$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
171 reviews
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 171
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goya
Business
Irvington, NJ
Sep 22, 2014

room with a view

Friendly staff and great view of the beach clean rooms and walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The latin star great food and price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the three princesses
Business
burbank, California
Jul 3, 2014

vacation with friends

The staff was helpful and rooms clean. I just wished the rooms were slightly bigger and you could adjust the air conditioner. It was cold. Location was great. Restaurants and shopping were in walking distance. We loved view of the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RoxyC23
Business
Ohio
Apr 28, 2014

Terrible experience!

We only stayed here for one night, April 26th and had a terrible experience. As soon as we got there the front desk staff- there was an older man and lady, who were probably the owners- were EXTREMELY RUDE. We tried to ask for an early check in and it was completely understandable if it couldn't be done but they were nasty about everything. We left our bags there and asked if it would be safe and the man responded- Its not my responsibility. We had a double twin size room. The beds were not that comfortable and the sink in the bathroom was terrible. The elevator was extremely scary and old as well. Other than that the hotel looks old and the owners were extremely rude! It is located on the beach which was a plus but just beware its not a good area of the beach to go to if you are a bunch of single girls or with a family. Great area if you are gay or lesbian!! Nightlife around the area was not great at all either. Good restaurants but thats about it. Over priced drinks at the hotel bar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zach fei
Business
pennsylvania
Mar 16, 2014

Good location but small room

The hotel's location is just close to the beach and the bar in front of the hotel has a sea view which is good. But my room was kind of small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nan from NYC
Business
NYC
Jan 8, 2014

A bit of a headfake

I have spent quite a bit of time eating & drinking at the Atlantic Beach Bar & Grill and was always super impressed by the space and the boutique quality of the lobby/lounge of the hotel. When I found the deal on a room, I jumped at it only to find that once inside the hotel, it's a completely different experience. The elevator & stairwell looked like something from a run-down building. The room was tiny with one double bed and that's basically it (maybe a chair). It DID have a flatscreen TV so that was cool. AND free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

It is worth it if you need a place to lay your head. The bar has a good happy hour Mon-Fri and there is a lot of great food/drinking places all walking distance. They are on a good spot of beachfront. Just needs a bit of renovation on the inside!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kuchousa
Business
New york
Jul 24, 2013

Good location

Good location , if u don t expect luxury and highend comfort this is place to spend few days. Clean enough, comfortable enough , good value for the fee u pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
metroqt
Business
chicago
May 22, 2013

first time trip

it is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. I love that it is right at the beach. the rooms are small and a little sparse. great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yari
Business
bronx, ny
Aug 5, 2012

peaceful stay

Hotel is in a great location with a walgreens down the street, also a dunkin donuts, wendys and also a few spanish restaurants. Room was small but nice. Beach was absolutely beautiful and a bit isolated (which i loved). would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT buy liquor from the liquor store down the block. very over priced. walgreens has much cheaper prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJayT
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 29, 2012

Great location, but.....

The overall vacation was great! But this hotel is lacking so much! Of course my reservation was messed up, like other people stated in their reviews. My friend and I had to share a full size bed in a very small room. Even though we hardly spent anytime in the room, I wasn't happy with the small room and one bed. But the beach was great!!!!! Their outside bar had great happy hour specials and the beach was right there. This place is in the ideal location. The overall experience was great because of the location, but I would recommend staying at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymango
Business
Boston
Apr 30, 2012

Great time

The hotel is right on the beach. Happy hour was from 12 noon to 11pm $ 3.75....:-) I had a great time with my friends. I would go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top