$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Atlantic Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
183 reviews
Awesome Couple's Geataway

This hotel was very nice and clean. The easy access to the beach was wonderful. The hotel is within... See full review

  • Amy P.
  • Apr 21, 2015
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE
Ocean Front Room with one double bed and one twin bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Ocean Front Room with one Queen Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
One Queen Bed
STANDARD - DOUBLE
One Double Bed
STANDARD - SINGLE
Two Twin Beds

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Dining

Rigoletto
Nearby
Morton's Steakhouse
Nearby
Bangkok-Bombay
Nearby
Miro Marisqueria
Nearby
Ajili Mojili
Nearby
Cielito Lindo
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 183
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Erika B.
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Not What We Were Expecting

We were excited to check into to this hotel upon arrival because of the chic look online and awesome location but unfortunately we did not get to experience this. We went to check in and were told there were no more rooms left and we were being upgraded to a suite in the back. We thought this was a good thing but the "suite" was a run down apartment behind the actual hotel building and not apart of the hotel at all. It was a spacious room but it was not comforting and was cold and dark with no matching furniture. The only thing good was the location even though we did not have a beach view and the food at the restaurant (which turns into a gay bar at night, we were unaware of this). Overall it wasn't a good experience and we would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nando
Business
Church Poiint
Jan 28, 2015

Great but not so great

Great location near the old san juan, right on the beach, near casinos, and lots of night life. However, staff was rude, there is no room service, not a gay destination any more and new owner is not gay friendly at all. Rooms are extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jason Melms
Business
NYC
Sep 8, 2014

Can't beat the view

The hotel is great for the basic beach person. In minutes you can leave your room and be on the beach, Amazing! Sadly the restaurant was closed every day. You also have to leave a deposit of $100 dollars that is returned to you at the end of your stay but they also charged me a separate nonrefundable service fee of $100 dollars. They said it was to pay for electricity and to have my room cleaned. So the $600 dollars I paid didn't include that? Very strange! I've stayed here several times and never had to pay a fee before. They also don't let you have anyone in your room. I've never heard of any place doing that. So the beach and it's beach bar are the only pluses to this place. I think I'll be looking for a new place to stay next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

La Placita... AMAZING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
p1m1
Business
chicago il
Jul 5, 2014

bad service with no pool no restourant hotell is old and it is in gay area

Good location bad service no pool no restourant it is in gay area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chrisatc2122
Business
Charlotte
May 17, 2014

Excellent hotel with a great location!

I stayed in an ocean front room #301. The room itself is spartan but just enough. The bathroom was small but recently updated and very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff kept the room very clean. The only flaw with the room is that there is no individual temperature controls. The hallways were always nice and chilly but my room stayed a little too warm for my comfort. However, opening both windows at night made for a nice breeze. Bugs were not a problem. Hotel has a perfect oceanfront location with a great bar and a kitchen. The kitchen, however, was not open for most of my stay and the front dest said it was because it was too slow. The prices at the bar, even during happy hour were a little high, and you could find better deals a few minutes walk from the hotel. The front desk staff was always very friendly. I would not recommend this hotel for familes, but its great for couples and singles. For the price, this place can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Prime Time bar a block away has great drink special and $2 tacos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daisy junior
Business
atlantic beach
Feb 16, 2014

sucks

wanted a hotel not a motel... thats all i got to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungWorldTraveler
Business
San Juan
Jan 31, 2014

A week long stay

I stayed at the Atlantic Beach Hotel for a week by myself. I loved every minute of it. I paid a fraction of the price compared to the larger hotel chains in the area and had a great time! The beach is amazing and leads directly to the hotel. The rooms are basic, tile no carpet. The bathroom and room were cleaned nicely and daily. The tv worked fine and the bed was plenty comfy. The staff was SO friendly! If i needed a cab, rent a car, food, towels, whatever it was, they got it for me with a smile. They were helpful, knowledgeable and friendly above all. The hallway was a bit noisy at night time, but I was staying right by the stair case (ask for a room away from the stairs if you don't like that). The area was very cool and had a variety of resturantes, bars, parks, stores and friendly locals. It was a 7-8 minute ride into Old San Juan and an $18 cab ride. I rented a car and went to the rain forest and into town with the help of the hotel concierge as well. I highly recommend if you want a fun experience and your traveling with friends. Not really a family place. Happy travels, enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the food, bars, beaches, gyms and parks are within walking distance from his hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
neisha85
Business
St. Croix
Nov 28, 2013

Nice with needed improvements

$20 cab from and to the airport. The hotel is on a dead end block, but close to the street with bars, eateries. Upon entering the decor is eloquent then you walk toward the elevator and staircase beware. There are major improvements that need to be done. The room was comfortable only the door itself looked like a prison gate. Overall I sleep well and was comfortable for my overnight layover. The bar was the nicest area. I would not recommend this place for a long term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
krashdakarr
Business
Houston Texas
Nov 5, 2013

Don't do it.

Not worth the trouble time or money. Its a shame you come to a beautiful place like PR and subject oneself to this establishment. The hotel is a little rough , but adequate. The staff and absurd rules that are arbitrarily cast about kill any other potential the place could have. The hotel caters to a primarily alternative lifestyle. For the money you can do sooo much better. If your in a jam one night two nights tops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of better places within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WJRyan
Business
MD
Oct 1, 2013

Great stay

Here for 2 days before leaving on 7-day cruise. GREAT location right on the beach at great price! Great for adults without kids. Attentive staff! Outdoor bar and staff are awesome! Enjoyed it so much, stayed one day after cruise! Cross ventilation in Room 401 was exhilarating . Yeah, music next door can get loud, but if you're looking for quiet, quaint location- this ain't it!! Great festive atmosphere here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top