was overbooked and we lost that money too. Advice: Better choosing another hotel in that area, because you don't know if you will always get the room that you booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marisqueria Atlantica, pricy but the best fish ever tasted. Use taxi! Pinky's (Condado), if you want some good and healthy veggie wrap of smoothies. Metropol Restaurante & Bar (Isla Verde), nice local and cuban cuisine.

Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oshkoshal
oshkosh, wi
Oct 26, 2012

PUERTO RICO

OK TO SLEEP THERE BUT NOTHING ELSE IS THERE. THERE BARS IN THE AREA WERE OK, BUT ALOT OF GAY BARS IN THE AREA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Caguas, PR
Oct 18, 2012

Not guest friendly

The breakfast Was ONLY bread, Cold coffee and danish. The lights went of at 6 am until 8 am, and the y didnt have a Back up for the electricity. The 2 clerks that were in the frontdesk were very rude and Im a Puertorrican. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The sunrise Is BEAUTIFUL!!

Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill S
Bronx, NY, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Week stay

The hotel is nicely located in the middle of the action. The hotel is small, four story walk up with no elevator. Bathroom are very small, so large body individual need to be ware. Internet access is limited to lobby area only. Parking is not available and meter parking in the area are in affect until midnight. We were in the third floor and water pressure was low but adequate. I think it was good based on the cost and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance. Night life are high during friday and saturday night. If you rented a car look for parking early.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search