$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
219 reviews
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of... See full review

  • Jason Melms
  • Sep 4, 2013
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.457 -66.0724
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Apr 9, 2010

Atlantic Beach Hotel

Great stay! Positives: We enjoyed the staff (they knew us by name and room), facility was clean (currently undergoing renovations), room was cleaned daily- fresh towels and linens, bar staff was friendly, location was wonderful (right on the beach and central to Old San Juan and Carolina/Airport), building was secure. Negatives: Washing machine broken, iron and ironing board not working, there is no parking unless you are willing to fork up the $10 extra daily for valet parking. Not really a negative but you have to pay extra which we were not aware of...we took advantage of the valet parking and the experience was great... Not a 5 star hotel but definatley a great experience and affordable for the price. We will definately stay here again! Rooms 408 and 209 were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to make it to El Yunqe rainforest, Old San Juan, Fajardo for the bio-lumenescent bio bay tour, and Luquillo for the food!

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason Melms
NYC
Sep 4, 2013

A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of the hotels outdoor bar and restaurant where lovely. The food and happy hour are a must. Who doesn't want to eat a meal and have a cold drink while watching the ocean waves roll in? The staff where so helpful and remember you by name! The rooms are very clean but pretty basic. They have everything you need in them and the beds there are so comfortable as well. It's a mix of locals, and gay & straight tourist. Everyone gets along and it's easy to meet people for a great conversation. You really can't beat this place for the price and I would recommend it to anyone. This place has become one of my yearly sanctuaries. Go and enjoy. You will not regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the weekends they have an outdoor market in the square. There you can find local food and great shopping.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BurgGang LizPooch
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 9, 2014

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

Our first time in Puerto Rico couldn't have been better! Being on the beach and being so close, within walking distance of everything. The Perfect trip for Thanksgiving for us. This stay was so convenient. All of the staff were so pleasant, this was definitely worth it! We can't wait to return - this is our new vacation getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the restaurants.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
maryland
Jul 23, 2011

Pleasant Stay

The hotel staff was very pleasant. The rooms were very clean. I liked that I could just step outside to the beach and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Sassy Traveler
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Nov 7, 2012

Will definitely be back!!

This hotel was recommended to me by a close friend as I was planning my first trip to Puerto Rico. I read some reviews and found that people either loved it or hated it....not being one to pass up a bar right on the beach I decided to take my chances. From the moment I checked into the hotel I fell in love with it. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I wish I could remember the guy at the front desks name cause thru out my stay he would greet me by my name and made me feel extra special. Lol The room was a little small and I didn't always have hot water for my shower, but I didn't care. The room was just used for sleeping anyways. I did like the minimalist feel of the decor. The bar with the famous happy hour!!! You really can not beat a happy hour that goes from 12p-11p with $3 beers and $3.75 mixed drinks that is right on the beach!! Thank you to Jose and Ivan for keeping my glass full! They were also great to chat with! Atlantic Beach Hotel was my little slice of heaven while I was in Puerto Rico and I will definitely be back. For those who complained about the deposit, most hotels do require you to put a deposit down upon checkin. I paid mine in cash and got it right back when I checked out. And to those who complained about the clientele of the hotel which seemed to be a predominantly gay clientele I must say that I never met a nicer group of people while I was there. Met a lot of people while I was there and can't wait to go back!! There was minor construction going on, but work never began early in the morning. They are putting in another bar and adding a service kitchen, so now we'll be able to get food with our many many drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great spa/coffee bar right down the road called Euforia...they provide the BEST pedicure I have ever had!!

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Apr 9, 2010

Atlantic Beach Hotel

Great stay! Positives: We enjoyed the staff (they knew us by name and room), facility was clean (currently undergoing renovations), room was cleaned daily- fresh towels and linens, bar staff was friendly, location was wonderful (right on the beach and central to Old San Juan and Carolina/Airport), building was secure. Negatives: Washing machine broken, iron and ironing board not working, there is no parking unless you are willing to fork up the $10 extra daily for valet parking. Not really a negative but you have to pay extra which we were not aware of...we took advantage of the valet parking and the experience was great... Not a 5 star hotel but definatley a great experience and affordable for the price. We will definately stay here again! Rooms 408 and 209 were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to make it to El Yunqe rainforest, Old San Juan, Fajardo for the bio-lumenescent bio bay tour, and Luquillo for the food!

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
npltravel
Boston
Jan 5, 2014

Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel is right in the middle of it all. The staff were super nice. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinky's for breakfast just past the Marriot and the local hospital.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DunkinDog
Condado, San Juan, PR
Jun 10, 2013

Best Bang For Your Buck

The staff was amazing and very helpful. The room is comfortable and great bed. Happy hour and the restaurant make it very easy if you feel like staying in for the evening. Right on the beach with full accommodations (chairs, towels, drinks). 1 block from the main street full of shopping and eating, Can't wait to go back. It will become our twice a year destination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
maryland
Jul 23, 2011

Pleasant Stay

The hotel staff was very pleasant. The rooms were very clean. I liked that I could just step outside to the beach and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rbwinder
Missouri
Mar 1, 2013

Great Location & Great Place to Stay

This hotel was the perfect place to send a one night stay during transit from down island back to the states. The location just off Ashford allowed ease to many dining options within walking distance. The staff is friendly and willing to help with any requests. My partner & I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top