$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

2 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
172 reviews
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE
Ocean Front Room with One Double Size Bed and One Single Size Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Ocean Front Room with one Queen Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Non Ocean View Room with One Queen Size Bed
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Non Ocean View Room with One Double Size Bed
STANDARD - SINGLE
Non Ocean View Room with Two Single Size Beds

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Dining

Rigoletto
Nearby
Morton's Steakhouse
Nearby
Bangkok-Bombay
Nearby
Miro Marisqueria
Nearby
Ajili Mojili
Nearby
Cielito Lindo
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 172
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos143
Business
NY
Jul 8, 2014

Atlántic Beach Hotel

Great gay environment, very gay friendly area & beach. The hotel lobby is nice to hang out, the rooms are nothing to wow. It's a a room, even the rooms with the views of the beautiful beach of Puerto Rico are not really rooms with views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pamela's google it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris the solo traveler
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Mar 30, 2014

More of a motel than hotel.

Positives. Location, location, location. The hotel is in the heart of tourist area. There is plenty to do and see where the hotel is situated and it is right off teh main drag so that everything is accessible, but far enough away that it is quiet. The common areas have recently been rennovated and that is nice. The price is the most reasonable on the strip. There was a young man who worked the front desk that was helpful and friendly. Negatives. The owners and management of the hotel seem to be in the real estate business and not the hospitality business. They know they have a great location and piece of real estate, but they do very little to make the experience enjoyable for the guests. Examples. All men staff who don't seem to know how to smile or exchange even the most basic pleasantries. There is no security for your bags after check-out dates. So, if your plane leaves later in the day, you have a choice of lugging your luggage with you all day or leaving it in the lobby of the hotel and hope no one steals it. Unlike other hotels, if you want a beach towel, you have to pay a $10.00 deposit. If you are alone and ask for a second towel, beware. You will be interrogated about having an unregistered guest in your room. The rooms are dreadful. Old. Small. The "minimalist decor" seems to just be an excuse to not pay for updates and art. The curtains were more "Bates Hotel" than tropical. They charge your credit card $100.00 as a "security deposit" upon checking in but when checking out they used that card to charge "service fees" for your stay. Summary: A good hotel for spring breakers or those who don't include hotel accommodations as a prerequisite for travel. If you don't intend to spend any time in your room, which in Puerto Rico is entirely possible, then this is the cheapest option avaialble to you with an emphasis on cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

By far the best restaurant in Puerto Rico is 1919 in the Vanderbilt Hotel. THere is no signage and it is a bit of secret until the hotel opens in December, 2014. If you enjoy fine dining and excellent food, this is the place to go. I went two nights in a row it was so good. Excellent service, inspiring food, and beautiful decor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason Melms
Business
NYC
Sep 4, 2013

A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of the hotels outdoor bar and restaurant where lovely. The food and happy hour are a must. Who doesn't want to eat a meal and have a cold drink while watching the ocean waves roll in? The staff where so helpful and remember you by name! The rooms are very clean but pretty basic. They have everything you need in them and the beds there are so comfortable as well. It's a mix of locals, and gay & straight tourist. Everyone gets along and it's easy to meet people for a great conversation. You really can't beat this place for the price and I would recommend it to anyone. This place has become one of my yearly sanctuaries. Go and enjoy. You will not regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the weekends they have an outdoor market in the square. There you can find local food and great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ter trob
Business
Menlo Park, Ca
Apr 25, 2013

Fun Place

Great location, fun bar and cafe. Located in the Condado area that is moderate priced location with lots of night life, great restaurants, and Casinos. The hotel was great for the price but a little shabby around the edges. Mixed gay and straight crowd. All ages but no children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceano restaurant next door was world class.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris3282
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 8, 2013

Great location for the price

The hotel was conveniently located for my experience. I did not get an ocean view room but wish I had. The room I got was VERY small, but I didn't have much issue with the room size because I only use the room to sleep and shower. The shower had a hairball in it, that I kindly unclogged. The bed was comfortable but the sheets could have been cleaner, there were stains. My issue getting sleep was because of other patrons. The walls are concrete and the doors are heavy with no slam resisting hinge at the top. People feel the need to SLAM their doors in the middle of the night and it sounds like explosions at 3 or 4 am when people return from the bars. Parking is $10 per day, but nothing nice. It's cramped and you'll likely have to ask someone to move their car so you can get yours out. There are no irons in the room, but you can ask for one at the desk as long as you promptly return it. The hotel staff was never "rude" but they never smiled either....but this was my experience throughout Puerto Rico entirely with the service industry. Only one of the waiters at the bar was nice, he has a pony tail. I would recommend this hotel to younger couples and/or party people (LGBT friendly) on a budget; no one looking for peace and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining areas near the hotel within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyGW
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 9, 2012

Prime Beachfront Property!

A very budget friendly, and gay friendly hotel RIGHT ON THE BEACH!! The hotel has a very busy bar which brought lots of guests to the site. Great interaction with locals, and the drinks were very cheap! It's right next door to Oceano, a very chic restaurant/bar. Overall it was a great place, my only qualm was that guests weren't allowed upstairs. I had friends come visit me, but they weren't allowed to come up to the room to hang out. If I paid for a room, shouldn't it be my choice? For that reason alone, I wouldn't stay here again, but the place was location-wise, perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Meet with friends for a drink, and you can walk over to Splash and/or Circo for a night of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PR Fan
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 5, 2012

It's not that bad

I read the reviews before I booked this hotel and I was a little worried before arrival. Needless to say, the hotel is not as bad as these reviews make it out to be. Yes, the hotel has been under-construction and still remains to be under-construction in the bar area, as well as the rooftop area. However, the updates make this hotel competitive with higher-end hotels, at a fraction of the cost. The only problem we had was the fact that the bar was located below us in the outdoor patio. It was quite loud at times, but I'm positive that any other room wouldn't have been as loud. If you are looking for a good hotel within a great location at a value, this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrqntTrvlr
Business
California, USA
Dec 17, 2011

This review (is in my personal opinion) could save your vacation!!!

I stayed at the Atlantic Beach Hotel for several nights during my very recent trip to Puerto Rico. Their lobby was newly renovated to compete against the modern beach bar/club that had opened next door. The hotel gave the illusion of being a clean place to stay; that was soon to be proven false! Let me start by saying I have never stayed in such a dirty hotel but for the sake of saving thirty bucks (compared to the big chain beach hotels next door), I went against my better judgment and decided to stay once I saw the incredibly tiny room. The images that are shown of the rooms are not what you actually get when you stay here. The halls had filth everywhere and a significant amount of mold was present around the bathroom! I was willing to overlook this and stay since I had paid in advance for the room on-line and believed it to be nonrefundable. The location is great, right on the beach, but so are a number of large very clean chain hotels for slightly more per night. Spend the extra few dollars and stay at one of those! I later changed to a room with a view that was big enough for two adults to move in and paid extra for it, but mold was still an big issue in the new room, again I tried to not let that bother me too much. The Atlantic Beach Hotel is doing construction on the roof and on another floor (it only has 4 stories of hotel rooms), and on the second night their workers started jackhammering at 7:15 AM! This happened on my third night as well, so I finally decided to politely say something to the only employee working there at that time. They looked surprised. Why? They could clearly hear the banging from the lobby for themselves. I was given a quick and insincere apology. The next morning the workers starting hammering an hour earlier, at 6:15 AM!!! I then complained to an employee who was there most of the time (who locals later told me was the owner) and they just stared at me blankly. I told them this was unacceptable and that guests should have been warned so they could negotiate a refund and make other arrangements, at least do not charge me for the useless upgrade. I was told I got a 50% off promotional rate (NOT TRUE); locals told me that what I was paying was NOT half off and that I was being lied to again. The entire staff became incredibly rude and aggressive towards me because I dared to stand my ground and complain. Never have I experienced such an unprofessional attitude, especially from a service oriented business. When I asked for the owner’s name (I pretended to not know who it was), I was told that a corporation owned the hotel, and the only number available was to the hotel’s front desk. All lies, just like many of the locals nearby had come to tell me. I never even got an apology from the owner or the rude staff…. just lies. I have a dispute pending with my Credit card company against them. You will not get your money back nor will you get hospitality at this hotel! Save yourselves the grief and stay anywhere else but this dive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AdaminSanJuan
Business
Bangor, ME, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Was a great time in San juan

Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean but very small. Beds are comfortable and linen was clean. **** Do not use Banco Popular ATM's. Lot's of hidden fee's that are not explained on the ATM's. I got back from San Juan and had checked my bank account and found over $65 dollars in fee's from using their ATM machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top