$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
217 reviews
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of... See full review

  • Jason Melms
  • Sep 4, 2013
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.457 -66.0724
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
western illinois
Aug 19, 2010

terrible experience

the photos on the website are not typical of the motel, they may have one room that looks like that, but it certainly wasn't the room i stayed in. the room was very small - the bathroom was incredibly small. my tv was broken. no bedspreads on the bed. the elevator was still being used, but stopped at least 4 inches from being level with the floor. i booked for one night through american airlines website - which was actually through [...] upon arrival at 10:30 pm, their registration forms say "2 night minimum stay" even though i was not charged for an extra night, i was very reluctant to sign - but i needed a place to stay that night. i didn't feel safe staying there and left asap the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philly, pa
Jul 8, 2010

Fun outside the hotel

I did not want no parts of the hotel. Its on a little block. Our room view was the dryer room. We walked to other hotels to find things to do i will not stay there again at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
just plain horrified!
detroit
Mar 28, 2010

what a nightmare!

we stayed there before and after a cruise and it was the worst place we ever saw! the website is a total lie and when i asked the very rude front desk staff about a room like the one pictured on the website he blew me off saying, there were none of those available! add to that the fact that it was a gay hotel ( so what) there was a lot off obvious drug activity going on. the only saving grace was the beachfront! when we checked out we were going to wait outside for our taxi and the bartender advised us that it would be safer to wait inside! please don't waste your money here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rob the job
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 6, 2010

Puerto Rico Trip

Trip was not worst trip ive ever taken, but it certainly didnt meet expectations. Hotel was garbage!! Room was small. With the exception of the bathroom, the room was small and too cold. Personel was friendly, but did not help with travel locations and best way of getting there. Puerto Rico is not a place I would recomend to anyone and will definitely be using a different travel agent next time. I feel that all the pics and info was misleading. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Viejo San Juan

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami Beach, FL.
Oct 12, 2010

Nightmare in San Juan

Check-in was a nightmare.Had to leave my wife in the car, in a dark street, under the rain wile pleaded with the counter even with my confirmation number in the saff's hand, for a room. After half hour of this, he charges my credit card for the room and a deposit of $100.00 wish i still have in my account. They still haven't prosses any credit to this date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCTTN Traveler
Business
Memphis, TN
Nov 13, 2013

waste of money

Hotel management has ZERO people skills. I had to sign 5 documents recognizing that I understood restrictions in the hotel, ranging from eating in the lobby to room cleanliness. I was told to keep my room clean or I would be fined. Management took a print of my Credit Card, I asked "is this for incidentals" the desk person said "no it was for room damage", it was a $100 hold but they would not write $100 on the CC voucher. Hotel condition was awe full; no hot or warm water in shower, TV second rate giant red line going down middle, could not view TV from a seated position needed to stand up to watch TV. Lastly, I am not happy with Or, I was told since it was booked by O I would not be able to switch room. O charge me $30 a day more than the rate for people who came off the street and walked up to reserve on their own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay Traveler
New York
Sep 20, 2010

A Nightmare!

We should have paid attention to all the other bad reviews, but we didn't. We should have known we were in trouble as soon as we arrived to the Atlantic Beach H tel (the sign at the entrance is missing the "o"). And we should have been sure of it after we were "welcome" by the most unfriendly hotel receptionist we have even seen (her name is [...]).The room wasn't bad. It seems it has been recently renovated, but some other guests assured us that they had not been so lucky. The rest of the hotel –including what must have been a beautiful terrace bar in the past- is in pretty bad condition; shabby and dirty. The staff is not rude, but not very professional or experienced. Shady individuals hang around the hotel –an extremely dirty area too- giving you a sensation of insecurity; feral cats are everywhere.Just an hour or so after our arrival, we could hear on the hallway a very loud and upset lady calling the police claiming $800 had been stolen from her room; the morning after we had no water until past noon (a broken pipe, reception said after we asked, without any apologies or explanation). The morning after we were awakened by loud knocks at our door; it was the manager in security guard mode claiming we were smoking in the room and telling us we were going to be fined $250 for the room to be clean up after our departure, he said.We are very quiet people and had never been in a situation like that since we always abide by rules and law. One of us is a smoker (never where its forbidden) and maybe they noticed the cigarette pack and decided to make us the victims of their scam. Even if what they claim had been true, the proper thing should have been a warning call before anything else. We were shaken and extremely upset; in complete shock. We consider changing hotels but eventually settle for paying the fine without arguments (we hate confrontation) and try to put the whole thing behind. If it's not for the fact that we are very balanced and mature people, our vacation might have been ruined.We have been in many inexpensive hotels around the world and never ever have had such a bad experience. We always laugh at people who stay in these kind of hotels and then complain about stupid details like the color of the walls or the quality of the sheets. We believe that "you get what you pay for". But inexpensive fares shouldn't mean that you have to be mistreated the way we were. This hotel and its management are an embarrassment for tourism in such a beautiful place as Puerto Rico. [...]As a gay mature couple we thought we could find some peace in this modest small hotel that was once the center of gay life in San Juan. It's not a gay hotel anymore (crowd is really mixed) but it's not appropriate for families either. It's just a nightmare!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
just plain horrified!
detroit
Mar 28, 2010

what a nightmare!

we stayed there before and after a cruise and it was the worst place we ever saw! the website is a total lie and when i asked the very rude front desk staff about a room like the one pictured on the website he blew me off saying, there were none of those available! add to that the fact that it was a gay hotel ( so what) there was a lot off obvious drug activity going on. the only saving grace was the beachfront! when we checked out we were going to wait outside for our taxi and the bartender advised us that it would be safer to wait inside! please don't waste your money here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RoxyC23
Ohio
Apr 28, 2014

Terrible experience!

We only stayed here for one night, April 26th and had a terrible experience. As soon as we got there the front desk staff- there was an older man and lady, who were probably the owners- were EXTREMELY RUDE. We tried to ask for an early check in and it was completely understandable if it couldn't be done but they were nasty about everything. We left our bags there and asked if it would be safe and the man responded- Its not my responsibility. We had a double twin size room. The beds were not that comfortable and the sink in the bathroom was terrible. The elevator was extremely scary and old as well. Other than that the hotel looks old and the owners were extremely rude! It is located on the beach which was a plus but just beware its not a good area of the beach to go to if you are a bunch of single girls or with a family. Great area if you are gay or lesbian!! Nightlife around the area was not great at all either. Good restaurants but thats about it. Over priced drinks at the hotel bar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
quelcanon
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Mar 16, 2013

Knock, knock- bang, bang

I like to think there are good and bad things about everything. So, I'll break it down like that. Good: 1. It's in Condado. Condado is a pretty safe and convenient part of San Juan. 2. The restaurant and bar area is amazing. In fact, I knew of the hotel because when I lived in Puerto Rico, I would meet up with people for drinks. They are cheap during the week. 3. Cheap drinks!!! Bad: 1. All hours of the night and day is filled with noise. Make sure you bring ear plugs or buy some. I would be woken up frequently at night. 2. Overly expensive. In Puerto Rican Spanish I would call this hotel, cafre. The hotel is a dump. It's fine that it is like that, as long as the price accurately reflects that. We paid about 120 USD for garbage. Basically, spend a few dollars more and go to the raddison. There are some cheaper places that are a bit better and still safe and cheap. For instance, coral by the sea in isla verde. 3. I hate hotels that only give one key for two people. They allow you to keep the key with them if you are both seperated or whatnot. I never feel safe with that. They don't have a safe to keep persona effects so why would I keep a room locked and give a key to the desk manager? I just don't like it at all. In summary, go to this hotel to eat and drink. I would not recommend this place as a hotel to sleep or stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top